BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Down Home with the Neelys: A Southern Family Cookbook

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A cookbook with a personal touch.

This is more than a cook book. It is the story of the Neeley's life and the food that is so much a part of it. Thier family biography is interspersed throughout the book. Each recipie has a comment about where they got it or how they developed it.
If you're lookin...
This is more than a cook book. It is the story of the Neeley's life and the food that is so much a part of it. Thier family biography is interspersed throughout the book. Each recipie has a comment about where they got it or how they developed it.
If you're looking for a health food book, look elsewhere. Your arteries will clog just reading some of the recipies. Never the less, I think I will wind up trying almost every entry (even the barbeque spaghetti!). The Cheesy Corkscrews with Bacon Topping was a big hit with my casserole-shy family.
Recommended.

posted by AKMan on August 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sock it to me cake

Think there was a misprint in book. Asked for 1/4 cups cake flour and it must not be enough. It turned out terrible. Would not recommend this cake.

posted by 132466 on June 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    A cookbook with a personal touch.

    This is more than a cook book. It is the story of the Neeley's life and the food that is so much a part of it. Thier family biography is interspersed throughout the book. Each recipie has a comment about where they got it or how they developed it.
    If you're looking for a health food book, look elsewhere. Your arteries will clog just reading some of the recipies. Never the less, I think I will wind up trying almost every entry (even the barbeque spaghetti!). The Cheesy Corkscrews with Bacon Topping was a big hit with my casserole-shy family.
    Recommended.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    Ready to Eat

    Great book that gives you background to the Neeley's as well as there innovative southern, down-home cooking style.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    I am so glad I got this cookbook.

    I have watched the Neelys on The Food Network and tried a few of their recipes prior to purchasin their cookbook. I am glad I have added to my cookbook collection

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    Down Home with the Neelys book

    I hardly every pre-order any book or DVD, but made an exception in the case of Down Home with the Neelys. I watch their new shows every Saturday on Food Network.

    Food Network offers the viewer a wide variety of cooking shows, that cover every food style or manner of preparation. I can get cooking tips or try new recipes from any one on Food Network, but what made the Neelys my favorite is that they are like FAMILY.

    I had a "tiff" with my real family during Christmas last year, and I remember watching the Neelys Christmas special with their family members. I cried because even though I could not be able to be with my real family, I had somewhat of a Christmas dinner with the Neelys via the TV.

    Pat and Gina Neely have such a special show because they talk about how food affect family and vice versa. It's not just about learning to cook a certain dish, it's more about the memories that you share with special people in your life when family and food come together.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    down home with the Neelys

    I enjoyed the book, every much. tried recipes, which was very easy to follow.I would by this book for anyone who loves to cook.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Book is as good as recipes and TV show

    Reading the book is just like watching the show on the Food Network. It's almost like actually being on the set and watching and smelling recipes being cooked. This is an easy and fun book to read even if you can't cook.I've tried some of Pat and Gina's chicken and barbque dishes to what I think is perfection. No complaints yet. Next meal will be barbqued turkey meatloaf. Not only a great read with a word from another one of my faves, Paula Deen, you will also get some great tips on grilling. One of my wishes? Visit one of their restaurants for a big rack of the Neelys ribs!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    Gotta' Love Those Home Town Folks

    This cookbook reminds me of the way I cook. Love the stories of the Neely's and their family and the photos are great too. The food is so good and it is "Down Home" cooking for sure. If you want to cook "Southern", then get this book and try out these recipes.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    I Love This Book

    I couldn't wait to get this book. I am a big fan of the show and love their recipes. The stories with the recipes are great. The recipes are easy to follow and prepare.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great addition to any cookbook library

    I love southern cooking, described by some as "soul food" or "comfort food" since it brings comfort to the soul. I came across this book and immediately recognized the Neelys from their show on Food Network. I have watched a few episodes and found them entertaining and the food always looks good, so I decided to buy the book and try out some of the recipes myself. So far everything I have tried has come out looking and tasting wonderful. It will be a keeper in my cookbook library, right beside Shelia Ferguson and Mama Dip's Cookbook, which are two of my most splattered, dog earred and used cookbooks out of over 300!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    loved it

    i love the show and was not disappointed when ordering this book. Was easy to follow the recipes and fun to read the back story of Gina and Pat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    Best Cookbook ever!!!!

    The receipes are easy to follow and they come out tasting great!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2009

    GOOD BOOK

    THE RECIPES WERE GOOD AND THE PICTURES OF THE FOOD WERE LOOKING GOOD.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Love this food, easy to prepare..delicious.

    The Neelys have a sense for what great food is. I love the recipes and the ease of prep. I got this book for mothers day..It couldn't have been a more thoughtful present.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If you enjoy their show - you will love the book

    This book shares their life history along with all the fabulous recipes from their show.

    If you love Memphis Barbeque - you have to have these recipes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ****The Greatest Cookbook Ever*********

    What a great and unusual cookbook. Not only do we get the fantastic recipes, but a great insight on the Neelys as a family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Great Recipes!

    This cookbook has some wonderful, delicious, recipes that are easy. I would recommend this book for a new Bride or someone that already knows how to cook. I hope there are more cookbooks to come from the Neely's. I love the show and their chemistry!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My New Favorite Cookbook

    I love watching the Neelys on Food Network and have tried many of their recipes. Some of those recipes are in their new cookbook. I have tried four out of the book so far and and loved them! I have to say is every recipe I try from them has been added to a list of our favorites. They also included one of my favorite things in cookbooks: memories and anecdotes about the recipes. Don't forget to read the introductions from Pat and Gina, too. I highly recommend this cookbook for your collection

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    Love This Book!

    With beautiful pictures,mouth-watering recipes,and stories that will delight all,this book is a hit!Gina and Pat really make you feel like family and I love all of the stories about their family,friends and experiences.They make you want to become a family member yourself!
    I tried the chocolate chip muffins today,and they were wonderful.Keep the recipes coming because I am already looking forward to a second book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    Wonderfully Entertaining Cookbook!

    This book will have you laughing at every page turn. The recipes are authentic to Southern cooking--(from a girl raised & living in the South). There is so much personality and realness in this cookbook. Who knew a cookbook could capture love, deep family feelings, and good times at the Southern African American table--that my and many other families have. Great job Pat & Gina. We love you. Continued success.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    So Yummy

    This cookbook is full of easy recipes! I love the shrimp!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2