Customer Reviews for

Dr. Atkins' New Diet Revolution

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This diet works for me

It's a true loss that Dr Atkins died. I lived on a low-fat, high-carb diet for 10 years & every one of those years were miserable. I gave Atkins diet a try because there was nothing left to try but this. I am a big carb craver, so eliminating them out of my lifestyle is...
It's a true loss that Dr Atkins died. I lived on a low-fat, high-carb diet for 10 years & every one of those years were miserable. I gave Atkins diet a try because there was nothing left to try but this. I am a big carb craver, so eliminating them out of my lifestyle is not always easy or enjoyable, but after getting into ketosis the motivation to keep the increased energy & fat loss results keeps me going. It just takes more planning & discipline to eat this way than the usual haphazard junk food diet that got me depleted & sick in the first place. Not eating enough protein & good fats is a big no-no. I have done this diet before & it has made me healthier than I ever was in my life. My bodyfat percentage with diligent adherence to the diet & regular exercise dropped from 26% to 17% in 8 months. But after 5 years I got lazy & started eating a lot of sweets & carbs for 3-4 yrs & now I'm back at square one. My bodyfat percentage skyrocketed to 31%. Very unhealthy. Atkins is the only solution that I know works for me, & the best things I love about this diet/lifestyle are the energy it provides & the fact that I never have to feel hungry ever.

posted by ogo on May 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Horrible ebook!

I got this for a digital copy, as I already have the paperback, and it is awful. There are words incorrectly spelled, and it is NOT the actual book. Very upset.

posted by 11124480 on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Horrible ebook!

    I got this for a digital copy, as I already have the paperback, and it is awful. There are words incorrectly spelled, and it is NOT the actual book. Very upset.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    This is not the actual book

    I used to own a hard copy of this book, and this content is not the same. I didn't read the entire thing, so it is possible that the content is there, just jumbled. The formatting is horrible, and selling this item in this state is trily atrocious. When I buy a book for my nook via the nook store, I expect it to accurately portray the content of a hard copy. I will be contacting Barnes and Noble to get my money back.

    Funny thing is, I chose this version when I saw the high rating and lack of complaints regarding format.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    This is not the actual book!

    Keep your $1! This book is full of misspelling, is all in caps, and only includes a summary of the diet and a bunch of recipes.

    The atkins diet is fantastic, but this "book" is not.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    This diet works for me

    It's a true loss that Dr Atkins died. I lived on a low-fat, high-carb diet for 10 years & every one of those years were miserable. I gave Atkins diet a try because there was nothing left to try but this. I am a big carb craver, so eliminating them out of my lifestyle is not always easy or enjoyable, but after getting into ketosis the motivation to keep the increased energy & fat loss results keeps me going. It just takes more planning & discipline to eat this way than the usual haphazard junk food diet that got me depleted & sick in the first place. Not eating enough protein & good fats is a big no-no. I have done this diet before & it has made me healthier than I ever was in my life. My bodyfat percentage with diligent adherence to the diet & regular exercise dropped from 26% to 17% in 8 months. But after 5 years I got lazy & started eating a lot of sweets & carbs for 3-4 yrs & now I'm back at square one. My bodyfat percentage skyrocketed to 31%. Very unhealthy. Atkins is the only solution that I know works for me, & the best things I love about this diet/lifestyle are the energy it provides & the fact that I never have to feel hungry ever.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Only 18 Pages!

    This is more of an overview of the diet - NOT the actual in depth book like the cover and description lead us to believe.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Not what I thought I was purchasing

    I thought this was the real Atkins dietbook, and alas it is not. The book is so loaded with misspellings that I cannot continue and would.like a refund. Don't waste your time.and.money.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Worried

    The lack of proper spelling and grammer in this book has me questioning its credibility!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If you're considering low carb, this is the book to read!

    This book is essential reading before switching to a low carb diet. This book will help you to understand the reason low carb works AND is good for you! It will keep you from the mistake of eating highly processed low-carb marketed foods instead of healthy natural foods!Once you understand, then move on to good low carb cookbooks to learn to cook this way so you don't get bored with steak, steak, chicken only!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    For the Record, Atkins is not a 'poisonous diet'. It's not even a diet! It's a way of life, an alteration of the way you consume food, and the way you think about it, and I perceive it as shameful the way America has fallen into the harmful clutches of ignorant 'specialists' who are destroying our nation. Atkins puts you into a stage called 'ketosis', which is not the building up of 'harmful toxins' in your body it is the RELEASE of them! And to all you fat-phobics out there, it is YOUR 'diet' that has caused America to sacrifice tit¿s citizens, for us all to 'look good'. Sure, you can loose weight by starving yourself, but why do it, when you can eat well and FEEL GOOD?! Why feel weak and deprived, when you can feel full and energetic. I myself lost 40 lbs. on this wonderful way of life. People, I ask you to open your minds to a new path, one to good health, well being, and satisfaction. Forget the low-calorie lies imprinted in your minds, erase all talk of fat declared dangerous, and embrace the food one of the most knowledgeable medical prodigies this century has seen has proven as beneficial to your body. Please give this healthy lifestyle a chance!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2002

    It will work... ONLY IF YOU SERIOUSLY FOLLOW IT!!

    To all those who failed on Atkins, it's hard to believe anyone could fail by eating this way. COUNT CARBS, NOT FAT! Why do you think over 1/2 of America is overweight??!!! All those 'low-fat' items are LOADED WITH SUGAR! Yes, I'll agree the first 2 weeks are a rough, but once you get past it, you'll be fine. Just gradually add 10gms of carbs per day in weekly increments. The reason some people cannot handle this is they are SO DEPENDENT on sugars and starches, going into a state of Ketosis is a shock to the body. Heck, stop smoking or drinking coffee and I'm sure you'll feel just as bad. Anyways, I went from 185#'s to 160#'s in 8 weeks, and subsequently lost another 15#'s. ALL THIS WITHOUT STEPPING INTO THE GYM ONCE! So here I am, almost 3 years later, 40 pounds lighter, 3 waist sizes less, less sluggish, more happy than ever. Not bad for a 32 year old! It's not really a diet; it's a lifestyle. Sure, I'll go off every now and then (like I did at the buffets in Vegas last weekend) but my metabolism is so fine tuned that it didn't effect my weight one bit. There's no excuse for anyone failing this. And if they do, it's probably because they're not following the guidelines and/or using the 'just a little bit wont hurt' mentality towards carb-ridden foods. Just eat eggs, cheese, steaks, chicken, shrimp, salads, etc... And if you need sweets, there are plenty of sites that sell pretty darn good low carb baked goods and candies. Just try to avoid Malitol (a sugar alcohol that some candies have that bloats you big time).

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2007

    Why my initial weight loss success vanished

    I lost 35 pounds on this diet two years ago, the problem was I couldn't keep it off because I never learned a darn thing from the book except cut out the carbs and eat meats. If you can do that forever than Atkins is for you. If you can't, do yourself a favor and learn as I did by reading another book written by a Registered Dietitian 'Formerly Fat, Forever Fijian Lean' I have lost a total of 40 pounds over the last three months and I have a better diet, more energy 'I even run now'and a better sex life! My MD say's my glucose and A1C are perfect and finally I am off Lopid.Funny thing is when I was in the hospital for my diabetes the dietitan that 'educated' me was fat herself so I don't put alot of faith in RD's but this guy has different ideas and is in shape. He even recommends alcohol as a fat loss aid. My MD said as long as the weight comes off and the labs look good and I don't drink to excess it's fine.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2004

    Read the ENTIRE book...

    before judging! The inductions phase CAN be high fat, but it doesn't have to be. This plan helped me to lose 62 pounds, give up stress and emotional eating, and get pregnant. Have you ever downed an entire bag of Doritos and still felt hungry? Have you eaten an entire 1/2 gallon of ice cream and gone back for more? I'm not saying that this diet is for everyone -- I just love those people who complain about losing 10 pounds! I'm just saying that my total cholestoral was 224. I weighed 201 pounds at the age of 29. I was only 5'4'' tall, for heaven's sake! I was taking medication for high blood pressure. I was infertile and taking medicine for insulin resistance. After reading the book twice (yes, I was a hard sell), and following the plan for 9 months, I lost 63 pounds and was FINALLY able to get pregnant. I have a beautiful, healthy 22 month old little girl, my cholestoral is down to 162, and I lost all of the baby weight after breast feeding. This plan has literally changed my life. I actually feel full after a meal, and my cravings are gone. I must admit that the first week was tough, but there is so much support out there if you need it. After the first week, things just became a routine. I have now included some research into lower or 'better' fat choices (i.e. Hampton's and South Beach), but we'll just have to see the results in a few months. Good luck in what ever weight management system you choose!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2000

    I'll be damned, it actually worked !

    I didn't think I really needed a diet, but many of my friends were dropping the pounds, so I gave it a try. 5 weeks later and 20 pounds lighter, I have to say it works if you can avoid 'cheating'. 6 months later, I have been able to keep the weight off without even staying on the maintenance diet, just some modified carbo intake. I don't think I could stay on this diet long-term due to the restrictions on fruits and vegetables, but it was great for getting me back under 200 pounds. I would recommend it to anyone as it seems better than starving yourself thin. This book was easy to read with plenty of recipes and charts.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 1999

    A Work in Progress

    First, a comment on the writing itself. I know the writing is sometimes burdensome. I would have liked to see more charts regarding the research as quoted. I would also liked to have a bit more information regarding how to access the primary research information, perhaps in a more detailed bibliography. Now, regarding the diet itself: it works for me but hasn't worked (weight loss) for my wife. I am 51 year old male weighing 277.5 at onset of diet. Elevated BP unless on med, blood sugar at 185 to 220 unless on meds. My approach has been take a battery of blood tests initially - one called an Executive Profile or Panel. This has given me a baseline. I'll test again at one month, three months, six months, and one year. Initially, here are the interim results. I take no more hypertension or diabetes meds. BP after two weeks is 142/84 (I want to watch this carefully) and blood sugar is averaging 90. This is impressive for someone on two diabetes (Type II) meds twice a day and one BP med. I do occasionally cheat and this brings me out of ketosis. One day back on induction and I'm losing again. Lost 9.5 pounds in 2 weeks and still going. I'll write a review as I do the followup labs. One comment regarding another reviewer - The China Report regarding cancer from high meat issues may have nothing to do with the protein and everything to do with steroids in the meat. This certainly bears investigation. One other thing about energy: no fatigue, lots of energy and no hunger.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    I want a refund!

    I thouht this was a book about the atkins diet not a cookbook. The cover is misleading and i would like a refund!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    This IS NOT Dr. Atkins New Diet Revolution. I have the hardback

    This IS NOT Dr. Atkins New Diet Revolution. I have the hardback and the paperback. The cover and description for the Nook book are and were at the time of purchase identical to THE REAL Dr. Atkins book, but the vast majority of Dr. Atkins book was nowhere to be found inside this Nook book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2004

    Low Carb Diets

    HI----I tryed the diet a year ago, my husband and I, got the tapes, read the book, etc, and the weight just melted off my husband but not me. I just got tired and the weight didn't budge!! I was doing the diet wrong, so that was my fault. I don't like water, I love pop, Pepsi. This time, I gave up the Pepsi, for those who drink any with caffiene be prepared for the withdraws...this time I found some bottled water that is flavored that has no caffiene, low sodium, no calories and no carbs. Really drink at least 8-8oz. glasses of water, if not you will be tired and that is where the kidney damage comes in, the keytones need to be flushed out of the kidneys with water, not just fluids!! I started the diet almost 3 full days ago and lost 4 pounds. I am so happy. It really works, if you follow it and as long you make it your diet for life. The maintenence isn't that bad, you can have some carbs and you can have low carbs for all but one day or two days a week that you carb up and then do induction for 48 hours and maintence after that. But if you go completely off it everything you worked so hard to lose, starts to come back and it comes back at least as fast as it took to lose it!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    it really does work.

    i started the atkins program in august and i've lost about 20 lbs so far. the first few weeks are definitely difficult...but *stick with it* because you will definitely see results quickly. once you get used to this new lifestyle, it's easy. i'm sick of all these food places advertising their 'low fat menu' which consists of about 500 grams of carbs in one sitting...i wish everyone had to read this book so they'd understand how to *really* lose weight and be healthy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2003

    this diet brought me to the brink of death

    yes i did loose weight, and it was very satisfying doing it. BUT in doing so i ended with ulcers and a gall bladder operation, very high cholesterol and heart trouble. thank you but no thanks

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Rip off!!!

    I want my money back.... this is NOT the book it claims to be!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7