Customer Reviews for

Downfall

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    A MUST READ!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

    This is an EXCELLENT BOOK!! I read the two prior books in Terri Blackstock's Intervention Series and I must say I absolutely LOVED the entire series. I literally could not stop reading and had to force myself to put the book down to get some sleep. However I found myself waking up in the middle of the night just to read a "few" more pages (I ended up finishing each book in a day). This book is well written and will have you wanting more. I love tat each of the books in this series has story lines that people will be able to relate to in their own lives or in the lives of their family members and/or friends. I found myself sharing boys and pieces of this book to loved ones because the book was that AMAZING that I could not get the book off of my mind. I look forward to purchasing more of Terri Blackstock books as i am confident that they will be just as good, if not better than this book along with the other two in this series. Please do yourself a favor and purchase the book I promise you will not be disappointed!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    I have read a lot of Terri Blackstock books. They are books tha

    I have read a lot of Terri Blackstock books. They are books that you do not have to be afraid that you will be reading bad words. The book will keep you on the edge of your seat because the plot is so interesting that you want to find out what happens. I would recommend this book to anyone who like to read action.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Great series

    This is a great series and the first series I read by this author. For anyone who is looking for a great author, Terri Blacksrock is the writer for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Another gret read!

    LOVED this book and the rest of the series. Terri did a wonderful job keeping the suspense alive and a person guessing! Looking forward to her next book...whatever it may be!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    suspenseful murder mystery with a faith based message

    Terri Blackstock’s Intervention series has been a hit with her fans. The last book in this series is entitled Downfall and it is a captivating, suspenseful, murder mystery. Blackstock captured me on page one and I consumed this story in a little less than three hours. The protagonist is Emily Covington and she has been drug free for almost two years. She recently started going to college. She lives at home with her mother and brother and works weekends at a rehabilitation center. She is slowly piecing back together her life. The Covington family moved away from Jefferson City to Atlanta. This move was made for several reasons; her Mom got a better job and her mom’s boyfriend, Detective Kent Harlan lives nearby. If you asked Emily’s mom she’d say it was to get Emily away from the people who influenced her former life. I really liked Emily and I found her story to be inspiring. I found her to be thoughtful, intelligent and determined. When a homemade car bomb is found on Emily’s car, her mom immediately begins to worry that she is using again. After all she has been staying out late with her college friends. When Emily discovers that the wife of one of her friends was murdered that very same morning, she begins to remember bits and pieces of a conversation between two men. The tale that unfolds is fast paced, as Emily finds herself in hot water and races to stop a killer. Blackstock weaves a captivating mystery that kept me turning the pages. She does this while, brilliantly portraying addiction. We are plunged into the life of a recovering addict and we see the impact it has on not only the addict, but the family as well. While this could have been made the tale dark, Blackstock instead focused on redemption, faith, hope and healing. As a parent with teens, I felt for Emily’s mother as she struggled with believing her daughter. I felt her panic when she knew instinctively that Emily was lying. Blackstock captured that "mother bear protecting her cub mentality", that every mother experiences. We are also given a glimpse of how tough it is to overcome addiction and prove yourself, especially to the ones you hold dear. She does this all with a sprinkling of a faith and a murder mystery that kept me on edge. I want to thank Zondervan publishing for providing this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Alpha

    Gets up and stretches and walks out

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Highly Recommed

    The final book in the series. This is got you from page one and just does not let go until the very end and then.... Well I can't tell you more except it is all worth it when you get to the end. You will have fallen completely in love with the characters of these novels as well as the author Terri Blackstock. Absolute amazing story. It answer many questions as well as continues to show family bonds and commitment as well as the live of the Lord. i highly recommend. It dies not preach the Bible or anything like that so don't be scared away. Excellent book!
    I have read all her books at this point and tell you that if you enjoyed these three you will not be disappointed with any of her other series or stand alone books. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Great

    Love this author and this series. Hard to put down once you start. Can't wait for next release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Frankie

    * runs in*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Xandia

    She rocks herself tears in her eyes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    Downfall Terri Blackstock Book Summary: Book 3 of the Interven

    Downfall
    Terri Blackstock

    Book Summary: Book 3 of the Intervention Series. Emily Covington has turned her life around after a drug addiction, but her family still has trouble trusting her. Though Emily has committed herself to a year-long treatment program and has been sober for almost a year beyond that, even her mother walks on eggshells around her, fearing she'll relapse. After her behavior during her drug years, Emily realizes she has a lot to prove. When police discover a homemade bomb under Emily's car, and she then learns the wife of one of her friends was murdered that same morning, she knows things are deadly serious. But who wants Emily dead? And why? A conversation she had with two men, an Alfred Hitchcock movie, and a plan for a double murder all conspire for one explosive ride ... and Emily is the only one who can identify the killer and save the life of the next potential victim. As she frantically works to solve this ever more complicated puzzle, Emily finds herself playing right into the killer's hands.
    I read the first book in this series own the second one but have not read it yet. I did finish the third and loved it. It was a roller coaster ride with brief periods where you can catch your breath. I was able to make a correct attempt to figure out ‘who did it’ and yet nothing spoiled this story. This was easily a standalone and a series! It was great to read of people I had visited in the first book and yet they were fresh and exciting to hear how they have grown. The only question that came to mind on believability was if Emily did it ‘Where was the GUN!!! that she used????’ However that was hardly a sticking point for me. I can’t wait for Terri Blackstock’s next mystery! I want another ride on the mystery roller coaster.
    I would like to thank Net Galley and Zondervan Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I never saw it coming! Guessed down to the wire! Boy was this go

    I never saw it coming! Guessed down to the wire! Boy was this good. Like a good mystery and love God? Its a no brainer; Terri Blackstock has done it again!!! The only thing that disappointed me? That the series is over and I have to say goodbye to these characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    I love these books. They have just the right amount of action, t

    I love these books. They have just the right amount of action, thrill, drama without going overboard (for Me). I have learned so much about the rehabilitating family and feel for them.
    I was worried throughout this book on whether I would like where it was going, but was satisfied with the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    Terri Blackstock has done it again!

    Another great book from Terri Blackstock! She writes things that are so real and things that really do happen. Terrific author!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Covington family finally begins to get some rest now that Em

    The Covington family finally begins to get some rest now that Emily approaches two years of sobriety. Living in Georgia, they are able to separate from the pains of their past. Or, so they think. Without warning, Lance discovers a crude bomb under his sister's car, as she is leaving for school. Emily can't think of a reason why anyone could want to kill her- she has severed all of her drug ties.

    But when Emily learns that the wife of one of the recovering addicts at her job has been murdered the same morning, she knows it can be no coincidence. And then she remembers talk of a double murder at the rehab center. It seems to bizarre to be true, but yet, one of the victims that was spoke of was now dead. And Emily was the only witness to the conversation...

    The final novel in the Intervention Series did not disappoint. Once again, I was at the edge of my seat the entire book. And again, the exposed reality of the drug world was great. This time, it was mostly about the stage of long term sobriety.

    As much as I loved Downfall, finishing it was truly bittersweet. Though the Intervention Series was only three books, I truly loved the characters. Yes, they are book characters, but they are some of my favorites, and I feel like I said my final farewell. I suppose it is only fair, though. The Covington family has been through enough already! Plus, the ending was perfect and left me smiling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Emily is a recovering drug addict. So when life around her start

    Emily is a recovering drug addict. So when life around her starts to fall apart, it's very difficult for her family to believe that she has nothing to do with it.

    Murder, drug addicts, and love are all in this thriller. It's the final book in the Intervention series and while I haven't read the first books, I'd have to say it's a winner.
    The story plot kept me guessing the entire time. I enjoy a mystery that keeps me guessing or throws in the unexpected. It was fast paced and yet had time to weave in a beautiful story of redemption.
    Terri Blackstock has a gift of being able to write a captivating story with the salvation message included.
    I have not read the previous books in the series yet. There were a couple of places that felt a bit vague and I'm sure would have been more clear if I'd read the other books. But it didn't detract from the story. Will definitely be checking out the previous books in this series.

    I received this book free of charge from Shelton Interactive in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Absolutely Wonderful Book!

    I just finished Downfall and it was another one of Terri Blackstock's winners. Her books touch my heart and make me want to be a better person. The only problem was that it was so good it read it too fast and now it's done. There was a preview of her next book at the end of this one and I can hardly stand to wait for it to come out. As soon as I finish this review I'm going to find out if I can preorder now. Please read this series. It is truly wonderful!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Fantastic finish!

    Excellent finish to the Intervention Triology!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Outstanding

    Emily is a former drug user who caused much trouble and danger for her family. She is now clean and sober and attending college when trouble seems to find her again. Just when things seem to be going well, her life starts spiraling out of control.

    This is a good mystery with twists that kept me guessing until the end. The theme of trust runs throughout this book as evidence shows up that makes Emily look bad. Her family loves her, but can’t help but wonder if she has slipped back into addiction.

    The family dynamics were outstanding as we see a family in recovery. Her brother and mother also suffered from Emily’s past, but they try to put it all behind them and trust her again.

    The characters are realistic, not perfect people, but individuals trying to do the right thing. At first I was a little put-off by Emily’s impulsiveness and the way she jumped into some situations without thinking, but I realized how realistic that behavior is with an addictive personality. It was that impulsiveness that continued to cause problems for her.

    While I haven’t read all of Terri Blackstock’s books, I have read quite a few and have never been disappointed. I definitely recommend Downfall for those who love a good, fast-paced, mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    From Intervention Series

    Emily has come through a long fight to overcome her drug addiction, but she has successfully navigated her abstinence for two years. Barbara, her mother, stood by and suffered with her during the worst and Emily is having trouble earning her trust. Barbara believes the nightmare begins anew every time Emily stays out late or does something she did during her years of addiction. Emily attends college now and enjoys her new addiction-free friends—who stay out late. When Barbara comes to Atlanta to be near Kent, it brings them back to the place of Emily’s addiction, and to an old enemy she didn’t know she had. The “Avenger” decides he will kill her and her family. He plants a bomb under her car. From that moment, the bodies fall as he gets nearer to her family. Drugged beyond reason, he enjoys the game. I had a revelation during the reading of this book. I didn’t realize that ex-addicts can never again take a narcotic, even to help terrible pain. The addict must always feel every bit of pain he or she is victim to—or succumb to painkillers and begin the foggy, insane years again. The action is constant, characters believable, and the suspense continuous. Anyone who reads this book should start with the first book. Though the mystery begins and ends in this book, I felt like someone who goes to a party and walks into someone else’s conversation in the middle. The author often refers to happenings in earlier books. If the first books move at the pace of this one, Emily should be agoraphobic as well as addictive. I certainly wouldn’t leave my house—though for her, home offers no safety.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2