BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dr. Spock's Baby and Child Care

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    Wise Guidance Simply the Best

    After reading reams of infant books that advocate rigid schedules and a kind of hypervigilance that imposes upon infants their parents' uncertain fears Dr. Spock's book is a welcome relief. Rather than timetables and formulas he encourages parents to get to know their babies -- to attend to their child's movements, sounds, expressions and in so doing, he builds trust in one's own ability to care for this new life. Most books seem to advocate a kind of constant surveillance and 'make work' that may make the parent feel 'competent' but are a far cry from the loving attention babies need to develop trust. His careful advice coupled with an invitation to experiment around the basic guidelines has helped our baby get what he needs and built our confidence at the same time. Also, FINALLY, a book that does NOT promote outdated roles for men and women in child rearing and uses inclusive language when describing the baby (switching from she to he periodically so that neither sex is the norm). I wholeheartedly recommend this readable, practical and inspiring book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dr. Spock Rocks!

    As a new parent this book is extremely helpful! I didn't want to call the pediatrician every time I had a question about a hiccup, burp or spit up so this book has provided a wealth of information. Please remember that this does not replace the advice of a pediatrician but it does help explain a lot of things that you may not know or you might just be unsure about (which seems like everything).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    Great Resource

    Great book! I recently moved and all my baby books are in a box somewhere. I went looking for a paperback that I could carry around with me as I go through potty training for the first time and found this book to be a great addition to my baby library.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Dr. Spock's Baby and Child Care

    A must for every new mother....in fact it is probably a book a woman should buy herself when she finds out she's pregnant. If not, a very good gift to give at a baby shower. It answers so many questions, instead of relying on other people and their misinformation.
    I think it's also good for women who have previously had children....a great book to have around just to make sure you are doing right by your little one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2007

    Simple Classic Advice

    This book offers simple classic advice for those of you who want to raise children how you were raised - to play outside and be creative - not to rely on TV and video games or overscheduled days. It is not the end-all be all of child raising, but it has classic, simple explanations of child behavior and parenting advice. Great reference.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    I love it...

    I plan on having children in the future, and reading this book and others like it has made the thought of pregnancy and the troubles that go along with it not quite so scary.. It takes you step by step on what to expect throught out the different stages of your pregnancy, and who to take care of yourself...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    NO GOOD

    I will put this bluntly. This book is not going to help you raise a healthy baby. It will help you learn to ignore your babies needs though! If you want a better suggestion try Dr. Sears' books he's much more realistic, seriously!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2003

    MY BABY BIBLE

    THIS BOOK IS FALLING APART! I HAVE A FOUR YEAR OLD AND KNEW NOTHING ABOUT BABIES. DR. SPOCK'S BABY & CHILD CARE, HAS HELPED ME ON NUMEROUS SUBJECTS, GET'S TO THE POINT AND THERE ISEN'T A SUBJECT ABOUT BABIES AND CHILDREN THAT'S NOT COVERED. IT'S THE ONLY BABY BOOK YOU'LL EVER NEED.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2000

    BabyLounge.com gives 2 pacifiers to Dr. Spock

    Dr. Spock was considered the baby care guru in the 1950's and many parents took his advice as the word of the Lord. I have no doubt that after years of research, and of practicing pediatrics, that he is very knowledgeable in the field of baby and childcare. However, the revised edition of his once revered book is not my first choice for obtaining information. This book covers everything under the sun, but perhaps it is too comprehensive and not detailed enough as some of the other books out there. Dr. Spock writes in a condescending tone that sounds more like he is talking to his young children, instead of adults with children seeking information. He is preachy, instead of informative, and speaks in absolutes and generalizations. Getting your baby to sleep through the night is a hot topic where everyone claims to have the solution. I believe that many of the methods have the potential to work, but Dr. Spock's suggestion is cruel and may even border on child abuse. He suggests that you let your baby cry in their crib for as long as it takes until they fall asleep, and that under no circumstances should you go in to check on them. The clincher is his advice that you should not go to your baby even if he vomits because he gets so upset. He says you can clean it up after your baby falls asleep! Maybe Dr. Spock should be claiming he has frontal lobe disorder! If you are looking for a reference book that touches a little bit on everything you can imagine, then this may be the book for you. Otherwise, I think your money is better spent elsewhere.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1