Customer Reviews for

Dr. Franklin's Island

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wowsa!

We had to read this book for our reading class and at first i was like 'ugggh! Sci fi!'. But i knew i HAD to read it because all the projects that we had to do throughout the unit was 70% of our semester grade. I read it and i loved it even when i was only on Chapter 3....
We had to read this book for our reading class and at first i was like 'ugggh! Sci fi!'. But i knew i HAD to read it because all the projects that we had to do throughout the unit was 70% of our semester grade. I read it and i loved it even when i was only on Chapter 3. I definetley recommend this book. Trust me its worth every penny.

posted by Anonymous on March 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I would recommend it only if you like scary books.

Well this book is scary. If you like scary stuff I recommend you reading it. If you don't you shouldn't read it.

posted by 2012rocks on February 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Wowsa!

    We had to read this book for our reading class and at first i was like 'ugggh! Sci fi!'. But i knew i HAD to read it because all the projects that we had to do throughout the unit was 70% of our semester grade. I read it and i loved it even when i was only on Chapter 3. I definetley recommend this book. Trust me its worth every penny.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Locke

    I thought this book was amazing. This is the second time reading it (first time being in fourth grade) yet its still amazing. Definetly worth the money

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Science Fiction Novel

    Dr. Franklin's Island is an amazing science fiction novel. It is about a plane full of British teenagers who are on their way to a conservation station in Ecuador, when the plane crashes. It lands on an island in the middle of nowhere. The three sole survivors, Semi, Meranda and Arnie are left on this strange island to fend for themselves. They thought they were alone, but there was actually a whole civilization on the other side of the island, led by Dr. Franklin, a mad scientist. Dr. Franklin had been waiting for them, so he could use the teenagers as specimens for his experiments in genetic engineering. This book was very descriptive and detailed. It was also very thrilling, and after every chapter, I wanted to read more. It kept me interested, too, and I never got bored of it. I love how the author, Ann Halam, had you connect with some of the characters. But I wished she developed the character Arnie into a more likeable character. Some of her long, formal words were a little hard to understand, so some language wasn't very realistic. The writing style of the author is very descriptive, and she uses a lot of short sentences. Even though her writing has many formal words, it is very casual. Halam's characters speak in slang in this book because most of them are modern teenagers. The language they use isn't very realistic and believable, but the author's writing is very clear, and the point of the book is easily understood. This book is told in first person, which is what I really liked. I reccommend this book because it is funny, and a great book for science fiction lovers. It also hooks you in so you'll want to read more.
    Other books by Ann Halam are "Snakehead", "Taylor Five", "Siberia" and "Daymaker". As you can see, I enjoyed "Dr. Franklin's Island" very much and I highly reccommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    I would recommend it only if you like scary books.

    Well this book is scary. If you like scary stuff I recommend you reading it. If you don't you shouldn't read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Amazing!!!

    Definitly recommend this book to everyone!!! Im read it three times and its still awesome!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Could not put it down!!!!!

    Best book ever! Ful of great sci-fi wlements and a cliffhanger at eveey scene. Could not pur it sown. Action packed, just great. I really hope there is a seqqual soon. BUY IT!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    'Even good islands have bad secrets.'

    Being alone isn¿t always scary, it is knowing that you¿re not that can be. What do you do when you find that you¿re not alone on an island in the middle of nowhere? This is what happened to the three survivors of a plane that crashed on route to Ecuador. Semirah, Miranda, and Arnie are striving to survive on a strange ¿deserted¿ island, but Arnie is determined to get off the island. He builds a raft and winds up going missing. While searching for him, Semirah and Miranda stumble upon a secret part of the island that has a town. The girls aren¿t too sure of what to do, and they get captured. Later, they find that a mad scientist, Dr. Franklin, owns the island, and is performing evil experiments on animals. Through transgenetics he can apply animal traits to humans. Dr. Franklin¿s prisoners, Semirah and Miranda, both turn into animals. After being able to cope with their new bodies, they realize Arnie is still on the island. Can Arnie save the girls? Will they become human again and return to civilization? This book was phenomenal. Ann Halam, author, has an exquisite writing expertise that makes you keep on reading. I love how she adds details in describing every event, especially when Semirah and Miranda become animals and are learning to use their new abilities. Halam also has an interesting way of comparing things. Throughout the book, Semirah and Miranda would compare their new abilities to everyday things. This did make it a bit confusing at times, but besides that the book was great. If you like mysterious, scientific, or supernatural books then you should read Dr. Franklin¿s Island. Dr. Franklin¿s Island reminded me of the television show: LOST. Both are about a group of people that survive a plane crash and are stuck on a ¿not so deserted¿ island. They then find the evil behind the island and various secret places. If you have ever seen LOST, and enjoyed it, then Dr. Franklin¿s Island is defiantly the right book for you!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    ?

    Creeped me out

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Good in a mesed up kind of way

    I found this book in a book bundle at the library......it was really jacked up. I would not recommend for anyone under the age of 12. The beginning and parts in the middle are slightly disterbing but the reat of the book is really interesting. Just think about what the world would be like with manta ray hotels!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Really good read

    Absolutely loved this book. I decided to read it because I love reading animal books, and this definately feeds into your imagination. Highly recommend this book for a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Danielle

    This was a book that was very well thought out, i couldnt put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Anonymous

    Amazing and intriguing book!!! I couldnt put it down and read it twice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Wow!

    This book is intense and extremely sci-fi. It could be considered a tad bit scary at some points but I would recommend this to anyone who loves sci-fi, especially in the subject of genetic engineering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Amazing, wonderful, faboo

    The title tells all. In my class we have to read 45 minutes each night so i found this book thinking it was not going to be good. As i read on it got better and better i just couldnt put it down...... i finished it in 3 days. I seriously recommend this book, it is my favorite of all time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Its awesome!!!!!

    I love it! Super awesome!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Dr. Franklins' Island

    One of the best books I've ever read. If you like sci-fi books, you will love this book! I've read it 3 times. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    AWESOME!!!

    Great action and very descriptive. A little gross at some parts but defently worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Should i buy it?

    It sounds good but is it worth the money??......... help me00

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Sci-Fi and Suspense

    Just like others, this book kept me wondering what is going to happen next in the book. The twist of animal transitioning from animal and human enhanced my entertainment if this book. I akso liked how this book was not predictable and how Miranda and Semi disvovered more and more things about Dr.Franklin's Island. The plot was amazing and this book was well-written. You will miss on a hreat oppurtunity if you don't read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    dr franklins island

    I love it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4