Customer Reviews for

The Downhill Lie: A Hacker's Return to a Ruinous Sport

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Very Funny Book!

    Even if you are not an avid golfer, Hiaasen writes a very amusing book that makes you laugh out loud about his golf antics.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    A reviewer

    It's been said that golf is a good walk, ruined. That pretty much sums it up for a lot of us who have tried and failed at playing golf. Hiassen's account of having failed and THEN taking it up in mid-life is at once funny and sad. Sad mostly for me because it hit a nerve. As with all Hiaasen books, you don't have to be interested in the subject to appreciate his writing. He can take anything and make it readable. Don't be afraid to buy this book if you don't like golf--as a matter of fact, you might enjoy it all the more!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    I didn't want to like this book

    I consider myself a golf purist and feel that golf doesn't lend itself to humorous writing. I picked up LIE more bcause I enjoy Hiaasen's writing. I am glad I did. The author takes us along for the year he comes back to the game we all love and the result is a realistic look at why we do love the game of golf. It's the challenge more discouraging than encouraging and that's the bottom line. I expected success to triumph over failure but that's not the case. I am also glad to see Hiaasen is still playing and wasn't in it just for the sake of the book. ALL golfers and would be golfers will enjoy LIE as well as those who wonder why we knock that little white ball around.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    My wife gave me this book as a gift and I made it through about

    My wife gave me this book as a gift and I made it through about 340 days of the author's "journal" of golf hacking.  While I respect his right to inject his left leaning politics into his writing I really think it took a lot from the book.  It was at that point that I closed it up and relegated it to the goodwill box.  That said this book starts out being sort of numerous if you're a golfer but, it quickly became mundane and repetitious and The political bent gave me the excuse I needed to put it down and move on to something worth my precious time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Quick, easy, funny read.

    Carl Hiaasen's THE DOWNHILL LIE is a quick-moving, witty book about one man's attempted re-emergence into the sport of golf. As a hacker myself, much of what Hiassen wrote about rang true, and I found myself laughing out loud more than once at the author's blunderings about the links.

    Not only is the book funny, but there is an underlying theme about the importance of spending time together, whether it be between friends or between father and son. It's also very easy to read, with plenty of chapter breaks and a mix between longer essays and quick journal entries.

    Not an award winner per say, but a great gift for someone who doesn't take golf too seriously!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    i like potatoes

    poop on a stick

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    Full of Laughs and Missed Three Footers

    A great read for any golfer - you will identify and laugh out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Mildly entertaining

    A somewhat cynical view of golf from someone who plays somewhere in the 90's and considers that disastrous. I can see all the average golfers scratching their heads thinking...."hhmm...that's not that bad. To each their own I guess. But the viewpoint can be very humorous at times, on and off the course.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    Perspective

    I read this at a time that my golf game was suffering and I had read one to many golf self help books trying to fix things. This book was good for a laugh and it helped put everything in perspective. No more golf swing help books after this!Love Carl Hiaasens writing and voice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Golf is a funny game, especially Mr. Hiaasen's game.

    This is a fun read, no more no less. If you are a golfer you will understand how frustrating the game is weather you are trying to break 60 or 90. Luckly for us we get to hear how tough it is from someone who can wax comedic.

    I really enjoyed the book, but then again I enjoy Carl Hiaasen books and golf. For me it was a winning combination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great gift for the golfer in your life

    If you've ever played golf you can relate the many funny passages in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Highly Recommended

    The ups and downs of arguably the most difficult sport in the world are detailed in Carl Hiaasen¿s latest novel, The Downhill Lie: A Hacker's Return To A Ruinous Sport. This personal diary of Hiaasen¿s accounts gives a first hand perspective on the physically and mentally grueling sport of golf, but stays true to Hiaasen¿s light style of writing. After putting down his clubs for more than 30 years, Hiaasen foolishly stumbles back into the sport that left him deeply frustrated in his early 20¿s. Luckily for us, his new work brilliantly enlightens us about his success, or lack thereof, in this exceedingly deceptive sport. Hiaasen gives a stunningly detailed account of his voyage through nearly two years of his life, filled with bogeys, double bogeys, and the occasional triple bogey. Through his comedic writing and ridiculous tales, Hiaasen is able to grasp the attention of readers of all ages, regardless of their golfing experience. Whether a golfer or not, readers are able to relate to Hiaasen¿s frustration and have a genuine concern for him. Hiaasen¿s journey from course to course sure is a pleasant read and an equally pleasant ride, as he makes an attempt to detail his accomplishments, but always arrives back at his repeated failures. These failures range from his myriad of horrible outings to actually sinking a golf cart in a lake. Throughout the novel, we watch as Hiaasen spends thousands of dollars on new equipment, lessons, and even ¿mind focusing¿ pills, and he continuously returns to the same conclusion: golf is not the sport for him and he should just quit. Remarkably, he found a way to stick it out. Eventually we witness the sport of golf become a family activity. As Hiaasen watches his son tee off, he remembers the Sundays long ago when he played with his own father. It is as if golf has become a right of passage in the Hiaasen family. The book also is extremely environmentally conscious, as is typical of the native Floridian Hiaasen¿s body of work. While in a joking tone, Hiaasen does not fail to mention the absurd amount of wild land that is being cleared for these golf courses and their surrounding communities. I am extremely impressed by his writing and find it very enjoyable to read. I am surely going to explore his other works, and recommend this book strongly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    To be honest, when I find out that Carl Hiaasen is releasing a new book soon, I am ecstatic. If you've read every book that Carl Hiaasen has written like I have, you just come to expect loads of humor in his writing. Paradise Screwed and Kick Ass, the books that were compilations of his columns in the Miami Herald weren't a laugh a minute, but at least they were educational. If you have lived in Florida for any length of time, you know that a lot of residents are avid golfers. There are many gated communities, like the LPGA in Daytona Beach on LPGA Boulevard. The name is self-explanatory, I think. Hiaasen has railed against all things Disney many times. Hiaasen is reminiscent of the way Florida used to be before it was pummeled. Golf courses are not native to Florida either, the same as Disney, Universal, etc. Maybe if the novel were a 'laugh a minute,' as Stormy Weather and Double Whammy were, I might have overlooked this 'selling out.' In this case I just couldn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3