Customer Reviews for

Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

Average Rating 3.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Very Intriguing Plot, Good Read

I picked up this book because it was short and seemed like a simple enough read. Also, I had never heard anything of this book except for the title, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde so I decided to give it a try. As I read the first page, the first thing I noticed was the in de...
I picked up this book because it was short and seemed like a simple enough read. Also, I had never heard anything of this book except for the title, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde so I decided to give it a try. As I read the first page, the first thing I noticed was the in depth description of the main character was amazing. The way that Robert Louis Stevenson gets the message of his writing across is incredible. The word choice and grammar that he uses prints a perfect image in your head. Because you can picture this story so well, I definitely helps grab the reader's attention.
One flawless attribute of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde is the plot of the story that doesn't actually come into full focus until the end of the story. One of the main things that is so great about this classic is the mystery and complicatedness of the many events that happen throughout the story that all contribute to the horror at the end. I very much enjoyed reading the end of the book when a certain something was revealed and it honestly caught me off guard. Overall, the idea of the storyline is very intriguing.
Another attribute of this story was the characters. Although Mr. Stevenson only includes characters that have pretty vital roles in the story, he describes them and their actions so well its fun to picture each and every individual in a very detailed way. I think that the many characteristics that he gives each character helps him or her perform their role in the story better such as Mr. Hyde appearance leads you to believe that he is a evil, wicked man.
To be honest, the book actually was a little slow at times and I felt my mind wandering occasionally. Especially at the beginning, this book almost has so much detail that that it seemed not needed. Compared to what I am used to reading, this book was different but still interesting. Just the thought of someone splitting the soul into good and evil and evolving into a human was quite the idea for a book that was written in the 60's. I think that one of the says that Mr. Stevenson keeps the readers intrigued and the suspense high is by switching from viewpoint to viewpoint. Another way is that he waits to resolve all the conflicts of the story until the very end. This value makes the story fun to read.
I think that I would recommend this book to someone who is looking for a short, semi-straightforward, book that is pretty full of suspenseful action (at least after the beginning). Even though the language is tough at times, I think that any age would enjoy a short story of a scientist that drinks a potion and turns into a murderous mad man (simplified of course). All in all, I think that the book is wonderfully written and really deserves to be a classic.

posted by 5055820 on January 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I read because I had to

This book was well written, interesting and unlike anything id ever read before so it made it worth it. However, it was sometimes hard for me to follow. Its a better read for older people, maybe 11th grade and up.

posted by Anonymous on June 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    Very Intriguing Plot, Good Read

    I picked up this book because it was short and seemed like a simple enough read. Also, I had never heard anything of this book except for the title, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde so I decided to give it a try. As I read the first page, the first thing I noticed was the in depth description of the main character was amazing. The way that Robert Louis Stevenson gets the message of his writing across is incredible. The word choice and grammar that he uses prints a perfect image in your head. Because you can picture this story so well, I definitely helps grab the reader's attention.
    One flawless attribute of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde is the plot of the story that doesn't actually come into full focus until the end of the story. One of the main things that is so great about this classic is the mystery and complicatedness of the many events that happen throughout the story that all contribute to the horror at the end. I very much enjoyed reading the end of the book when a certain something was revealed and it honestly caught me off guard. Overall, the idea of the storyline is very intriguing.
    Another attribute of this story was the characters. Although Mr. Stevenson only includes characters that have pretty vital roles in the story, he describes them and their actions so well its fun to picture each and every individual in a very detailed way. I think that the many characteristics that he gives each character helps him or her perform their role in the story better such as Mr. Hyde appearance leads you to believe that he is a evil, wicked man.
    To be honest, the book actually was a little slow at times and I felt my mind wandering occasionally. Especially at the beginning, this book almost has so much detail that that it seemed not needed. Compared to what I am used to reading, this book was different but still interesting. Just the thought of someone splitting the soul into good and evil and evolving into a human was quite the idea for a book that was written in the 60's. I think that one of the says that Mr. Stevenson keeps the readers intrigued and the suspense high is by switching from viewpoint to viewpoint. Another way is that he waits to resolve all the conflicts of the story until the very end. This value makes the story fun to read.
    I think that I would recommend this book to someone who is looking for a short, semi-straightforward, book that is pretty full of suspenseful action (at least after the beginning). Even though the language is tough at times, I think that any age would enjoy a short story of a scientist that drinks a potion and turns into a murderous mad man (simplified of course). All in all, I think that the book is wonderfully written and really deserves to be a classic.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    I read because I had to

    This book was well written, interesting and unlike anything id ever read before so it made it worth it. However, it was sometimes hard for me to follow. Its a better read for older people, maybe 11th grade and up.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    Classic

    Had to get this book for my son. It was part of an assignment he had for his High School English class. Very good book with twists and turns. A real classic for those who enjoy reading. Not everyone may enjoy the story due to when the time is set. Still for those who love reading and going to a different place and time, you will enjoy the read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Really!?

    Some of the post I read on here look like a 5th greader wrote them!If you are going to post something online make it look nice and not like you are texting a frend!

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    well written and somewhat intertaining

    I enjoyed the book and it was an easy, short, comfortable read. I'm not sure if RLS had any special intent when he wrote it, like illustrating that all of us have a very bad side but it was well done. What amused me about this book and countless others is the way medicine is represented as constantly making new and spectacular discovers (like Dr. Jekyll coming up with a formula that actually split his personality into it's good and bad sides). I'm 63 soon to be 64 and my experience of the progress of medicine is that it's extremely limited and extremely slow. I was recently tested for allergies and I was also tested for allergies when I was 9 (for those not so good at math that's 54 years ago) and they are still using the same methods. The War on cancer started over 50 years ago and to quote a physician acquaintance of mine "the cure rate is pathetic". Had asthma as a kid and know some children that have it now and the treatment methods are basically the same! In The book of Alcoholics Anonymous written in 1939 it makes the statement that "maybe one day medicine will make a normal drinker out of an alcoholic". That was written 73 years ago and thousands of people are still dying from alcoholism every year; no magic pill yet! A more cynical person might say there is a whole lot more money in treatment than in a cure. Anyway the book is good so read it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Yep

    Love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Worst book ever . I love it . I recomend this book to everyone

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Mordred

    "Id love to stay and chat but i gotta go." He vanishes.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    This is a lie! Not really the novel!Don't download!

    Not really the novel

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    ....

    I have to read this book for a class next year (seventh grade) and I tjought I could get this version because it was free bur when I got to the first page there were soooo.many grammatical misstakes and publishing errors I could not get throught tje first chapter.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Okay

    I just started this book, and, trust me, there have been some times I wanted to DIE 'cause it was so boring. (This book is required, BTW.) But, once you get through death, you go to heaven. It actually turned out to be a really thought-out, suspenseful short story. Like I said, though, I just started it, so I have no idea what's in store.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Good

    Really cool book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    This version only has the first few sentences of each chapter

    Grrr

    1 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Don' buy this version.

    The word spacing is not justified. Impossible to read. Anybody know how I can get my money back?

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Seth

    Waits around nervously

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Got something weird when i got a sample

    So weird

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Fine

    I like this version but i wish i could find the really long version. I feel this is not as cool as the play i was in about jekll and hyde. I was the the lead. Mwhahahaha. Evil face.;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Hji

    Sucks

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    T

    T

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER

    This book is so amazing and the concept is so timeless, I recommend to all!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7