BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dr. Death (Alex Delaware Series #14)

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

You Won't Be Disappointed

After reading last year's 'Monster', I was surprisingly disappointed with my favorite author. However, 'Dr. Death' is the usual page-turner with richly developed characters and suspense to the end. This time around, Alex works more closely with Milo on the case. Their d...
After reading last year's 'Monster', I was surprisingly disappointed with my favorite author. However, 'Dr. Death' is the usual page-turner with richly developed characters and suspense to the end. This time around, Alex works more closely with Milo on the case. Their dialogue and interaction are as enjoyable as trying to figure out the killer's identity. Just wish Robin wasn't so one dimensional - again, she remains in the background with minimal dialogue. My only complaint is I have to wait another year for Alex Delaware's next adventure.

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dr. Death a real disappointment

I was once a die-hard Kellerman fan, and my interest started waning with 'Monster' but I figured I'd give him another chance. In 'Dr. Death', Kellerman's writing style has changed, and not for the better, with corny analogies throughout and none of the comfortable pros...
I was once a die-hard Kellerman fan, and my interest started waning with 'Monster' but I figured I'd give him another chance. In 'Dr. Death', Kellerman's writing style has changed, and not for the better, with corny analogies throughout and none of the comfortable prose that made his earlier books so great. The story itself had potential, but got lost in too many characters which seem to have been drawn in because Kellerman himself lost interest in his own story. I will probably give him one more shot with the next book, and I hope he regains some of what made his earlier stuff worth reading.

posted by Anonymous on November 8, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2001

    Dr. Death a real disappointment

    I was once a die-hard Kellerman fan, and my interest started waning with 'Monster' but I figured I'd give him another chance. In 'Dr. Death', Kellerman's writing style has changed, and not for the better, with corny analogies throughout and none of the comfortable prose that made his earlier books so great. The story itself had potential, but got lost in too many characters which seem to have been drawn in because Kellerman himself lost interest in his own story. I will probably give him one more shot with the next book, and I hope he regains some of what made his earlier stuff worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2000

    You Won't Be Disappointed

    After reading last year's 'Monster', I was surprisingly disappointed with my favorite author. However, 'Dr. Death' is the usual page-turner with richly developed characters and suspense to the end. This time around, Alex works more closely with Milo on the case. Their dialogue and interaction are as enjoyable as trying to figure out the killer's identity. Just wish Robin wasn't so one dimensional - again, she remains in the background with minimal dialogue. My only complaint is I have to wait another year for Alex Delaware's next adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Really good.

    I liked thee part where Alex and Milo were pretending to be Scottish after they had argued.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2003

    could they get any better

    great storyline, with many twists, one of his greatest books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2002

    The Dr. is Out

    The author has a wonderful imagination for crime and punishment, and his characters just seem to come to life. The descriptive personality of this book brings out the pure morbidity of the crime at hand for Dr. Alex Delaware and Det. Milo Sturgis to solve, and in the process they get to know the infamous Dr. Death and his assailant. Walk along with them as they catch the killer of a suicide doctor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2001

    Death takes a bow!

    Dr. Eldon Mate, also known as 'Dr. Death', is not a very popular guy. With his 'humanitron', he assists those who wish to die achieve their goals in a 'humane and dignified manner'...even if sometimes he leaves the bodies in cheap hotel rooms for someone else to deal with. Most would consider it a very good day when Mate's body is found brutally butchered inside his own van, hooked up to the 'humanitron'. It is far too obvious to Detective Milo Sturgis and his long-time confidant, Dr. Alex Delaware, that Mate didn't die in the most humane way. Nor did he 'off himself' with his own machine. Their ensuing investigation leads them down many paths...chasing numerous suspects and trying to figure out just as many motives. As a long-time fan of Kellerman's 'Alex Delaware' series, this reader has analyzed the reasons 'Dr. Death', and Kellerman's previous novel, 'Monster', don't live up to Kellerman's obvious potential. Kellerman's earlier books were written about his particular field of expertise...child psychology. In those previous works, his passion shone through with precision and excitement, inherent in his deft portrayal of his characters and his plotlines. He gave Delaware a personal interest in the outcome of his patient's lives, and he took an active interest in the goings-on of the victims. In more recent novels, Kellerman has drifted away from his 'comfort zone' and into areas already deluged with mediocre stories...most of them better plotted, and passionate, at least. While 'Dr. Death' has its moments, with some well-spoken phrases and vivid scenes, his stories seem to lack any real emotion or depth. It's hard to justify his character's involvement in the crime investigations...even though Kellerman displays Delaware as a type of 'consultant' to the case. Delaware has no real reason for being there nor following through on his own hunches, etc. Where once passion was Kellerman's motivation, he's now just some guy sitting at his computer typing up stories. The message in 'Dr. Death' may be socially relevant to our times, but tends to become a bit preachy in spots. The child characters seem mere cardboard cut-outs, gratuitous and out of place. Kellerman disappoints with this latest story. It barely held my interest long enough to find out whodunit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2001

    One word says it all---WOW!!!!!!

    The one thing I hated about this book, was putting it down!!!! It had all the classic trademark 'Kellerman twists', that Monster was sorely lacking. I loved it!!!! This leaves me aching for another Alex Delaware adventure!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2001

    A MUST

    I never wanted was putting it down!!!! A super read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2000

    AN EMOTIONALLY INTENSE READING

    Tony Award-winner John Rubinstein has read the audio book versions of each of Jonathan Kellerman's Alex Delaware novels. 'Performed' might be a more appropriate word than 'read' as his deliveries are riveting. (Need we say that Kellerman, a master of the psychological thriller, writes can't-put-down tales?) There's a diabolical twist in this story as the man some have described as a killer is killed - Dr. Eldon Mate, a proponent of euthanasia, is murdered in the back of his own vehicle, attached to the mechanism he has used to assist others in ending their lives. Of course, the LAPD seeks assistance from Dr. Alex Delaware who has a few qualms of his own regarding the case. Rife with menacing characters and psychological detail, 'Dr. Death' is Kellerman at the peak of his authorial prowess. In the case of the audiobook Rubinstein's emotionally intense voice is frosting on this devil's food cake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2000

    Another good one!!

    A great reading experience awaits you with this one. Action keeps you going, surprises abound and content has depth. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and put it with my other Kellerman books. Haven't been disappointed yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2000

    Don't Wait For the Paperback

    I was a little hesitant to read this book after Monster which was such a disappointment. However, in Dr. Death, Alex Delaware is back at his finest. I got this book as a Xmas present and couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2