Customer Reviews for

Downtown

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Not great

    Not my "cup of tea" but I am sure it is for some. Very sorry I read it now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    I guess I have out grown Anne Rivers Siddons

    I used to love this author, so when I saw a book of hers that I had not read, I was very excited. I was obviously disappointed.

    I didn't really like the main character, so the whole book was hard to read. If she had done more with the civil rights movement in the south at the time, instead of on her love life, it might have been saved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I truly enjoyed this book. The writing is excellent and a wonderful story. The characters truly come to life. You fells as though you know them. I was sorry to have it end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Recommended reading. Siddons is a prolific and intelligent author.

    Although this was not my most favorite book by this author, her in depth descriptions of the people and places of which she writes, made this book well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Great Read

    This is not my typical genre but I found it hard to put down, it is one of those books where parts of the plot will stick in my mind forever. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    A great writer!

    This is the second book I have read by Anne Rivers Siddons. I have not finished but am enjoying the read. I like her characters because
    they are every day people that we can relate to; actually, it could be
    me! I love finding a new author and will probably read all her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    ok

    This book was quite a bit more political than her other books. Maybe she was trying to make a point about journalists. I did however enjoy the take on Atlanta during the sixties. I recently visited GA,NC, and SC and have been reading books about this area ever since, but find all Siddons books very liberal.I tend to enjoy a book that tells a story but does not neccessarily take a side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Wonderful book. I could feel the air of Atlanta and smell the flowers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    Still my favorite

    The first Anne Rivers Siddons book I read, and still my favorite. I love the story - of Smoky, the 1960s, the characters. It's very much a life I would have wanted to have led at that time. And I loved the epilogue - never saw it coming, so don't peek!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    Deanna, an avid reader

    This was my 2nd Anne Rivers Siddons book. I loved this book up until the very end. I didn't like the epilogue. BUT it was definitely worth reading. Very much a southern book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2000

    This is Rivers Siddons at Her Best

    This book was hard to put down- it contained many laughs, cries, and everything else in between. All the characters are easy to relate to. It is particularly impressive that a book with 500 pages can contain only one or two slow moments. This novel made me a die-hard Anne Rivers Siddons fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1