Customer Reviews for

Dr. Seuss's ABC

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

what begins with the letter...

My 19 month grandson loves this book. Although he loves all books in general, this book is very special. Instead of a toy it's the first thing he looks for each morning while he waiting for his breakfast. This book has been very helpful with learning the sound of each l...
My 19 month grandson loves this book. Although he loves all books in general, this book is very special. Instead of a toy it's the first thing he looks for each morning while he waiting for his breakfast. This book has been very helpful with learning the sound of each letter as well as recognizing and match letters with certain pictures and words.

posted by Anonymous on December 12, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not the Same

I am very unsatisfied by this board book. My 11 month old loves the original ABC book and the original Foot Book. Now that he is at the stage of turning pages I thought the board books would be nice...but the words are not the same. I dont like the thought of changing a...
I am very unsatisfied by this board book. My 11 month old loves the original ABC book and the original Foot Book. Now that he is at the stage of turning pages I thought the board books would be nice...but the words are not the same. I dont like the thought of changing a story he has heard since birth. I bought a 4 pack thinking they would be like his original books. Nothing on the outside cover told me they had been shortened or changed...'trick feet, sick feet' is now 'well feet, sick feet'. It does not even rhyme!

posted by Anonymous on April 3, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    what begins with the letter...

    My 19 month grandson loves this book. Although he loves all books in general, this book is very special. Instead of a toy it's the first thing he looks for each morning while he waiting for his breakfast. This book has been very helpful with learning the sound of each letter as well as recognizing and match letters with certain pictures and words.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful!

    I got this book when my son was 4 months old. At first it was a bit lengthy to read the whole thing to him- he would get angry around "Big N, little n..." but now he absolutely loves it! I wouldn't recommend it as a bed time story though because of how long it is but it is a wonderful way to learn the alphabet, learn "big" and "little" letters, and to learn a variety of unique words. My son is nearly 8 months old and he loves this book. I'm not sure how long the book will last though- sometimes we read it after a meal (or he decides the book IS a meal) and it gets pretty messy and when I clean it some of the color rubs off... but that is to be expected and I would have no problem buying this book again and again!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Love this book!

    I remember this from my childhood, I only wish that they had made the boardbook like the original: the format is small and they have a lot of pages with 2 letters to one page.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2014

    My 2 year old enjoys this book and so do I. Even though it is sm

    My 2 year old enjoys this book and so do I. Even though it is small, it is a great size for little hands and the writing is large enough most should not have a problem reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    A great addition to my grandson's growing library

    My grandson already had the full-sized paper page version of this book. But, at only one year old he couldn't really play with it - that one his parents had to hold and read to him. This little board book he is able to play/read himself as it's practically indestructible.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    I like the ABC Book by Dr. Seuss. This book is about the

    I like the ABC Book by Dr. Seuss. This book is about the abc's. It tells you letters and what begins with the letter. It is fun and it rhymes. My aunt can buy it so my baby cousin can learn the abc's.

    by HM (first grade)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    A classic!

    I bought this book for my grandson's first birthday. A great addition to establish any children's personal library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    Good ABC Book

    I had a good time reading it to her. There were good examples of the letters so they can learn ABCs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    great learning..

    great book... get it.. perfect for small hands...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Serious Silliness

    Rhyming and learning letters and ABC's with Dr Seuss unique characters. A new favorite for my 2 1/2 yr old grandson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    An Acquired Taste

    I love Dr. Seuss in all its forms; however, my granddaughter is probably too young to fully appreciate it even though it is in board book form. I keep coming back to it, hoping that within a few months, she'll discover it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Childrens classic

    This book has stood the test of time. After 30 years of reading it, it keeps its appeal. There was a time my husband and I could recite the book by heart. Our family has loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Great Book!

    I love Dr Seuss books. I have an 8 year old that enjoyed them when he was young and now my 2 year old loves them, as well. Before, he wasn't interested in taking the time to sit and read a book, but with these, he keeps bringing them to me to reread to him. Great purchase!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    A Must Have!

    This is a must have for a child's library. Because of the small size, I bought it to keep in the diaper bag and it has become a favorite which keeps disappearing from the bag at home. All of my granddaughters love to look at the pictures and the one reader still loves to look at it with the little ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    A. D. Goose Tarbox, Writer

    This book, and other Dr. Seuss books, are classic early children's reads. I read this book to my children starting when they were toddlers, using the board book edition. The rhythm, the rhyme, make it so fun to read aloud. I was definitely inspired by Dr. Seuss when I sat down to write my first rhyming picture book, which is now published! If Dr. Seuss was alive today I would have to say, thank you Dr. Seuss for helping me learn to read, my children, and for inspiring me as a writer. This book is great for teaching the alphabet and for teaching sounds that begin with each letter of the alphabet. And Dr. Seuss's art is always fun! A. D. Tarbox, author of ALREADY ASLEEP

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2005

    Easy to memorize

    My husband and I have this book memorized. It comes in handy when we are out without books and have to wait in line or at the doctor's office. My sons (almost 2 years old) will stop their complaining to listen to the wonderful rhymes in this book. 'Big T, little t, what begins with t? Ten tired turtles on a tuttle-tuttle tree.' is a favorite page of mine. It is easy to find the rhythm of the rhymes so that you can clap along also. EVERY page has the same rhythm. I like the rhythm and the rhyming in this book. The size of it makes it easy to tote. It could be a staple in your diaper bag. I just need to remember to put it there. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2005

    Classics from the good Dr.

    Everyone should know all the Dr. Suess works are just wonderful, great classics. You can read every one of them to infants, toddlers and up and you'll be amazed how quickly they will recognize them. Please, don't forget to throw in some Theodore LeSieg (Geisel spelled backwards) titles as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    so good for kids

    I would love for every kid to have a Dr.seuss ABC ALPHABET BOOK !!!!!!!!!! I am going to get it for my sisters sons this christmas!!!!!!!!happy hoidays

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2002

    Fun, Fantastic, fabulous!

    I love reading this book to my daughter, Emma, 15 mos. While I'm saying the letters, I'll also sign the letter in ASL. Hopefully the fun rhyme & repetition will help her learn her ABCs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2002

    Wonderful!

    Welcome to the wonderful world of whimsical, wacky writing, and crazy, colorful caricatures - ¿Big Q, little q what begins with Q? The quick Queen of Quincy and her quacking quacker-oo.¿ An excellent educational tool, ¿Dr. Seuss¿s ABC An Amazing Alphabet Book!¿ is an inspired introduction to the alphabet, both upper and lowercase letters, and also reinforces letter sounds through alliteration. The text, format, and images have been adapted to accommodate board book standards; yet, the phrasing and prose, in this particular volume still flow. See the following excerpts: The original - ¿ BIG V, little v Vera Violet Vinn Is very, very, very awful on her violin.¿ Revised edition - ¿BIG V, little v, what begins with V? Verna Vera Vin and her violet violin.¿ I am flabbergasted by some of the lack of enthusiasm for the revised board book editions of Dr. Seuss¿s (and others) ¿Beginner Books¿ published by Random House. I am thrilled to have the opportunity to offer my infant son a CLASSIC narrative, by means of a board book, even in its ADAPTED form. These magical miniatures are delightfully entertaining for little babies, who enjoy the positive interaction of cooperative play through reading. The objectives of these small books are to appeal to newborns, and very young children with short attention spans who are not attentive enough for the full text versions, they are NOT meant to replace the originals. Moreover, these pocketsize gems are fashioned for effortless travel to the market, on a plane, in the car, or on a train. Hee, hee. I own most of Dr. Seuss¿s first editions, in addition to a few of the board book volumes, and agree that the original ¿Beginner Books¿ are just that ¿ ORIGINAL. They are more amusing, entertaining, and educational, but are in fact more appropriate for older children, 4 years and older. I believe introducing infants to creative works, such as these, only encourages listening and learning from an earlier age. In summary, if your child is three or older purchase an original version, otherwise introduce your infant to the shorter, travel-anywhere format, and procure the original at a later date? The marvelous magical magician, who was Dr. Seuss is worth it! Birth and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2