Customer Reviews for

Dr. Atkins' New Diet Revolution

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This diet works for me

It's a true loss that Dr Atkins died. I lived on a low-fat, high-carb diet for 10 years & every one of those years were miserable. I gave Atkins diet a try because there was nothing left to try but this. I am a big carb craver, so eliminating them out of my lifestyle is...
It's a true loss that Dr Atkins died. I lived on a low-fat, high-carb diet for 10 years & every one of those years were miserable. I gave Atkins diet a try because there was nothing left to try but this. I am a big carb craver, so eliminating them out of my lifestyle is not always easy or enjoyable, but after getting into ketosis the motivation to keep the increased energy & fat loss results keeps me going. It just takes more planning & discipline to eat this way than the usual haphazard junk food diet that got me depleted & sick in the first place. Not eating enough protein & good fats is a big no-no. I have done this diet before & it has made me healthier than I ever was in my life. My bodyfat percentage with diligent adherence to the diet & regular exercise dropped from 26% to 17% in 8 months. But after 5 years I got lazy & started eating a lot of sweets & carbs for 3-4 yrs & now I'm back at square one. My bodyfat percentage skyrocketed to 31%. Very unhealthy. Atkins is the only solution that I know works for me, & the best things I love about this diet/lifestyle are the energy it provides & the fact that I never have to feel hungry ever.

posted by ogo on May 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Horrible ebook!

I got this for a digital copy, as I already have the paperback, and it is awful. There are words incorrectly spelled, and it is NOT the actual book. Very upset.

posted by 11124480 on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    This diet works for me

    It's a true loss that Dr Atkins died. I lived on a low-fat, high-carb diet for 10 years & every one of those years were miserable. I gave Atkins diet a try because there was nothing left to try but this. I am a big carb craver, so eliminating them out of my lifestyle is not always easy or enjoyable, but after getting into ketosis the motivation to keep the increased energy & fat loss results keeps me going. It just takes more planning & discipline to eat this way than the usual haphazard junk food diet that got me depleted & sick in the first place. Not eating enough protein & good fats is a big no-no. I have done this diet before & it has made me healthier than I ever was in my life. My bodyfat percentage with diligent adherence to the diet & regular exercise dropped from 26% to 17% in 8 months. But after 5 years I got lazy & started eating a lot of sweets & carbs for 3-4 yrs & now I'm back at square one. My bodyfat percentage skyrocketed to 31%. Very unhealthy. Atkins is the only solution that I know works for me, & the best things I love about this diet/lifestyle are the energy it provides & the fact that I never have to feel hungry ever.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    For the Record, Atkins is not a 'poisonous diet'. It's not even a diet! It's a way of life, an alteration of the way you consume food, and the way you think about it, and I perceive it as shameful the way America has fallen into the harmful clutches of ignorant 'specialists' who are destroying our nation. Atkins puts you into a stage called 'ketosis', which is not the building up of 'harmful toxins' in your body it is the RELEASE of them! And to all you fat-phobics out there, it is YOUR 'diet' that has caused America to sacrifice tit¿s citizens, for us all to 'look good'. Sure, you can loose weight by starving yourself, but why do it, when you can eat well and FEEL GOOD?! Why feel weak and deprived, when you can feel full and energetic. I myself lost 40 lbs. on this wonderful way of life. People, I ask you to open your minds to a new path, one to good health, well being, and satisfaction. Forget the low-calorie lies imprinted in your minds, erase all talk of fat declared dangerous, and embrace the food one of the most knowledgeable medical prodigies this century has seen has proven as beneficial to your body. Please give this healthy lifestyle a chance!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2002

    It will work... ONLY IF YOU SERIOUSLY FOLLOW IT!!

    To all those who failed on Atkins, it's hard to believe anyone could fail by eating this way. COUNT CARBS, NOT FAT! Why do you think over 1/2 of America is overweight??!!! All those 'low-fat' items are LOADED WITH SUGAR! Yes, I'll agree the first 2 weeks are a rough, but once you get past it, you'll be fine. Just gradually add 10gms of carbs per day in weekly increments. The reason some people cannot handle this is they are SO DEPENDENT on sugars and starches, going into a state of Ketosis is a shock to the body. Heck, stop smoking or drinking coffee and I'm sure you'll feel just as bad. Anyways, I went from 185#'s to 160#'s in 8 weeks, and subsequently lost another 15#'s. ALL THIS WITHOUT STEPPING INTO THE GYM ONCE! So here I am, almost 3 years later, 40 pounds lighter, 3 waist sizes less, less sluggish, more happy than ever. Not bad for a 32 year old! It's not really a diet; it's a lifestyle. Sure, I'll go off every now and then (like I did at the buffets in Vegas last weekend) but my metabolism is so fine tuned that it didn't effect my weight one bit. There's no excuse for anyone failing this. And if they do, it's probably because they're not following the guidelines and/or using the 'just a little bit wont hurt' mentality towards carb-ridden foods. Just eat eggs, cheese, steaks, chicken, shrimp, salads, etc... And if you need sweets, there are plenty of sites that sell pretty darn good low carb baked goods and candies. Just try to avoid Malitol (a sugar alcohol that some candies have that bloats you big time).

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2004

    Read the ENTIRE book...

    before judging! The inductions phase CAN be high fat, but it doesn't have to be. This plan helped me to lose 62 pounds, give up stress and emotional eating, and get pregnant. Have you ever downed an entire bag of Doritos and still felt hungry? Have you eaten an entire 1/2 gallon of ice cream and gone back for more? I'm not saying that this diet is for everyone -- I just love those people who complain about losing 10 pounds! I'm just saying that my total cholestoral was 224. I weighed 201 pounds at the age of 29. I was only 5'4'' tall, for heaven's sake! I was taking medication for high blood pressure. I was infertile and taking medicine for insulin resistance. After reading the book twice (yes, I was a hard sell), and following the plan for 9 months, I lost 63 pounds and was FINALLY able to get pregnant. I have a beautiful, healthy 22 month old little girl, my cholestoral is down to 162, and I lost all of the baby weight after breast feeding. This plan has literally changed my life. I actually feel full after a meal, and my cravings are gone. I must admit that the first week was tough, but there is so much support out there if you need it. After the first week, things just became a routine. I have now included some research into lower or 'better' fat choices (i.e. Hampton's and South Beach), but we'll just have to see the results in a few months. Good luck in what ever weight management system you choose!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2004

    Low Carb Diets

    HI----I tryed the diet a year ago, my husband and I, got the tapes, read the book, etc, and the weight just melted off my husband but not me. I just got tired and the weight didn't budge!! I was doing the diet wrong, so that was my fault. I don't like water, I love pop, Pepsi. This time, I gave up the Pepsi, for those who drink any with caffiene be prepared for the withdraws...this time I found some bottled water that is flavored that has no caffiene, low sodium, no calories and no carbs. Really drink at least 8-8oz. glasses of water, if not you will be tired and that is where the kidney damage comes in, the keytones need to be flushed out of the kidneys with water, not just fluids!! I started the diet almost 3 full days ago and lost 4 pounds. I am so happy. It really works, if you follow it and as long you make it your diet for life. The maintenence isn't that bad, you can have some carbs and you can have low carbs for all but one day or two days a week that you carb up and then do induction for 48 hours and maintence after that. But if you go completely off it everything you worked so hard to lose, starts to come back and it comes back at least as fast as it took to lose it!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    it really does work.

    i started the atkins program in august and i've lost about 20 lbs so far. the first few weeks are definitely difficult...but *stick with it* because you will definitely see results quickly. once you get used to this new lifestyle, it's easy. i'm sick of all these food places advertising their 'low fat menu' which consists of about 500 grams of carbs in one sitting...i wish everyone had to read this book so they'd understand how to *really* lose weight and be healthy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2004

    ATKIN'S WORKS AND KEEPS ON WORKING!!!

    The Atkins diet has changed my life! I've lost over 20+ pounds so far. I have much more energy, go-gettiveness, and I'm much more happy! A diet that that lets you eat all you love to eat, at reasonable quantities (of course). Also, some people are vehimetly oppossed to this diet, saying it causes high blood preassure, and high cholestorol. NO IT DOESN'T!! I just had my regularly scheduled doctors appointment and my blood preasure and cholestorol are as low as they have ever been in my life. You, also, do not just loose 'water wheight' you shed actuall fat pounds. My one friend (the one that introduced me to Atkins) has lost over 150 pounds. No one has that much water wheight! Do they? I think not. He's also experienced a big change in his life, he is more happy, energy filled, and you name it. I do caution however not to jump right in and cut carbs all together. You have to whene yourself off to a maxium number a day. Once you reach that number don't eat anymore carbs until the next day. In closing, pick up the book! At least read it, it may change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2004

    Approach worked great for me and people I know

    I used the information in this book to lose weight and so have many other people I know. The weight loss is faster than other low calorie diets and also it seems like it is more fat lost first. Great recommendation for a diet book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    It really works.

    My sister and her husband have been on the Atkins diet now for over a week. This is the first time I have known my sister to have any energy in many years. I am fortunate not to have to diet but I have decided to go on it because I seem to have no energy. Before starting any diet you should always consult with your doctor. I highly recommend Dr. Atkins and checking with your doctor first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2004

    Sugar addicts read this!

    This book has convinced me that low carb eating is the way to go. My husband had 50lbs to lose and I only 25, but he dropped 30lbs in only 6 weeks! We feel SO much better, have NO cravings for what used to be our favorite foods and have discovered a new product line of ZERO-CARB-ZERO-SUGAR flavored syrups that really make this program easy. They are called DaVinci Gourmet syrups, and they have over 44 flavors! Check them out at www.davincigourmet.com. I use them in coffee, add them to my low-carb shakes, ice cream recipes, anything that needs a boost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    Really does work

    I went on this diet years ago for a whole year, but the thing is I stuck to the first stage of it that long, almost 0 carbs for a whole year and my nails were so long and hard and my hair grew so beautiful, I went off when I got pregant, just didn't know if I should of stayed on, I am starting the diet again , I also noticed when you are dropping weight , I got so tired, then I knew I was losing again, maybe because I wasn't taking vitiams, I should of , This time I will. If any of you have any questions, I maybe able to help you with them, GOOD LUCK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Life Is Good

    My wife and I started doing Atkins ten weeks ago. She has lost 12 and I ten pounds. But that is not the issure with us. We have new energy, are not hungry anymore, and our body chemisty is near perfect, as our doctors tell us, BMIs of 22, flat stomachs. So, high carbo intake is the cause of this nation's overweight problems, not high-fat. Bravo for Dr. Atkins for bucking the AMA and FDA for all these years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2003

    I tried everything! This works!

    If you have tried diet after diet, been to doctor after doctor, and have given up on ever losing weight or feeling better, BUY THIS BOOK! Step-by-step you are guided through the program, from Induction to Maintenance. I have been on the program since 3/3/2003. For the last 6 years I had been steadily gaining weight even though I had increased my exercising and decreased my caloric intake. I was on two medications to control my blood pressure. When I expressed discontent for not being able to lose weight, one doctor chastised me by saying that I wasn¿t being honest with him regarding my eating habits. Feeling ashamed, I changed doctors, three times. One doctor even prescribed Xenical, which I took for 3 months at a cost of $100 per month. I found a doctor who worked with me. He explained that although I could probably be taken off the blood pressure medicines if I lost weight, the blood pressure medicines were keeping me from losing weight. He recommended the Atkins diet, saying that one patient had lost 40 pounds in two months. At the time, my doctor was a skeptic. But then he was given Dr. Atkins¿ book as a gift, and he read through it. He said that once you understand the biochemistry of it, it makes perfect sense. I have strictly followed this program, but the beauty of it is that it is very easy to do. It has now been 4 months and I have lost almost 30 pounds. I eat out regularly, my favorite food being Italian. I just don¿t order the pasta. If you¿re fortunate enough to have an In N Out Burger near you, you know how delicious those are. I still go there, only I take my own knife and fork and don¿t eat the bun. I have only had cravings a few times, and I noticed it was because I hadn¿t drunk enough water as recommended. I feel healthier, I look better, and my self-esteem has improved. I cook delicious meals (he includes recipes!) and I don¿t count calories. Butter, eggs, beef, salads, sausage, pizza, pancakes with syrup, and more are only a few of the things that I have. My blood pressure is good, and I hope to be off of the medicine completely once I lose the rest of the weight, which is another 40 pounds. I was showing early warning signs of diabetes four months ago, but since I¿ve started this program, my blood glucose has remained stable. Make no mistake about it, this is not just a diet, it is a lifestyle change. But if you¿re willing to make the commitment, it will work for you. Dr. Atkins pioneered this program and invested millions of dollars into independent research. Buy the book, decide for yourself whether or not you can commit to this program, and consult your doctor. It worked for me, and I¿ll bet that it will work for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    This diet works

    I am a living testament that this diet works. I have shed 40 pounds. I also recommend reading Optimal Thinking with it. Optimal Thinking stops me from eating food that is not in my best interests.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2003

    The Critics Should Try It Themselves

    It's amazing to me that people can sit up and say how questionable something is and not even try it themselves first. If they'd try it, they'd see that it does work!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2003

    The key to quick weight loss

    The book that has forever changed the way people diet is back and this new edition is filled with great new recipes. I lost more weight in 2 weeks with his plan then any other diet I attempted, however maintenance can be a bit daunting. If you want to turbocharge your weight loss and maintain it forever, I suggest that you combine this book with another excellent new book called 'The Power of Positive Habits' that will show you how to quickly change your lifestyle for a permanent trim & fit body.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2003

    I've lost 75 pounds in 10 months .. and you can too!

    If you are thinking about doing Atkins like so many others do, make sure you read this book so you can do it the correct way and avoid making tons of mistakes. Also, the scientific theories behind the diet are explained, so you can deal with the critics who think it's 'unhealthy' to eat all that fat. Also, read 'Secret to Low Carb Success!' by Laura Richard for practical tips. This book gives advice and tips on how to avoid the common pitfalls that stump many would-be low carb dieters. Learn how to read nutritional labels, read comparisons on the different versions of low carb diets so you can find one that fits your needs the best, and learn what tweaks you can make if you are a slow loser or are dealing with cravings and much more! If you read these two books and follow everything they say, you will absolutely lose weight, even if you are metabolically resistant as I am. My friend dropped 85 pounds in less than a year. I've known many people who are successful on this diet when no other would work. I personally did low fat for many years and was constantly hungry and kept getting fatter. I was told to eat less calories, and that didn't work either. I couldn't deal with the hunger longer than a few months, and weight loss was nearly non-existent for all my suffering. I even fasted for two months straight, with nothing but water! Then gained all the weight back. So noone can say I have no will power. I found low carb and it was a miracle. My blood pressure went from 130/86 to 117/74 in ten months. My weight dropped by 75 pounds, and my body fat percentage went from 65% to 48%. My goal is to get to 25% body fat. It's easy to stick to once you learn how to be prepared with low carb meals, learn how to order what you want in restaurants (many restaurants are willing to work with you) and learn to avoid the pitfalls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    Most *amazing* of all diet books!!!

    This book is wonderful! I still have to buy my own copy because I have been using my friend's copy and she needs it to diet herself! The book has changed my life and made me feel healthy and in great shape! I've already lost 10 lbs in two weeks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2003

    I've seen the results!

    My mom and brother have been on this diet for about 4 months. They eat very few carbs except for their 'cheat' meals. Both have been overweight for years, espoecially my brother who is mentally handicapped and LIVES for food. Both have lost well over 25 lbs and have andded muscle tone. They follow this book and combine it with weight training from the book <BR>'WEIGHT TRAINING WORKOUTS THAT WORK'.<br> And they always have a low carb protein shake after weight training and for their last meal of the day. Presto - it works awesome and their hunger is satisfied. If these two can lose weight and look great(without being hungary and crabby), it must be a great diet and book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2003

    About to start the program

    I havent started the program yet. I am waiting on my copy of New Diet Revolution, but I am very anxious to start. I am a 20 year old female, and I know alot of people who have had great success on the program. I am weighing in now at 230lbs and my goal is 140lbs. If there is anyone out there who can give me a word of advice or wants to offer encouragement, feel free to email me. It would be greatly appreciated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3