Customer Reviews for

Down River

Average Rating 4
( 207 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

I absolutely love John Hart. His writing style, the mystery, the characters. Everything about all three of his books I love. This was the first one I stumbled upon, in the BARGAIN section! I don't know why because had I known how good it was I certainly would have paid ...
I absolutely love John Hart. His writing style, the mystery, the characters. Everything about all three of his books I love. This was the first one I stumbled upon, in the BARGAIN section! I don't know why because had I known how good it was I certainly would have paid full price! The book caputures the reader from the beginning and the twists and turns soon start to take you on a wonderful journey, sitting on the edge of your seat the whole time. Hoping to figure out the end, and at the same time rooting for the main character. A must read. Adam Chase leaves his hometown after a terrible accusation is made, murder. Even though he is aquitted of the crime almost everyone looks at him with judging eyes, thinking he did it. When Adam returns from NY reluctant to come back to the town that no longer welcomes him, but to help a friend, people start turning up dead. And so the story takes on a exciting plot of twists and turns. Adam must solve this mystery, and he doesn't care what it takes.

posted by Mal_FL on May 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lukewarm

I selected this book, because it got the 2008 Edgar, an award bestowed to the best mystery novel written in the US in a given year. The story unfolds about a string of crimes related to a rich family of rural North Carolina, there are many possible perpetrators and many...
I selected this book, because it got the 2008 Edgar, an award bestowed to the best mystery novel written in the US in a given year. The story unfolds about a string of crimes related to a rich family of rural North Carolina, there are many possible perpetrators and many motives behind. The plot is complex and twisted, creatively crafted, superb, but the author was not skillful enough to create a writing style that matches the quality of the plot so as to release the magic that captivates readers to really enjoy and finish the book in no time. Outstanding plot. Boring writing style

posted by manugw on April 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    I absolutely love John Hart. His writing style, the mystery, the characters. Everything about all three of his books I love. This was the first one I stumbled upon, in the BARGAIN section! I don't know why because had I known how good it was I certainly would have paid full price! The book caputures the reader from the beginning and the twists and turns soon start to take you on a wonderful journey, sitting on the edge of your seat the whole time. Hoping to figure out the end, and at the same time rooting for the main character. A must read. Adam Chase leaves his hometown after a terrible accusation is made, murder. Even though he is aquitted of the crime almost everyone looks at him with judging eyes, thinking he did it. When Adam returns from NY reluctant to come back to the town that no longer welcomes him, but to help a friend, people start turning up dead. And so the story takes on a exciting plot of twists and turns. Adam must solve this mystery, and he doesn't care what it takes.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2007

    Way Beyond My Expectations

    I selected this book while on vacation in SC and just thought it was another local writer with a little talent. WRONG! (Yes, I know there is a difference between NC and SC. But the Carolina's none the less.) Down River is one of the best books I have read in a while. I would compare the quality to the old James Patterson. EXCELLENT! Hart really keeps you guessing until the very end. This book shows that life isn't always easy, no matter where you come from and how much money you have.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!!!

    I LOVE this book! I bought it on a whim at a dollar store and within the next week I had finished. When I got into the last 100 pages I couldn't put it down. I stayed up until 3 in the morning to finish it. This book is good for a rainy day, snow day, sunny day, any day really. I HIGHLY recommend this book!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If I could give 10 stars...I would

    This book was amazing! This is definatly the best book I have read in a long time. I loved everything about it and couldn't put it down!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I picked up this book, sounded interesting, and was never able to put it dow, good story and several twists and turns

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Recommended! Great Book!

    Mystery lovers and lovers of words -- this book is for you! John Hart does it all: an intriguing plot; skillfully drawn characters; artful use of words. I also read Last Child and plan to read more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Highly recommended

    All of John Hart's books keep you reading and not wanting to put the book down until the end. Cannot wait for another book to come out. Loved them all.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great book!!!!

    This book was simply amazing. This was my second book of John Harts that I have read. I appreciate the phenomenal author that he is. He writes great books, books that'll keep you wanting to read more and more. I love books with a twist!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    SOOOOOO GOOD!!!!

    I have found another favorite author. I have read alll three of Hart's books and this was my favorite. It was well written and the characters and their behavior were so real. Hart keeps you guessing through the whole thing. Would definitely recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    I'd like to join FireClan

    This is Silvermist(silvery grey queen). I'm willing to be a warrior or a medicine cat(if you still need one). Please respond. As I said before I am a FEMALE. Not a male.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I really enjoyed this southern mystery. Twists and turns throughout and I never saw the end coming. Looking forward to reading more from this author.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Another Great Book from Hart

    I really like his writing style and story lines. This book is as good as all the others he's written.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    Down River

    This was the first book I read by John Hart and I loved it! I literally could not put it down and read it in 2 days. I am going back to get The King of Lies and have already read the first 3 chapters of The Last Child online and will go purchase the book tonight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Excellent book.

    We chose this book for our Book Club - and we all really enjoyed the book. The author has a wonderful way of introducing the characters and the plot was great. I recommend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifully Written

    This book is one of the best I have read by a recent author. Down River is beautifully written as far as imagery and character development. The plot is developed with a surprise ending that works, which is refreshing in the mystery genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    Down River by John Hart

    John Hart's ability to write descriptive dialog is amazing, and Scott Sowers ability to read it outstanding.
    I loved the flow of words. This is a keeper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Keeps You Guessing Until The End!

    I really enjoyed the author's style in this mystery/thriller because he presents you with a mystery where the main character (Adam Chase) is in the dark most of the time like the reader and when things are finally figured out, the author did not cop out with the usually tricks that many other writers seem to pull. Adam gets a call to return to his hometown from a friend. When he reluctantly goes there he is treated rather poorly because the townfolk feel he was unjustly acquited of a murder five years prior. As the plot moves along you are never sure if Adam may have done what he is accused of and each of the characters in the book are shrouded in mystery. Then there is Adam's old girlfriend Robin who is also a cop and the one person that believed in his innocence (but you are never sure if this was true). Well written and difficult to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    Another hit

    This book is equally as good as his first, King of Lies. I couldn't put it down. The characters are amazing as is his ability to make you feel like you're there. This book pulls you in and doesn't let go. I said it after King of Lies and I'll say it again...John Hart is my new favorite author!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    Good Summer read

    I recommend this book to anyone who likes to 'get lost in a good book'. The characters had you. Storyline very good. Lots of twists and turns. Everytime you thought you had it all figured out, something new was thrown at you and you were back to guessing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    Easily the best book I've read in a while

    The author's detailing of every place and everyone kept me totally engrossed in the stroy. I'm off to read his other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5