Customer Reviews for

Dr. Atkins New Diet Revolution

Average Rating 3.5
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This diet works for me

It's a true loss that Dr Atkins died. I lived on a low-fat, high-carb diet for 10 years & every one of those years were miserable. I gave Atkins diet a try because there was nothing left to try but this. I am a big carb craver, so eliminating them out of my lifestyle is...
It's a true loss that Dr Atkins died. I lived on a low-fat, high-carb diet for 10 years & every one of those years were miserable. I gave Atkins diet a try because there was nothing left to try but this. I am a big carb craver, so eliminating them out of my lifestyle is not always easy or enjoyable, but after getting into ketosis the motivation to keep the increased energy & fat loss results keeps me going. It just takes more planning & discipline to eat this way than the usual haphazard junk food diet that got me depleted & sick in the first place. Not eating enough protein & good fats is a big no-no. I have done this diet before & it has made me healthier than I ever was in my life. My bodyfat percentage with diligent adherence to the diet & regular exercise dropped from 26% to 17% in 8 months. But after 5 years I got lazy & started eating a lot of sweets & carbs for 3-4 yrs & now I'm back at square one. My bodyfat percentage skyrocketed to 31%. Very unhealthy. Atkins is the only solution that I know works for me, & the best things I love about this diet/lifestyle are the energy it provides & the fact that I never have to feel hungry ever.

posted by ogo on May 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Horrible ebook!

I got this for a digital copy, as I already have the paperback, and it is awful. There are words incorrectly spelled, and it is NOT the actual book. Very upset.

posted by 11124480 on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Ripoff

    This is awful. I can't believe BN allows scams like this. We all deserve refunds.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Download is only page 1

    I want my money back

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    I want a refund!

    I thouht this was a book about the atkins diet not a cookbook. The cover is misleading and i would like a refund!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    This IS NOT Dr. Atkins New Diet Revolution. I have the hardback

    This IS NOT Dr. Atkins New Diet Revolution. I have the hardback and the paperback. The cover and description for the Nook book are and were at the time of purchase identical to THE REAL Dr. Atkins book, but the vast majority of Dr. Atkins book was nowhere to be found inside this Nook book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Check it out

    This book on the Atkins' Diet is a book that should be read slowly. It is a diet that goes against what we have been taught. Good read and makes your mind think about the diet. Always check with your Doctor when starting a new diet.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Don't recommend Nook version

    I found the electronic version of this book impossible to navagate. Beginning of book list chapters and content however there are no links to jump to a particular chapter.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Download error

    I love what the book has to say, but the ebook is a nightmare. The format is terrible, and it won't allow me to go to a specific chapter or page. That makes it impossible to read food lists without having to scroll through the whole book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2004

    Low Carb Diets

    HI----I tryed the diet a year ago, my husband and I, got the tapes, read the book, etc, and the weight just melted off my husband but not me. I just got tired and the weight didn't budge!! I was doing the diet wrong, so that was my fault. I don't like water, I love pop, Pepsi. This time, I gave up the Pepsi, for those who drink any with caffiene be prepared for the withdraws...this time I found some bottled water that is flavored that has no caffiene, low sodium, no calories and no carbs. Really drink at least 8-8oz. glasses of water, if not you will be tired and that is where the kidney damage comes in, the keytones need to be flushed out of the kidneys with water, not just fluids!! I started the diet almost 3 full days ago and lost 4 pounds. I am so happy. It really works, if you follow it and as long you make it your diet for life. The maintenence isn't that bad, you can have some carbs and you can have low carbs for all but one day or two days a week that you carb up and then do induction for 48 hours and maintence after that. But if you go completely off it everything you worked so hard to lose, starts to come back and it comes back at least as fast as it took to lose it!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    it really does work.

    i started the atkins program in august and i've lost about 20 lbs so far. the first few weeks are definitely difficult...but *stick with it* because you will definitely see results quickly. once you get used to this new lifestyle, it's easy. i'm sick of all these food places advertising their 'low fat menu' which consists of about 500 grams of carbs in one sitting...i wish everyone had to read this book so they'd understand how to *really* lose weight and be healthy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Rip off!!!

    I want my money back.... this is NOT the book it claims to be!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    I'm not blind

    Extremely hard to read on my NOOK, buy the paperback.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Buy the hard copy instead.

    The formatting has much to be desired. There is no TOC for navigating either. Good book otherwise.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    Really great information

    This book has some really great information and really opened my eyes. Can't beat the price

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    Works if you do it right!

    This diet does a great job in teaching people about watching what they eat by making you aware of what really food is. Some background in biology and chemistry also helps to better appreciate the concepts. It took some discipline but I easily shed 15 pounds. Once you pass mid phase 2, you can allow yourself to indulge for one meal per week (out of 21) without any negative consequences. ONE THING TO BE AWARE WHILE ON THIS DIET: This book fails to mention that high protein diets (such as this one) causes ketoasidosis (a condition in which your blood gets more acidic) which can be unhealthy if followed for a prolonged period of time. Acidified blood dissolves in it the calcium in the bones. This is why the author tells you to take supplements while on this diet. If you have osteoporosis, arthritis, or any condition in which your blood¿s pH is lower than normal, you NEED to consult your physician before considering this diet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    I should have read the other reviews....

    The formatting is TERRIBLE...the cover would not even open. I had to force it to go to another page by using nook tools. BN, this should be removed from your site.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Not the real book.

    Do not waste your money. This is not the real book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    H

    I lost 7 lbs in 11 days. Feel great. Not hungry. No cravings for carbs and sugar after 3 days. This is going to be my way of eating for life. You have to try this. I have tried everything and this is the only thing that has worked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    I can't really rate the contents of this book because I was unab

    I can't really rate the contents of this book because I was unable to read it. I'm not sure how this publisher thought selling something this haphazard and unprofessional was a good idea. This ebook really hasn't been formatted at all. The spacing between lines is completely off. There are lines of bullet points with nothing next to them. All the illustrations are covered in text from the following page. I could spent this entire review going through the various issues this ebook has. I'm surprised Barnes and Noble would sell something this amateurish. I would advise anyone considering buying this to not waste their money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Can't read!

    I would like my money back on this!!! Formate is not right. Can't read. If there was zero I would rate it that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    try it

    I have successfully lost over 20 pounds in the past few months. That doesn't seem like much except that I am a rather sedentary senior citizen. I have tried for 40 years to lose weight. It is a totally different approach from everything I was taught.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8