Customer Reviews for

Dracula (Dover Thrift Editions Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 48389 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16555)

4 Star

(8636)

3 Star

(7654)

2 Star

(4577)

1 Star

(10967)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

One of the best vampire books ever written.

I don't mean to sound mean or anything, because I love Twilight, but Dracula is probably one of the best (if not the best) vampire book ever written. Not only is it a classic, but it's just a great story, with well thought out characters and a great plot. It takes a lit...
I don't mean to sound mean or anything, because I love Twilight, but Dracula is probably one of the best (if not the best) vampire book ever written. Not only is it a classic, but it's just a great story, with well thought out characters and a great plot. It takes a little bit of getting used to, since the format of the story is a little strange, but a chapter or so in it's not too hard to read. The story is very compelling and will make you think, which also makes it good for book clubs and discussions. A good thriller!

posted by Alexandra-Lanc on June 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Just as scary as contemporary novels!

This book was written 112 years ago and it's just as scary as Stephen King's Salem's Lot. The fictional character of Dracula is not sexy nor repentant he is just full of bloodlust and everyone around him is his prey. This book should be read by anyone who likes gothic n...
This book was written 112 years ago and it's just as scary as Stephen King's Salem's Lot. The fictional character of Dracula is not sexy nor repentant he is just full of bloodlust and everyone around him is his prey. This book should be read by anyone who likes gothic novels or vampires. This book should be the first vampire novel read before any others so you can see the progession of how the character has changed.

posted by Abby on February 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49612 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2481
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Awful

    Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!

    5 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Boooooooooooo

    Boooooooooooooooooooo

    5 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Brilliant, wish I had read it sooner

    Another book no movie could ever match. Love the classics!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Poooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooop

    Pooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooop!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    clasic vampire literature

    by far one of the best if not the best books of all time. a real clasic. cant go wrong with this one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Vampire crazy

    For vampire lovers all over the place this is a good pick

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    A Classic

    First of all I read this years ago in middle school and loved it. Dracula is the original vampire and Stoker was an amazing novelist. This book is not for everyone though, you need patience. And all these people bad-mouthing it in reviews who haven't read it, or in fact can not spell, need to have some respect for a book which is older than anyone living today.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Vgx

    SAY 1 BAD WORD AND I WILL REPORT YOU AND YES I AM 9,9 PEOPLE 9!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Amazing

    I have not even finshed and already the suspense is killing me cant wait ro get to the end!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Dracula

    Loved thee book but too long

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Aws Awesome!

    This is an excellent book. It is filled with suspense, action, and religiius superstition. All these factors are cimbined to create an excellent and somewhat scary novel. This is a must read. One of the best books that i hve ever read and I have read many many books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    How awesome THIS book is

    Outstanding.this is one of my fav books i reccomend it to anyone that likes these types of books. XD

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Loved it

    Just the thought that my great grandmother could have read this book back before the turn of the century was enough to spark my immediate interest. Then after reading a few pages....i couldnt put it down. I very much enjoyed the book literally and symbolically.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Scary!¿?

    SSSSCCCCAAAARRRRYYYY

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Chilling!

    Excellent! A classic that everyone must read

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    please for the love of god stop...

    I would like to start this off by saying I mean no disrespect to those who may find twilight enjoyable. Bram Stokers Dracula is an incredible book and I cannot help but feel sorry for anyone who has ever or will ever write any form of literature including a vampire. It has gotten to the point where if a character has pointy teeth or glitters in sunlight they will be compared to the ridiculous cultural phenomenon that is Twilight. I am just beginning to read all of the classics that formed the foundation of modern day literature and even cinema, and honestly as soon as someone mentioned twilight I nearly clicked back to the book listing right then. However, I tried not to let it be ruined by mentally comparing it. In the end, all I have to say is this book is without a doubt a must read. I mourn the death of the true and compelling legend that is the Vampire.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Unexpected

    I went into this book thinking that I wouldn't be able to cope with the late 19th century writing style. I was completely wrong. Stoker engages the reader from the very beginning and doesn't let go until the end. Throw out all vampire lore and jump into this novel because it will not disappoint.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    sadly a vampire story that I did not like

    For as much as I love vampires, I expected to enjoy this more. I personally found it to be slow and I didn’t like the feeling it gave me: like I was reading a narrator reading to me. I know that is the intent and I understand and respect the creative writing style. I just did not enjoy it. I never felt transported into the book/story. Instead I felt like I was reading a historical script with the intent of plain knowledge not enjoyment.

    It actually pains me to say that I did not enjoy a book about vampires…(*receives stake in heart*)

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    If you love reading the classics, you need to read Dracula. The introduction in this version was very informative and really helped me get a better perspective on the time it was written. Its a great classic horror novel that didn't seem incredibly outdated.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2010

    Dracula

    Young Johnathan Harker, a young lawyer is sent to complete a transaction with The Count Dracula. He is very excited at first to meet new people. The Count lives in a very mysterious country of Translyvania. When he arrives in Translyvania the people act very funny. They start handing him garlic and crusifixes. He passes them down. When they arrive to where Dracula is supposed to meet, he has to wait for a very long time for Dracula to arrive. They are almost attacked by wearwolves on the way. Soon after he arrives there he starts thinking about what is going on. He is not very sure. He soon starts to be affraid. After so long he begins to think that he is trapped, and this is a nightmare, but this was real. Even though all this stuff he is determined to get the job done. At first he thought Dracula was very nice and a good person, but soon figures out he isn't such a good person. He finds out that he sleeps in a cascet and seems to not come out during the day. When it is Johnathan's turn to eat Dracula is always already ate. When he figures out that he is imprisoned he has many attempts to escape. His wife began being woried when she wrote him and he never wrote back. Whenever he would get mail the Count wouldn't let him write back. One night Johnathan looked out the window and saw Dracula climbing up the side of a wall. Then he is very suprised and alarmed. One weird day Johnathan found himself outdoors. He figured out that Dracula had been going to his home and biting his fiancee. All the shock of this caused his mother in law to have a heart attack and die. With the help of Van Helsing they all destroy Dracula by stabing him with knives many times.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49612 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2481