Customer Reviews for

Dr. Mary's Monkey: How the Unsolved Murder of a Doctor, a Secret Laboratory in New Orleans and Cancer-Causing Monkey Vi

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I just started reading your fascinating book. I have known about cancer and the monkey virus for many years, so your book adds a lot of insight. So far I've only read about a fifth of it but I am fascinated. After reading many articles about how pretty well all pituitary tumors and bone cancers have the monkey virus in them, and knowing that 1 out of 5 people has a pituitary tumor, it is indeed interesting. I myself have an pituitary tumor (adenoma - not microadenoma) that continues to grow over a mm each year and affects my health enormously, but since my body doesn't react well to bromocriptine 'a drug with some LSD-type compounds in it', I can't do anything about it. It will just continue to grow and grow until I either become blind, 'extremely' ill, or they finally decide to take it out. They tell me it's so dangerous to remove it's just best to let it grow until -- until what? I die or the night headaches become totally totally unbearable? So many people have pituitary tumors! The really sad part is that most women don't realize that tumors that secrete prolactin (most of them) are especially dangerous to women with breast cancer. Dr. Clevenger has won big awards for his work at the University of Pennsylvania for proving that these tumors cause cancer to become 'organized' and 'head directly toward the lymph nodes.' You would therefore think that doctors would test women for prolactin, especially if they had breast cancer, right? Nope! Doctors never test for prolactin unless people ask for it. Isn't it odd that since one out of five people have such tumors, they wouldn't test everyone for this? Would you believe prolactin tests aren't even on a standard lab form? Doctors have to 'write' them in, separately. After reading your book just so far, I do have to ask if the reason these tests aren't put on papers is because maybe they just don't want the public to become too aware of it. Or worse yet, maybe it's not just one out of 5 who has such tumors. It could be that if they actually tested EVERYONE, they might have to admit that more like 1 out of 2 might have them, or perhaps 100% of the population! No wonder breast cancer rates are rising so fast! I'm going to rate this book tops already.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    Great Book ! Scarry to think about.

    Being originally from south Louisiana, I know the names and places discussed in the book. If the facts are true, as they seem to be, it makes one wonder what we've done to ourselves and future generations.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If the TRUTH is important to you

    Dr. Mary's Monkey is a book that should capture your attention if, in fact, you care about this nation, the truth and the government-designed mystery surrounding the deaths of JFK, Lee Harvey Oswald, and US Navy LCDR William Bruce Pitzer. I know many of those who are talked about in this book. I know the covert action system that uses compartmentalization, subterfuge and undocumented actions to silence those who would bring the truth to bear on tragic, illegal activities of our government that uses the Mafia, US Army Special Forces and CIA to accomplish what would otherwise be legally impossible. I was one of those trained to kill and terrorize.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    Incredible Revelations, Painstakingly Researched

    If you or your parents ever received a polio vaccination in the 1950s, you'll definitely want to read this book. Has anyone you cared about ever died of AIDS? Don't be fooled by the flippant tone of the title: this is one meticulously researched book. It is replete with absolutely breathtaking revelations. Too bad they NEVER give Pulitzers in this genre. Another important thing you quickly realize after reading this book is how incredibly shallow the Warren Commission report really was. If Lee Harvey Oswald associated on an almost daily basis with David Ferrie and Guy Bannister while on assignment in New Orleans early in 1963, why was this not uncovered at the time of the hearings and put into the public record? An average Crescent City private eye could have made this determination in less than a week for the inexpensive payment of $100 a day and expenses. Luckily, Jim Garrison found the connection after the commission disbanded, though he may not have ever truly known the full implications of the nefarious liaisons of the future patsy. Unluckily,for his diligent pursuit of justice, the government stonewalled and harassed him 'now we know why' and ultimately sent the IRS after him 'a common ploy of that era, directed at the enemies of those in power'. If the Warren commissioners could have avoided perjured testimony, interviews with these people would have been most enlightening. When looking into LHO's background, should these rather strange, but verifiable, details of the New Orleans station not have been disclosed, just as the defection to Russia was. Bear in mind, these were not random brief encounters by the project's key personnel. Lee Harvey Oswald apparently knew these local CIA people quite well and worked together with them 'and others in the project' for many months. He was seen in their company by many people, any number of whom are still living today. One special lab assistant on the medical research team, a brilliant and attractive young woman, has stepped forward finally 'most courageously so', no longer afraid for her life. Incredibly, without ever wishing to, she played a very important role in shaping our national destiny. And she is still alive, willing to set the record straight, now that her children are grown. Dr. Mary, her boss, unfortunately turned up dead. The clandestine government project to which LHO was attached required time to set up, considerable biological expertise, a specialized team of just the right research people, a large cover facility with a super-electrical system and mega-budget government funding. When you read further and learn why they needed this secret facility, you will then know why cancer has plagued this nation as an epidemic since the early 1950s. You will learn why the entire medical community 'ie those willing to admit it' knows that cancer was a relatively infrequent disease prior to 1950. Since that time, certain forms originating in New Orleans have killed far too many millions of Americans and spread like a plague throughout the world. Playing with the biological fire that grew on research monkey kidneys, Pandora's box was opened by people who were incredibly irresponsible. Destroying the nuclei of germs and viruses at the atomic level is now known to be incredibly dangerous. Can it be true that so many, many millions have died horrible and premature deaths as a result. Do look at the year-by-year graphs. Compare the data for the census years 1900 through 2000 and you will quickly see what has been swept under the government's rather worn and detritus-filled carpet. You will see a spike in the graph that was, until now, inexplicable. Man has abused Nature yet again. But there were some who knew about it all, high-ranking public officials, including Vice President Richard Nixon. Yes, even he is a player in this sordid expose. When doctors leave a pair of scissors in a patient and sew him up, they get sued for malpractice. What happens when the government sanctions mass

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    Conspiracy Theory?

    I was browsing through Barnes & Noble to see what was new when I came upon "Dr.Mary's Monkey". I saw this book and said NO WAY this story can be true. I enjoy history that involves New Orleans, so I said why not see what conspiracy theory they can come up with now. To my surprise and delight I was engrossed in the story. Being familiar with the people and places that are involved, helped me follow the story. I would not have believed anything if it had not been backed up by sooo may facts. The references are the most important part of the story. I was amble to research any statement that was too hard to believe. In my opinion, any one who has a interest in the facts behind the JFK assassination, the cancer origins and unknow facts about New Orleans, would truly enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book, without a doubt, was one of the best researched, well written, page turning books that I have ever read ... impactful, eye opening, thought provoking, history challenging ride. I have no doubt in my mind that everything that is stated holds a tremendous amount of truth. I have great respect for the author for risking so much to get this story out to the public. What a wake up call that we all need. I am of the generation of children who received the polio vaccine and I did suffer an adverse affect in the form of Guillain-Barre Syndrome and placed in a hospital w/polio victims in the early 50's. Luckily, I survived. Kudos to you, Edward T. Haslam, for writing one of the most informative books on the subject of vaccines and (accidently if so) the Kennedy assination. Truly facinating. You are an unsung hero.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Food for thought!

    If you like to hear theories and plausible explanations for major events that have happened over the last 50 years, read this book! Was recommended by two other friends, and I finished it in 1.5 days!! Could not put it down- the theories put forth bt Mr Haslam make a lot of sense to any one with an open mind. One has to at least accept the premise of a major cover-up among the very groups that we think are here for our protection!! Provocative and incredibly well- researched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    I would love to discuss this book with others. It's fascinating,

    I would love to discuss this book with others. It's fascinating, gripping and logical. Yes, the layout on the nook leaves something to be desired, but does not detract from the import of the facts of this lifelong pursuit of information by the author. There is a connect the dots going on that is leading me to more and further study. Highly recommeneded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    As a student of JFK assination, growing up on the Northshore of Lake Pontchartrain and New Orleans, and having been vaccinated in the early 60's, this was a natural book for me to be drawn too. The author did an awesome job of telling the collective stories of all the players and events. One major question though: Why is no one paying attention to this?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Every American Should Read

    This book is a must read for any American who believes one of government's primary tasks is protecting its citizens. The U.S. government authorized the polio vaccine for all children back in the 50s-60s, but til this day has not publicly acknowledged that the vaccine contained an unintended MONKEY VIRUS that is suspected in causing higher than normal cancers today. Did they also cause AIDS? How ironic that people involved in this also popped up in investigations of the Kennedy Assassination, i.e., David Ferry??

    This is not your typical conspiracy book. Don't be a doubter, the book is well documented. Read it for an eye opening lesson in corruption and lies. Our government will tell us anything that serves its purposes at any given time in spite of facts available to all. WOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1