Customer Reviews for

Dr. Franklin's Island

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wowsa!

We had to read this book for our reading class and at first i was like 'ugggh! Sci fi!'. But i knew i HAD to read it because all the projects that we had to do throughout the unit was 70% of our semester grade. I read it and i loved it even when i was only on Chapter 3....
We had to read this book for our reading class and at first i was like 'ugggh! Sci fi!'. But i knew i HAD to read it because all the projects that we had to do throughout the unit was 70% of our semester grade. I read it and i loved it even when i was only on Chapter 3. I definetley recommend this book. Trust me its worth every penny.

posted by Anonymous on March 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I would recommend it only if you like scary books.

Well this book is scary. If you like scary stuff I recommend you reading it. If you don't you shouldn't read it.

posted by 2012rocks on February 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Wowsa!

    We had to read this book for our reading class and at first i was like 'ugggh! Sci fi!'. But i knew i HAD to read it because all the projects that we had to do throughout the unit was 70% of our semester grade. I read it and i loved it even when i was only on Chapter 3. I definetley recommend this book. Trust me its worth every penny.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Locke

    I thought this book was amazing. This is the second time reading it (first time being in fourth grade) yet its still amazing. Definetly worth the money

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Amazing!!!

    Definitly recommend this book to everyone!!! Im read it three times and its still awesome!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Could not put it down!!!!!

    Best book ever! Ful of great sci-fi wlements and a cliffhanger at eveey scene. Could not pur it sown. Action packed, just great. I really hope there is a seqqual soon. BUY IT!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Anonymous

    Amazing and intriguing book!!! I couldnt put it down and read it twice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Wow!

    This book is intense and extremely sci-fi. It could be considered a tad bit scary at some points but I would recommend this to anyone who loves sci-fi, especially in the subject of genetic engineering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Amazing, wonderful, faboo

    The title tells all. In my class we have to read 45 minutes each night so i found this book thinking it was not going to be good. As i read on it got better and better i just couldnt put it down...... i finished it in 3 days. I seriously recommend this book, it is my favorite of all time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Its awesome!!!!!

    I love it! Super awesome!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Dr. Franklins' Island

    One of the best books I've ever read. If you like sci-fi books, you will love this book! I've read it 3 times. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    AWESOME!!!

    Great action and very descriptive. A little gross at some parts but defently worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Should i buy it?

    It sounds good but is it worth the money??......... help me00

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Sci-Fi and Suspense

    Just like others, this book kept me wondering what is going to happen next in the book. The twist of animal transitioning from animal and human enhanced my entertainment if this book. I akso liked how this book was not predictable and how Miranda and Semi disvovered more and more things about Dr.Franklin's Island. The plot was amazing and this book was well-written. You will miss on a hreat oppurtunity if you don't read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Great!!! But kinda weird

    This book just kept me on edge and made me think about everyones future...what if people actually start to do that??? Gobble gobble

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    One of the best books of all time

    Dr. Franklin's Island is an incredible story filled with well developed, believable characters that seem like they could walk right out of the book, themes that give the book meaning on many different levels, and pieces of action, suspense, and mystery that make the book sparkle. The well polished storyline hooks readers, and the narration gives a fascinating and well-understood yet uniquely differnt point of veiw on the events. The charactors have a mental strength that makes them shine from within and helps them come through their ordeal in the book, but they are also realistically vulnerable and it is this that makes this book appeal to both teens today.The author puts in a few very modern issues, like the plane hijack and genetic experimenting, that make Dr. Franklin's Island more than just a good fiction book. Dr. Franklin's Island is the kind of book that stands in a catagory of it's own and can be read again and again. If you are looking for something that is unique, special, and totally different than anything else on a bookshelf, Dr. Franklin's Island is the right book. This book is incredible, irresistable, and totally worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2008

    Loved this book!!!

    it took me a while to read this book but i finished it i couldnt put it down they try to exscape but will they succeed? read the book!!! its full of surprises and is almost based on trust...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    great book!!!

    This book starts off a little slow, but gets a lot better as you go on. I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2007

    My Favorite Book Ever!

    I read this book in fourth grade and it is by far my favorite.It is very unique and well thought out. Here Ann Halam brings to life a very worn genre with flying colors. It has some content which may be disturbing to certain people, so I would recommend it to anyone ten or older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2005

    I really liked this book...

    I finished it in a day I thought it was really exciting! I loved the details of how the character felt being another creature, and how all the clues came together in the end. The villian's death is bland but does have a symbolic meaning, and the coda really finished things off nicely. I'd recommend it to anyone. This kind of genre really isn't my style but I still loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2005

    WOW!

    This book was probably the best book that I have ever read!!!!!!! And even though this is my third time reading it, it still feels like the first time, I just really want to know when the sequel will be written?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    great

    this book is really great,i hate to read but i had to do this book as a report and i loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3