Customer Reviews for

Downfall

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Good and enjoyable read

A good follow up to the other books in the Sam Capra series. It was satisfying and fast moving enough for me to plow through in a day. It has left me wanting another Sam Capra story.

posted by S- on July 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Addictive

Well it's one of those books that you really care about the hero and want to know what's going to happen next but it is so unrealistic in almost every confrontation that it almost makes you want to stop...but not quite. Sam is so loveable but so superhuman as to make ...
Well it's one of those books that you really care about the hero and want to know what's going to happen next but it is so unrealistic in almost every confrontation that it almost makes you want to stop...but not quite. Sam is so loveable but so superhuman as to make the stories not quite believable. I mean he gets the crap beat out of him to the point of broken bones and then picks himself up and continues into another "battle" just a few hours later. I'm debating about reading the next in the series. But I probably will because I want to know what happens next. I wish Mr. Abbott would just make the fight scenes a little bit more believable.

posted by 17332637 on September 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Good and enjoyable read

    A good follow up to the other books in the Sam Capra series. It was satisfying and fast moving enough for me to plow through in a day. It has left me wanting another Sam Capra story.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    I have loved every book in the Sam Capra series - this was no ex

    I have loved every book in the Sam Capra series - this was no exception. Another winner by Jeff Abbott!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

    I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I have never had the pleasure of reading Jeff Abbott before, but I will tell you this, he now has another die hard fan! I will definitely be reading the rest of his Sam Capra series as well as any other books he puts out! This book was non-stop, in-your-face, brutal, die hard action! There is so much story and so much happening that you are completely engrossed in the book. I could easily see this becoming a movie with say, Jensen Ackles playing Sam Capra and Tim Roth as the antagonist, John Belias. This is one of those books that you can’t guess what’s going to happen because the characters are ruthless and conniving. I was shocked almost every thing that happened in the story. I was taken aback at how mean some of these characters could be. I mean, I could understand why they would be that way, but some of the extremes that these people go to – it’s amazing. I can’t really go into any detail in what I mean because it will spoil the book. Let’s just say that this book will keep you guessing and if you think you know what it going to happen, you are wrong.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Katelyn Hensel for Readers' Favorite In Downfall, t

    Reviewed by Katelyn Hensel for Readers' Favorite

    In Downfall, the latest from Jeff Abbott, all Sam Capra wants is to have a quiet, normal life so he can raise his son. Unfortunately, normal gets shot to hell when one beautiful, leggy woman walks into his bar. Diana is gorgeous, and if that isn't enough to throw Sam off at first sight, the fact that she is being chased by gunmen definitely attracts his attention.

    I'm a pretty big Jeff Abbott fan, having listened to and reviewed several of his books in the past. Downfall was no disappointment, as it had the same thrilling story, and adventure style mystery that I have grown to really appreciate when it comes to my suspense thrillers. He just has this way of creating intricate, yet interlocking story lines that really makes me go "Wow...how did he come up with that???" 

    Sam was a very realistic character. A lot of the time, he wasn't quite sure where his loyalties were, and that was actually okay. He went back and forth quite a bit about what he was going to do and who he was really backing, but you know what...wouldn't you do that too in such a stressful situation? I thought Sam was REALLY great because you feel as if you might bump into him in some random bar. 

    Jeff definitely has a whole cast of "Jeffisms" and once you've read a few of his books you can start to point them out. There isn't anything bad with that, in fact, I tend to like finding "author-isms" because it makes me feel I really know the author's works. Another winner from Jeff Abbott.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Addictive

    Well it's one of those books that you really care about the hero and want to know what's going to happen next but it is so unrealistic in almost every confrontation that it almost makes you want to stop...but not quite. Sam is so loveable but so superhuman as to make the stories not quite believable. I mean he gets the crap beat out of him to the point of broken bones and then picks himself up and continues into another "battle" just a few hours later. I'm debating about reading the next in the series. But I probably will because I want to know what happens next. I wish Mr. Abbott would just make the fight scenes a little bit more believable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    OUTSTANDING

    Super book can't wait for next book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Dawn

    Here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    The plot was offbeat and compelling, but most of the characters

    The plot was offbeat and compelling, but most of the characters central to the story were shallow.  I was entertained, but not to the degree that I'll read another of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    OK to pretty good.

    OK to pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Rune

    Okie dokie. Thanks! Read my post at the main area. I might be gon longer or shorter, dunno.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Great series

    Loved this book and all the others in this series. Will definitely read them again in the future. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Sam Capra series is juicy. Start with first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Jeff Abbott's Downfall

    Great Book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Alpha's den

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Intriguing Thriller!

    This book was fantastic with an intricate plot and lots of action. This has been my favorite of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Lightpaw

    Thats cool and you put my old name in the chapter thats also cool. &starf &starf &starf &starf &starf &starf &starf &starf &starf &starf &starf &starf &starf &starf &starf &starf

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    To Anna

    We wer locked out!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Love this series

    Another great book. Once you start reading you can't put it down. I hope there is another in the works.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2