Customer Reviews for

Dr. Susan Love's Breast Book

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Highly recommend that ALL women read this book!!!!

    Anyone who has been diagnosed with breast cancer, has a family member or friend diagnosed with breast cancer should read this book. Quite frankly, considering that one in 8 women are diagnosed with breast cancer, all women should probably read this book. It is clear concise and compassionate. Written for us lay persons, Dr. Susan Love explains breast health, breast cancer diagnosis and stages, treatment options and post-diagnosis support.
    I originally bought this book when diagnosed in 2000. I have bought it two more times since then to keep up to date on new research and findings. I donate my old copies to the local library.
    This book helped me turn from a 'victim' of breast cancer to a breast cancer 'survivor' because it helped me understand the disease and make educated decisions about my treatment as well as providing hope and courage to fight this insidious disease.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    Unbelievably helpful!

    This book should be given to every patient diagnosed with breast cancer. You can read as much or as little as you want. It's good for those who want to know everything and also for those who just want to 'hunt and peck' for answers to some questions without being overwhelmed by it all. I can't begin to tell you how much it helped me and how much I admire this woman for the work she has done (and, No, I don't know her!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Fenomenal

    Every woman reading must!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    was not sure if i wanted this book, but went to a support meetin

    was not sure if i wanted this book, but went to a support meeting last night and this is still called the #1 book to go to. am so happy to have a place to go and learn more .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend

    For those who have been diagnosed or those who know somebody who has been diagnosed and wants to learn all they can, this book is for you. It's a large book with tons of information, and supports the theory that all breast cancers are different in everybody who is diagnosed. One shoe does not fit all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I really liked this book. I was able to find the specific information I wanted and not have to sift through the rest. And I wanted all the information: the good, the bad, and the ugly.

    Some people, including my doctor, have said it shares too much info, but I really liked it and was glad I didn't have to read 5 books to get all of this info.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book was the most informative book on breast cancer that I found after being diagnosed in late 2011. Dr. Love covers all the new research and everything she mentioned was in concurrence with my specialist breast surgeon and oncologists for chemotherapy and radiation. Of special interest was the Onctotype DX test. I had it done and for my particular cancer it showed that chemotherapy would not benefit me. I encourage all newly diagnosed breast cancer patients to buy this book! READ IT COVER TO COVER... you won't regret being well informed by this highly respected doctor who has spent her life helping cancer research.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Outstanding

    Much detailed information. Great resource

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    If you only buy one breast cancer book, this should be the one.

    I found this book when I was treating for stage 3 inflammatory breast cancer. I bought several others at the time, but this is the one that answered my questions and helped me understand what was going on, what my options were, what to expect during treatment, etc. the best. I referred to it throughout my cancer and found it a valuable tool. That was 6 years ago. Since then I have purchased numerous copies for friends, relatives and acquaintances who have had to battle breast cancer. Every single one of them found it as useful as I did. I was glad to save them the research of finding the best book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    A must read if you have Breast Cancer or someone you know is dealing with it.

    Susan's book helps you get a handle on what you have and what will come next with your diagnosis. Easy to read demystfies the medical terminology.
    If you want to understand and be proactive in your treatment, then this is the book to have with you. Use it as a resource and read the chapters you need today. You will refer to it often. Don't go through Breast Cancer without it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Excellent book

    An excellent book for any woman (or the family and friends of a woman) facing breast cancer. It's very informative and gives you details about what to expect as you go through the maze of doctors and tests from early detection to surgery and chemo and beyond. I didn't hear about the book until after I had surgery. I wish I had had it from the very first doctors visit. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    So useful!

    I was diagnosed with breast cancer and my doctor recommended I get this book to help take away the fear and mystery. Invaluable! I so highly recommend this book if you have been diagnosed with breast cancer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    An excellent resource for any woman.

    I recommend it for any woman hoping to learn more about her own body. It helped me over a rough patch of uncertainty, when I had to have a couple of biopsies. Thank goodness that were benign.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    A Must have book for your Mammaries!

    This book is informative, educational, well worth whatever you pay for it. It will give you peace of mind, by answering so many questions, not only for you, but for teenagers. This has been a great resource handbook for many questions for tests, biopsies, all types of questions. Great book to have on hand! I hated going to the library for all this personal stuff all the time getting out different medical texts for any tests or biopsies. This answers just about everything, and has quite a few diagrams also. Great reference tool.-LeighCN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2000

    There's a better book out there!!!!!

    Anyone who has breast cancer should check out 'When it Happens to You: A Practical Guide through Breast Cancer' written by Dr. Earlene Dal Pozzo. It's much more concise and full of much more useful facts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2000

    Susan Love keeps abreast of Cancer

    Dr. Love's book is very hepful, particularly if you've just been diagnosed with breast cancer. It's a rich, well researched and well thought-out book. She mentions Iscodor as an alternative medicine - In my experience, it really works wonders in conjunction with conventional therapies. Look into it, and read her book. It's very informative and explanatory, and helps you to make informed choices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2000

    The One to Get if You Get Breast Cancer

    I work at for two internist doctors. When it was discovered I had breast cancer, they gave me a stuffed bear - for hugging, a blanket - to keep me warm, and Dr. Susan Love's Breast Book - to help me through. One of the doctor's, and one of the nurses in the office, also had breast cancer, so for them to give me this book was itself a testament on the quality of the book. I used it not only to help me understand, but I would read from it, and use the pictures in it, to help me explain what type of breast cancer I had, and what I was going to go through, to my family and friends. Although I work in a medical office, and had wonderful support, the book has been through a lot. The best way to read the book, so that you do not overwhelm yourself with too much information, is to read the section of the book that is about the stage you are going through at the time. If you want to help people with breast cancer, but you don't have time to volunteer, I recommend doing what I did. I bought two copies of the book and then donated one to the Red Cross and one to The United Way to give to those woment who don't have the money to spend on a book, or who have the support that I had. It will help them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2