Customer Reviews for

Dr. Atkins' New Carbohydrate Gram Counter

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Companion book to the Atkins New Diet for a New You

This book is exactly what it says it is...a companion guide for the diet book. It is not intended to replace the book that explains the principles of the plan. It gives a general outline, then provides the needed nutrition information on thousands of common food choices...
This book is exactly what it says it is...a companion guide for the diet book. It is not intended to replace the book that explains the principles of the plan. It gives a general outline, then provides the needed nutrition information on thousands of common food choices to make following the plan easier. It DOES show fiber grams and net carbs, contrary to some reviewer posts. It is easily navigated using the table of contents. For me, it was a great buy.

posted by 8330518 on January 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I don't like it!

Foods listed don't seem to list "NET CARBS" which is important when you are counting 20 carbs per day. Get your food list on the website. It has net carbs info..

posted by Anonymous on February 15, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2003

    I don't like it!

    Foods listed don't seem to list "NET CARBS" which is important when you are counting 20 carbs per day. Get your food list on the website. It has net carbs info..

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Great Companion book to the Atkins New Diet for a New You

    This book is exactly what it says it is...a companion guide for the diet book. It is not intended to replace the book that explains the principles of the plan. It gives a general outline, then provides the needed nutrition information on thousands of common food choices to make following the plan easier. It DOES show fiber grams and net carbs, contrary to some reviewer posts. It is easily navigated using the table of contents. For me, it was a great buy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    It's missing something major

    The carb counter does not show haw many fiber carbs can be subtracted from your total count. This is very important in foods high in fiber like peanuts and beans that would normally have high carb counts.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2000

    Just what I needed

    The book is what I needed to keep me on track! Now before I just order anything to eat I grab this book first! I have lost 17 lbs. in 2 weeks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Carb Gram Counter

    A bargain at the price with up-to-date info. Thanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2004

    It really works

    After 13 days on the induction part of the atkins diet i lost 12 lbs, i never felt tired because i also took the pills which come in the 14-day starter kit. a great diet but alot of cravings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    A Need-to-Know -- if you have Kidney Disease

    The 'Atkins' (low-carb & high protein) diet has proven successful in helping people shed pounds, in many instances - at least on a short-term basis. The author (in general) cautions that this weight-loss protocol is NOT meant to be used by those with serious kidney disease. Unfortunately, with an estimated 20 million Americans (as of the 2003 database) currently experiencing some form of chronic kidney disease (CKD), and record numbers of people (>90,000 --- as of the 2001 data base) told, each year, that they have End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) and must begin dialysis to stay alive, the likelihood that someone, who shouldn¿t be following the Atkins `plan¿, IS, is overwhelmingly high. From the kidney¿s perspective, the problem with an Atkins diet is multi-fold -- the following is only 'arm' of the issue. A high meat diet = (a) excess protein stress, (b) mineral overload (especially phosphorus and potassium), and (c) excess creatine (a Bio-fuel) which will be converted to creatinine (Bio-waste). Excess protein will always be problematic, but there is an effective way to deal with excess phosphorus, potassium, and creatine/creatinine encountered by following this diet. The proven procedures for mineral removal (Demineralization) can be found in ¿Healthy Living With Demineralization¿ and ¿More Bio-fuel ¿ Less Bio-waste¿.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2003

    finally ,something that really works

    THIS IS AN EASY WAY TO KEEP TRACK OF ALLOWABLE FOOD. AND TO KEEP YOU ON TRACK WITH LOSING WEIGHT. I HAVE LOST 11 POUNDS IN ABOUT 15 DAYS. NO OTHER DIET HAS EVER BEEN SUCCESSFUL FOR ME.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2003

    I was choclateholic

    Hi every body, I must admit I am lazy when it comes to exercising.I didn't know about Dr. atkins diet not until I saw a documentary on TV critising it. A few people were put on it and lost weight although they complained about being tired, lacking enough carbs in their body. I was motivated to do an experiment on my body, being a biomedical student, i new exactly what to & not to eat. It took me a month on a regular basis of exercising to loose 7pounds but on Dr, Atkins diet it took me 14 days to loose 9 pounds. I found it so hard because i was so addicted to choclates and I was also eating rice for dinner & potatoes. My body feels lighter now and I am loosing weight. I am not giving up coz i know I can loose 14 pounds in a month. The 1st week is hard but I can say no to choclates or any sugary products. I've learned to hate them which is good. But the only side effect i have experienced so far is consitipation but i can deal with it by drinking up to 2 litres of water a day. This diet is great. Its realy worth a try. Ps. I stayed away from salads & veg but eating a lot of eggs, cheese, all meat products.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2003

    This book is a quick daily reference

    This book is a quick reference for carb counts when you don't have a label infront of your face. It is NOT the diet, as other commenters have eluded that it should be. You need to read the main books. I actually followed the Protein Power Plan written by Dr. Eades. It is the same basic principles. I lost 60 lbs. in 4 months and made my goal weight. Low Carbs and adequate protein WORKS. The trick is you can NOT, NEVER, ABSOLUTELY NOT a smiggin' cheat! But then YOU are in control of what goes in your mouth.... aren't you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2001

    atrocious book - good diet

    This book is appallingly badly written. I have rarely read so much drivel. He does not set out the 'do's and dont's' at all clearly and you have to work hard to decide what you can and can not eat. However if you can manage to struggle through the waffle, the basic message makes some sense. In 5 days I have lost 7 lbs. It is worth trying.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2001

    Awesome way to Diet!

    I started the Atkins' Low Carbohydrate Diet on March 15, today is March 25. 10 days later, and I lost 6 pounds. This is an awesome diet, and a GREAT BOOK to have if you're on a 20gram or less Low Carbs Diet! I fully recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2001

    Slim, trim, and a happy eater

    For more than 10 years I've been a fan of Dr. Atkins'. I don't count carbs - it has been 'built' into me. I'm 40 years of age - most people think I'm a teenager... Keep up the good work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1