BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dr. Neal Barnard's Program for Reversing Diabetes: The Scientifically Proven System for Reversing Diabetes Without Drugs

Average Rating 3.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

If you are having problems with blood sugar, blood pressure, cholesterol or triglycerides, this book is a MUST for you!

This is a fairly easy read and the key points are repeated throughout the book so that by the end, you have the basic tools for changing the way you eat and changing your life! I lost 10 pounds in four months with 4 inches off my waist. My BP, glucose, cholesterol and...
This is a fairly easy read and the key points are repeated throughout the book so that by the end, you have the basic tools for changing the way you eat and changing your life! I lost 10 pounds in four months with 4 inches off my waist. My BP, glucose, cholesterol and triglycerides have also improved. Dr. Barnard asks you only to give him 3 weeks on this plan but believe it or not, by the end of that 3 week period, you feel so much better and are so empowered to keep going that the weight loss is just a wonderful side effect! The thing I love about this new way of life (and it really is not so hard) is that you don't count calories or limit portions! It is a MUST READ if you have any of the above health concerns.

posted by LisanCumming on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Wrong and dangerous information to diabetics

As a diabetic, I need to control my sugar. I' ve read done a good job so far. I've and read many books, Atkins, South Beach, ZONE, Bob Greene, Perfect 10 Diet. A physician who advocates fat-free salad dressing with added sugar to diabetics does not know anything about M...
As a diabetic, I need to control my sugar. I' ve read done a good job so far. I've and read many books, Atkins, South Beach, ZONE, Bob Greene, Perfect 10 Diet. A physician who advocates fat-free salad dressing with added sugar to diabetics does not know anything about Medicine.I found the book to be wrong in many areas. For example, he advises to stay away from animal fat. l just read a recent and a very large study that found no link between saturated fat and heart disease. It was all over the internet. Yes, the book is good if you live in the 1980s and had no clue what fat-free products do to you. I' m sticking to what I did before, natural food.

posted by corylosangeles on March 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    If you are having problems with blood sugar, blood pressure, cholesterol or triglycerides, this book is a MUST for you!

    This is a fairly easy read and the key points are repeated throughout the book so that by the end, you have the basic tools for changing the way you eat and changing your life! I lost 10 pounds in four months with 4 inches off my waist. My BP, glucose, cholesterol and triglycerides have also improved. Dr. Barnard asks you only to give him 3 weeks on this plan but believe it or not, by the end of that 3 week period, you feel so much better and are so empowered to keep going that the weight loss is just a wonderful side effect! The thing I love about this new way of life (and it really is not so hard) is that you don't count calories or limit portions! It is a MUST READ if you have any of the above health concerns.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    Wrong and dangerous information to diabetics

    As a diabetic, I need to control my sugar. I' ve read done a good job so far. I've and read many books, Atkins, South Beach, ZONE, Bob Greene, Perfect 10 Diet. A physician who advocates fat-free salad dressing with added sugar to diabetics does not know anything about Medicine.I found the book to be wrong in many areas. For example, he advises to stay away from animal fat. l just read a recent and a very large study that found no link between saturated fat and heart disease. It was all over the internet. Yes, the book is good if you live in the 1980s and had no clue what fat-free products do to you. I' m sticking to what I did before, natural food.

    9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Not what I expected. Exotic menus are not for me.

    While this book appeared to have a lot of great information, I was looking for some solid meal ideas that I could put into practice. While this book did have some menu planning in it, many of the foods used were products I'd never heard of and would never be able to find in the grocery store. I'm not going to run to a specialty store to purchase these not-so-simple ingredients. I returned the book.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    It works

    Dr. Barnard does a great job of providing scientific information and practical meal planning to achieve a goal of reversing diabetes. The diet is vegan and may not be for some, however if you follow it for some time you may not go back to meats. Its not hard finding ingredients, however the point is to cut fat dramatically, its possible to make wise choices even if ingredients can't be found. Add some exercise and bingo results. I lost weight rapidly and got my blood sugar under control.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Dr. Neal Barnard's Program for Reversing Diabetes is a very good book which teaches people how to become vegetarians and apply a vegan diet so that they can reverse diabetes.

    The book tells us how animal proteins which are found in all meats, poultry and fish, including eggs and dairy products such as milk, cheese and yogurt can cause further damage to the human body. Dr. Barnard tells us that we can live on the proteins that are produced by plants and vegetables such as broccoli, squash, beans of all types, legumes like lentils and some carbohydrates like brown rice. There are many substitutes one can use instead of milk, for instance. Almond milk is my favorite and I use it to create smoothies, for baking, drinking and for use in cereal with fruit.

    Dr. Barnard's book shows you how to become a vegan and what benefits it will provide you with by becoming a vegetarian.

    I highly recommend this book.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    FINALLY A BOOK THAT MAKES SENSE

    I purchased this book after my wife of 32 years who I have known since the 4th grade was diagnosed with Diabetes. Her blood was over 300. Her Kaiser Medical Nutrition staff recomended this book. I had no time to waste and made the suggested adjustments to my wifes diet and life style. as written in the book. Her blood readings are now between 80 and 130 and took approx. 3 months. She is down two sizes. I went along with the same diet and life style change to support her and have lost 29 pounds and never ate so well!

    READ THIS BOOK! From my experience helping a diabetic eat and live better be aware they are hooked on bad food like a drug junkie and will attempt to manipulate you, friends and family to give them the wrong food. Dont give in!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    waste of money

    In the guise of diabetes control, he has simply preached a vegan diet in a more attractive way. There is nothing new in this bood. A total waste of money--if not bordering on a false title.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    It Works

    I bought this for my pops who has type 1 diabetes and has been following the diet for three weeks now, and has seen positive results. Blood sugar has gone down as well as his weight and is using less insulin.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    Could change your life and your diet

    I bought this book to begin to change my life, my health and my way of living, not only for myself, but for animals, too. I think it is very well written and organized, and pretty easy for someone who is not an expert in the medical field to understand. I found Dr. Barnard's examples of actual people inspiring and motivating, and I also find his writing to be intelligent, but not over my head. I think the book does a great job of explaining certain terms that are tossed around a lot, but that people may or may not know what they actually mean. All in all, I think this is a great book for anyone who is or may be at risk of becoming diabetic.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    I bought it as a gift for my friend who has diabetes for 20 years.

    I bought it as a gift for my friend who has diabetes for 20 years.
    He was so happy to receive this gift.
    He is reading it and trying it out now.
    Hopefully, in a few months, he will become one of those successful stories.
    May everyone be free from all diseases/sufferings.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    Elimate diabetes

    I have not read the book. But I wanted to know if it would be helpful for type 1 diabetics.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    FOR ANY ONE WHO HAS DIABETES . . .

    This can change someone's life - a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    I have diabetes for about 7 years now and I have nothing bad to

    I have diabetes for about 7 years now and I have nothing bad to say about the book because personally I have not read it. I was hoping to until I read it until I saw the reviews. Don't get me wrong the healthy eating is fine with me I love to eat healthy but I do think that we need some carbohydrates in our diets. The part that gets me is the loosing weight-I was then155 (average) and I am now 146/5' 6.5/size 8, come on how do you lose weight from that. I am afraid to look like skin and bones so for the most part I have whole grains, lots of vegs or salad along with my protein and drink a lot of water (sometimes I cheat) but I am on medication and trying my best to do even better to control my levels. JF

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4