Customer Reviews for

Dr. Atkins' New Diet Revolution

Average Rating 3.5
( 173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This diet works for me

It's a true loss that Dr Atkins died. I lived on a low-fat, high-carb diet for 10 years & every one of those years were miserable. I gave Atkins diet a try because there was nothing left to try but this. I am a big carb craver, so eliminating them out of my lifestyle is...
It's a true loss that Dr Atkins died. I lived on a low-fat, high-carb diet for 10 years & every one of those years were miserable. I gave Atkins diet a try because there was nothing left to try but this. I am a big carb craver, so eliminating them out of my lifestyle is not always easy or enjoyable, but after getting into ketosis the motivation to keep the increased energy & fat loss results keeps me going. It just takes more planning & discipline to eat this way than the usual haphazard junk food diet that got me depleted & sick in the first place. Not eating enough protein & good fats is a big no-no. I have done this diet before & it has made me healthier than I ever was in my life. My bodyfat percentage with diligent adherence to the diet & regular exercise dropped from 26% to 17% in 8 months. But after 5 years I got lazy & started eating a lot of sweets & carbs for 3-4 yrs & now I'm back at square one. My bodyfat percentage skyrocketed to 31%. Very unhealthy. Atkins is the only solution that I know works for me, & the best things I love about this diet/lifestyle are the energy it provides & the fact that I never have to feel hungry ever.

posted by ogo on May 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Horrible ebook!

I got this for a digital copy, as I already have the paperback, and it is awful. There are words incorrectly spelled, and it is NOT the actual book. Very upset.

posted by 11124480 on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    Good book - but avoid ebook version

    This is an excellent book and truly changed my life pertaining to how I view food, my understanding of how our bodies use food for fuel and using the tools within I have definitely experienced weight loss. However, the e-book version of this is absolutely horrible. The formatting is all over the place or non existent in some spots. It's next to impossible to read on the Nook. It looks like a third grader did the digital conversion. One of those that made me think "Why did they even bother at all?" You would expect that if you were getting a pirated copy of something off of some unauthorized website, but to find it in the BN store was disappointing because I previously assumed that BN had some type of quality control in place. So the 2 stars are for the digital version of this book. I couldn't bring myself to give it only 1 because if you can get through the crap formatting, there is excellent info to be had. But my recommendation is go to half price books, find yourself a good ol fashioned hard copy of this, get your highlighter out and prepare to have your view of what you put in your body permanently changed. (5 stars for the book itself).

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    The formatting of the the E-Book is unreadable

    While the book itself is great, the formatting on the e-book is like someone tweeted the whole thing.

    I highly recommend getting the print version of this book...not the new versions that were made after Dr. Atkins death as they are just mechanisms to sell the diet food products. If you read the original books - Dr. Atkins warns you not to eat such frankenfoods.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Hard to Navigate

    I haven't had the chance to read this book cover to cover yet, nor do I feel it should be read that way. The table of contents does not offer page numbers, and when I try to jump chapters, I can't. Therefore, I'm left to scroll through the more than 200 pages to find the section that I really want to get to. Honestly, I wish I would have bought the physical book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Buy the hard copy instead.

    The formatting has much to be desired. There is no TOC for navigating either. Good book otherwise.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2003

    DIABETICS BEWARE

    I TRIED THE ADKINS DIET, AFTER READING HIS GUIDELINES FOR DIABETICS, AFTER JUST 3 DAYS ON THE DIET I WAS RUSHED TO THE EMERGENCY ROOM IN AN AMBULANCE W/SEVERELY LOW BLOOD GLUCOSE, ALMOST IN A COMA. BE CAREFUL AND TALK TO YOUR OWN DOCTOR BEFORE GETTING ON THIS DIET, IF YOU HAVE DIABETES...PLEASE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2002

    NOT THE RIGHT DIET FOR EVERYONE

    Although I have several friends who have lost a considerable amount of weight on this diet, by the third day after I had started it I felt HORRIBLE!! I had absolutely no energy and the WORST headache. I had to back off of the extremely low carbs and add some back to my diet. I believe that under 20 grams is simply too little for me. The book is well written, but I don't think this is the diet for everyone....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2000

    Never 'Dieted' before this

    Although I only wanted to shed 10lbs on my 138 lb frame, I lost 21 lbs in 2 months. This diet can however be extremely dangerous for an extended period of time due to the keytosis state your body is put in. I would highly recommend only going on the diet for 2 weeks straight and being extremely rigid. After the two weeks do the diet in moderation, low or no sweets, NO bread potatoes or pasta. I would also recommend to everyone that you read the book in its entirety BEFORE you dive into the diet. This will allow you to understand the mecanism behind the theory. I would be happy to answer or try to answer any questions. kclawlor1@yahoo.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2000

    Disappointed

    Well, I am one reader that was not successful. I faithfully followed the two weeks, even though I lost energy, did not feel like myself. I lost 5 pounds, and gained them back within 2 days. I actually got tired of eating so much meat. The small amount of fiber consumed felt unhealthy. I'm going back to the Zone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2