Customer Reviews for

Dr. Seuss's Sleep Book

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2001

    Yawn . . . My Eyes Are Getting Heavy . . . Yawn . . . Sleep

    This book is the next best thing to a ride in the car to help your youngster get to sleep. Dr. Seuss's Sleep Book will also provide lots of relaxing evening reads . . . that will leave you in a good mood for a restful night, as well. Many people report having trouble getting to sleep throughout their entire lives. Sleep experts advise creating new behaviors that enourage drowsiness. Avoid caffeine. Put the lights on low. Have some quiet music. Avoid activities in bed other than sleeping (I've always wondered about that one, too, for the parents). Keep a regular schedule. Have some hot milk. So Dr. Seuss right away changes the rules. 'This Book is to be Read in Bed.' You will immediately meet a 'very small bug . . . Van Vleck is yawning so wide you can look down his neck.' Now a yawn is catching. In fact, I'm yawning as I type this section. Before I knew about this book, one of my favorite methods of helping our youngsters settle down was to go into their room to read a story while yawning uncontrollably. They could seldom resist yawning themselves for longer than two minutes. Pretty soon the eye lids were heavy. Dr. Seuss gives you some additional hypnotic suggestions to help with this process, so you'll soon be a sleep-inducing magician. 'The yawn of that one little bug is still spreading!' 'And people are gradually starting to say, 'I feel rather drowsy. I've had quite a day.'' 'Creatures are starting to think about rest. Two Biffer-Baum Birds are now building their nest.' 'Sleepy thoughts are spreading throughout the whole land.' What follows are lots of references to brushing your teeth before bedtime, turning the lights out, more yawns, and getting into bed. 'The number of sleepers is steadily growing.' These include stilt-walkers, the Hinkle-Horn Honking Club, the collapsible Frink, some who are talking in their sleep, Joe and Mo Redd-Zoff are sleep walking, the Hoop-Soup-Snoop Group, the Curious Crandalls, Chippendale Mupp bites his tail, Mr. and Mrs. J. Carmichael Krox, Zwiebach Motel guests, snorers who make music, Jedd, two Offts, a dreaming moose and goose, the Bumble-Tub Club sleeping afloat, and the salesmen in the Vale of Va-Vode sleeping all over the road (and everywhere else). Pretty soon, 'Ninety-nine zillion, Nine trillion and two Creatures are sleeping! So . . . How about you?' 'Good night.' Obviously, the key to this book is to create an ever more . . . drowsy mood. Unlike the usual Dr. Seuss story, you want to s - l - o - w d - o - w - n a - s y - o - u g - o . The book is rather long, so the cadence has a chance to create a rhythmic sense of relaxation. Reading the book can become one of those regular habits that is sleep inducing in this way. The only book that compares with this one for relaxing your child into sleep is Good Night Moon, which is surely a staple in your repertoire by now. Older children do tire of that (which is great for wee ones), so they can graduate

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Infallible Asset for Moms at Bedtime

    I got this wonderful book for my daughter when she was about three. Not one time I read it for her did she fail to fall asleep before I was done reading the entire book. In fact, the narrative is so full proof that whenever my husband joined us for the bedtime story, he would fall asleep too - sometimes, I am sorry to say, even before our daughter. So if you need your spouse to be alert, I don't recommend it!
    Dr. Seuss' engaging humor and delicious rhymes make it very soothing and even those who read it aloud will enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    Best let's go to bed book

    This is the best let's go to bed book I have read! My 3 year old just loves it and we even give the pictured characters even more crazy names than they already have. She just loves the Foona Lagoona Baboona and the Chippendale Mupp. The Herk-Heimer Sisters have gotten her to brush her teeth before bed better than I ever have! You will enjoy this. And it is so easy to turn off the light and say good night now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    My 3.5 yr old loves it!

    I'll be honest, when my son asks us to read this book at night, my husband and I both sigh. It is Classic Dr Seuss, full of tongue twisters and rhymes and made-up words that ONLY could have been imagined by Dr. Seuss himself. (The tongue twisting made-up words is the reason for the sigh, plus it's a little long). No one writes books like this anymore and I love that our son loves Dr. Seuss as much as we do. It is the journey of how one creatures yawn can spark tiredness throughout zillions. A fun (and exhausting) read. And I'm positive my 3.5 year old will ask for it again tonight!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    This book is amazing!! It's fun for us to read and after weeks o

    This book is amazing!! It's fun for us to read and after weeks of reading it every night at bedtime, we still have not made it to the end of the book before our son falls asleep. Bedtime used to be somewhat stressful because we just never knew if we could get him to sleep or if he would keep himself awake until all hours of the night. With this book, we're almost guaranteed that he'll fall asleep and we can put him in his bed without a big screaming fit (he's 3 by the way). Unfortunately it has the same affect on me and many times I don't get up again for the rest of the night, but I'll take that over the alternative any day. I highly recommend this book for anyone who needs a good bedtime book. Oh, and not only is this a good book to lul the little one to sleep, but oftentimes we find that even after he's asleep, we keep reading it because it's fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    Very similar to Dr. Seuss's ABC.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Best Book for Fussy Sleepers

    I first got this book I think when I was in High School and have kept it by my bed ever since. It is also my go to gift for new parents. It is a book with universal appeal no matter what you age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    WONDERFUL

    YOU WILL JUST WANT TO READ IT AGAIN AGAIN AND AGAIN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Fun book for older kids

    I let my 2.5 year old daughter choose a Suess book. She picked this one out. We will save it for later because the first 2 times we read it, it was just too advanced for her. However, it is a fun read for us (mom and dad). I think it might be more appropriate for the 4+ age group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    This is an awesome Book to have in one's own library.

    Everyone should own Seuss works, along with Ohio Blue Tips by Jeanne E. Clark, The Photos In The Closet by Daniel E. Lopez, and works by Alison Townsend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    great book

    This book put my little girl to sleep right away The Characters were funny
    the reading was fun a unforgettable book by Dr. Seuss

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    Greatest Bedtime Book!!

    I read this to my 4 year old son everynight before bed and he never tires of it!! Just starting on the first page mentioning the yawns and he yawns during the entire book, it is the cutest thing!!! He loves the pictures and by the end he wants to be counted on the tally of who's all asleep..it is by far the best book I have found for winding down a busy day and getting him all settled down to sleep!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2005

    Dr. Seuss's Sleep book is great!

    Dr. Seuss, Dr. Seuss Sleep Book Illustrated by Dr. Seuss Random House, Inc., 1990 I.S.B.N 0-394-80091-5 Dr. Seuss¿s Sleep Book, written by Dr. Seuss, is a suitable book for grades one to three. It is a very fun and enjoyable book for theses ages. This tale is about how a bug is spreading around The County of Keck, and its spreading around very fast. The bug is making everyone very sleepy, and by the end of the book there are zillions of people sleeping in the County of Keck. Book Seuss shows the young readers a lot of different characters throughout the book. The reader will enjoy many of the different characters, being that they are really funny, although they are sleeping. The Zwieback Motel has beds as hard as rocks, and people are even sleeping there. By the end of the book, Ninety- nine zillion, nine trillion and two creatures are sleeping. That is why you need to go to the nearest book store before this book is put to sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2003

    too funny!

    I am going on 30 years and still love it! I am single, visually impaired and have a narrated copy on a cassette tape. The snores make me laugh until my sides hurt! Toward the end though, you have to add me to the 99 zillion or more sleepers to the who's asleep score. That bug yawning makes me yawn just hearing him. I recommend this book for children of all ages! Wether you want to laugh, or need something to go to sleep by, get this book. I feel rather drowsy! I've had quite a day! shaneman746@aol.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2002

    GREAT!!!

    This book is great for young children. My dauter(15) reads it to my son(5) nearly every night. It is fun and enjoyable to read. I even read it when I was young. I highly recomend it to chldren ages 4 to 8 and there families!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2001

    Dr Seuss's best book!

    I had this book when I was a young, and it was my favorite. Now i read it to my son, and HE loves it. It gets him nice & sleepy for bedtime, and he loves the rhymes and funny pictures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2001

    A must for mothers with unsleepy children.

    I used to read this book to my boys at bedtime. It worked like a charm! They really had trouble lasting till the end. We loved it. It's the best of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2000

    A fantastic sleeper

    Of all the Dr. Seuss books I read my kids, this is one our very favorites. It reads very well with Seuss's tongue twisting language and has wonderful creatures. It is not one of his more popular and often seen titles, but is arguably the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2000

    This Book is to be read in bed

    This is a really outstanding book. This book says lots of places creatures are sleeping that are really extroridanary. This book became one of my all time favorite's

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2000

    The words roll of your tongue.

    Dr. Seuss's Sleep Book is not only entertaining for kids, it's fun reading for adults. It really does make you yawn!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2