Customer Reviews for

Down the Darkest Road

Average Rating 4.5
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

great

I love reading this book. I was instantly immersed into this fantastic, believably written story.

posted by laura24 on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing!

Up to this book, I have always like Tami Hoag and I preordered this book in anticipation. I loved Deeper than the Dead and Secrets to the Grave - they were very interesting, very action packed and had characters that you got to know and love. However, I was very disap...
Up to this book, I have always like Tami Hoag and I preordered this book in anticipation. I loved Deeper than the Dead and Secrets to the Grave - they were very interesting, very action packed and had characters that you got to know and love. However, I was very disappointed in this book and I will be deleting it from my nook. It didn't have the gripping suspense and action as the other 2 books and the characters where very hard to like (let alone wanting them to thrive). Except for Det. Tony Mendez, all the characters were new. In addition, there was such harsh/vulgar language and explicate sex scenes that it was very hard to read and I skipped pages because of it. If this is the type of book Tamk Hoag is going to start pumping out, then I will find a new author to spend my time and money on.

posted by LoveMyTwinBoys on December 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Very disappointing!

    Up to this book, I have always like Tami Hoag and I preordered this book in anticipation. I loved Deeper than the Dead and Secrets to the Grave - they were very interesting, very action packed and had characters that you got to know and love. However, I was very disappointed in this book and I will be deleting it from my nook. It didn't have the gripping suspense and action as the other 2 books and the characters where very hard to like (let alone wanting them to thrive). Except for Det. Tony Mendez, all the characters were new. In addition, there was such harsh/vulgar language and explicate sex scenes that it was very hard to read and I skipped pages because of it. If this is the type of book Tamk Hoag is going to start pumping out, then I will find a new author to spend my time and money on.

    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I love reading this book. I was instantly immersed into this fantastic, believably written story.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Hoag hits one out of the park again

    Tami Hoag puts you in the 1980s again, and if you havent been there personally,thats ok....there is plenty of story,action, gruesome, chilling murders and suspense to keep you up all night reading The story line is awesome and has you thinking about Alice Sebolts "Lovely Bones" and "Shutter Island" to liken to period fiction. A 5 star series and I Hope she continues. Kudos to Tami!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Disiponted

    Bad book

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Not my favorite Oak Knoll book...

    I give this book 3 stars because it is Tammy Hoag and very well written. But I found the main character to be highly unlikable. She's a very disturbed woman who has encountered tragedy of the worst kind, but I don't think the reader is supposed to dislike her - which I did. I did enjoy the focus on Detective Mendez, as I enjoyed his character in the other books. I found Vince and Anne's happiness to be a welcome reprive from Lauren's misery and inner monalogue. It's a good story, but very depressing.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Awesome!!!

    I have a hard time finding authors I truly enjoy but when the pleasingly rare easy read comes along I am thrilled to get lost in the readings, which is precisely what I have done with this book. I just finished dust to dust (another of this author's books) & it was a bit more difficult to read. However, when I saw this would be coming out on the 27th I stuck with it just to hold me over long enough to get to Hoag's latest Oak Knoll book. It was WELL worth it! Even working a full time job and a f/t college student, I still finished this book in less than 2 days! It was that good, especially if you've read the others and were familiar with the characters. Please keep em coming Ms. Hoag! Happy holidays everyone. :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Tami Hoag

    Great book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Awesome read!

    I have to say that for me this book was one of the better reads she has written in a while. I really enjoyed the story and had a hard time getting anything completed around my home until I finished it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    INTENSE AND TERRIFYING

    Intense, gritty, terrifying - the latest in Tami Hoag’s Oak Knoll series is a page-turner par excellence. The time setting is the late 1980s - 90s when tracing by DNA had not been fully developed and information via computer was not as available as it is now. Hence, tracing a criminal was a much more challenging task for law enforcement officers. In this case, not only tracing but proving guilt.

    We’re introduced to the story through the eyes of Lauren Lawton who writes, “Once upon a time I had the perfect family. I had the perfect husband: Handsome, loving, successful. I had the perfect children: Leslie and Leah - beautiful, brilliant, precious girls. I had the perfect life in the perfect home, in the perfect place......And then, as in all fairy tales, evil came into our lives and destroyed us.”

    Evil came in the person of a barbarous, vile individual, Roland Ballencoa. Four years ago he had abducted Leslie or the police were pretty certain he had - but they could not prove it. Not too long after the girl’s abduction Lauren’s husband drove off a bridge; it was thought a suicide due to the stress and guilt of being unable to protect his daughter.

    Bent on revenge and driven to the point of exhaustion Lauren takes Leah and moves to Oak Knoll hoping to put at least a small part of their tragic past behind them. That is not be for she soon finds that Ballencoa is also in Oak Knoll, stalking mother and daughter. It’s all an insidious game to him, watching, frightening, taking pictures with his camera.

    Lauren is reluctant to go to the police as they’ve not helped her in the past, but considered her a royal pain in the neck for constantly pushing them to arrest Ballencoa, to find Leslie. But Ballencoa is a wily beast, evidently never breaking the law, but silently stalking. Lauren is sickened to realize that in her case the person believed to be a criminal actually has more legal rights than she does. Eventually, she does turn to Detective Tony Menendez who believes her but can see no way to help her.

    Hoag has woven a gripping tale, written in brief chapters, almost staccato-like, quick as a bullet which leaves the reader sometimes gasping, always turning pages. Down The Darkest Road is epic suspense seasoned with ravaged emotions and cliff-hanger scenes. Strong medicine so keep all the houselights on.

    - Gail Cooke

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Hvjf

    Chfjjej

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    One of her best!

    I have read all of Tami Hoag's novels and think this was one.of her best! I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Best of this series

    Another good one from Hoag.... Have to admit, this is not my favorite series of hers, but enjoyed this one the most so far... I expect at least one more is coming....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2014

    I picked this up at my local Walmart, once I started reading I c

    I picked this up at my local Walmart, once I started reading I could not put it down. The author tells a tale like no other it's almost like she's lived what is writing. There is so much detail in her words it creepy. Would recommend to anyone looking for a good read 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2014

    TAMI HOAG DOES IT RIGHT....ENOUGH SAID.

    TAMI HOAG DOES IT RIGHT....ENOUGH SAID.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This was another book that I didn't want to put down. Had to keep reading until the end. Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    Very Good

    I hope Tami continues with this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2014

    Love it and thought it was a great ending to the series! A must

    Love it and thought it was a great ending to the series! A must read book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Down the darkest road

    One of the best books I've read in my life !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Excellent read

    I have to disagree with the review about this book not being suspenceful I could barely put this book down I would recommend this its a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    This is the first Tami Hoag novel I've read and I really enjoyed

    This is the first Tami Hoag novel I've read and I really enjoyed it. I will be reading her other novels now. It had a great plot and the characters are well written. I fluctuated between being angry with the mother and  feeling deep sympathy for the pain she was in. I liked the secondary characters as well.. Good  read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8