Customer Reviews for

Dracula (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 47963 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16246)

4 Star

(8604)

3 Star

(7625)

2 Star

(4558)

1 Star

(10930)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

57 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

One of the best vampire books ever written.

I don't mean to sound mean or anything, because I love Twilight, but Dracula is probably one of the best (if not the best) vampire book ever written. Not only is it a classic, but it's just a great story, with well thought out characters and a great plot. It takes a lit...
I don't mean to sound mean or anything, because I love Twilight, but Dracula is probably one of the best (if not the best) vampire book ever written. Not only is it a classic, but it's just a great story, with well thought out characters and a great plot. It takes a little bit of getting used to, since the format of the story is a little strange, but a chapter or so in it's not too hard to read. The story is very compelling and will make you think, which also makes it good for book clubs and discussions. A good thriller!

posted by Alexandra-Lanc on June 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Just as scary as contemporary novels!

This book was written 112 years ago and it's just as scary as Stephen King's Salem's Lot. The fictional character of Dracula is not sexy nor repentant he is just full of bloodlust and everyone around him is his prey. This book should be read by anyone who likes gothic n...
This book was written 112 years ago and it's just as scary as Stephen King's Salem's Lot. The fictional character of Dracula is not sexy nor repentant he is just full of bloodlust and everyone around him is his prey. This book should be read by anyone who likes gothic novels or vampires. This book should be the first vampire novel read before any others so you can see the progession of how the character has changed.

posted by Abby on February 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2460
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best vampire books ever written.

    I don't mean to sound mean or anything, because I love Twilight, but Dracula is probably one of the best (if not the best) vampire book ever written. Not only is it a classic, but it's just a great story, with well thought out characters and a great plot. It takes a little bit of getting used to, since the format of the story is a little strange, but a chapter or so in it's not too hard to read. The story is very compelling and will make you think, which also makes it good for book clubs and discussions. A good thriller!

    57 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just as scary as contemporary novels!

    This book was written 112 years ago and it's just as scary as Stephen King's Salem's Lot. The fictional character of Dracula is not sexy nor repentant he is just full of bloodlust and everyone around him is his prey. This book should be read by anyone who likes gothic novels or vampires. This book should be the first vampire novel read before any others so you can see the progession of how the character has changed.

    40 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    Best vampire book EVER!

    This is the original but it is definitely the best. Many people who are used to reading Stephanie Meyer and other modern vampire authors may be disappointed as they will be forced to think about what they are reading in Stoker's Dracula. I have always had this on my "to read" list. I am very sorry I waited this long to pick it up. I read it almost straight through and now my 9th grader is reading it. At over 100 years old, there are language and expressions used that you may need to think about but most can be taken contextually. It should not present much of a problem for those who are willing to look things up or ponder for a moment before pressing on. There are some very tense and scary moments in the story. It is set up as a series of journal entries from the diaries of each of the characters (except for Dracula himself). I actually found this setup to be most entertaining. Stoker developed the characters thoroughly via this avenue. It is an excellent book -- a timeless classic that everyone should read.

    31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dracula (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

    This was the first Barnes & Noble Classics Series book I bought and I had some mixed feelings about it. The book itself was great, and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys horror films. But I would also recommend not reading the introduction if you do not already know the outcome of Dracula. In the introduction, Brooke Allen tells you alittle too much about the story, like its outcome and all kinds of things in the middle. I had not read Dracula, or seen any film adaptations of the original story, so having an introduction, that is not part of the story, tell me what the outcome was really bugged me. The book is great, but I would recommend skipping the intro if you don't already know the story of Dracula.

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    A true classic!

    This was one of the first books I downloaded to my new Nook (admittedly because it was free at the time, but I was intrigued). I love a good scary read and thought this would be a great book to break-in my Nook on. I wasn't disappointed. Leave any movie visions you have behind and let your imagination run wild. It was a facinating read with several climaxes that keep you on edge. Definitely not what I expected, but in a good way. Enjoy!

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This time the movie was better (kinda).

    Bram Stoker's Dracula is unique in its approach to writing. It is original in its style and storytelling concept. As introduced at the beginning of the novel, it is portrayed to be a stake of journals, diaries, letters, and recordings, placed in a particular order that will tell the story of Count Dracula and the characters involvement with him. This is unique and enjoyable. When the source changes from letter to diary to journal etc, then the style and voice and perspective also change to the point that one forgets that Bram Stoker is the sole author. After seeing Francis Ford Coppola's 1992 movie and the initial love story, back story, and Dracula's motivation for coming to London the book is deficient. The ending of the movie of course provides for an ongoing story or sequel. The book just abruptly ends and you are left with a "is that all" feeling. Character development is shallow but there are moments of brilliance in scenic description and allusion. Vampire lore and abilities are defined and there are moments of pure evil. No sparkling in the sunlight. No pretty boys with gorgeous eyes. No modern day "you would if you loved me" BS. Just plain, straight up horror and creepiness. Though very very subtle the sexual undercurrent can be pronounced. Freud, who is reported to have analyzed Dracula, saw it and most modern readers will too. The sexual scenes and tension was palpable in the movie and could be even more. I guess this is one of the facets of vampirism that is appealing to modern teens and writers. The book is a good easy read and has several genius moments of description and visualization that every one should read once. This is still the FIRST true vampire novel that has influenced the world. One could say that Dracula is to vampirism as Elvis is to rock and roll. No one hardly remembers what happened before but the phenomenon that is still raging now owes everything to this world changing pioneer. The thing that stands out even now as I am writing this review is how Bram Stoker changed voice and style and meter when he changed characters. By the middle of the book you could tell who's letter or journal or diary you were reading by the way it was written and the way it sounded; very talented and insightful author.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    Loving the Classics

    I just started reading this one and so far I can't put it down.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    More engrossing than modern vampire tales

    I remember picking up this book from the library in high school and not getting past page one. Ten years later, I could not put the book down. This is truly THE vampire tale. This is where all modern vampire tales come from. I am a Buffy and Twilight fan but they do not hold a candle (or a stake) to this classic. Once you get to page ten, you will not be able to stop. Highly recommended.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Must read!

    Dracula is such a gripping, suspenseful novel that I found it hard to put down. I would highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys the modern thriller genera.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    The original is still the best

    When I was fourteen I saw a documentary on Bela Lugosi. Up to that point, I had never given much thought to vampires other than Grandpa Munster, Count Chocula, and the Count from Sesame Street. But there was something about Bela, his story and the way he immortalized Dracula forever that led me to reading Dracula.
    Johnathan Harker isn't the most interesting character in literature. He's rather bland and I struggled through the first chapter or two until he enters Castle Dracula and meets his captor. Count Dracula is always written about in the third person. I really enjoy the epistolary form of conveying the story and I think Bram Stoker did a pretty good job of creating different voices. Sure his female characters lack complexity and Quincy Morris is the sterotypical Texas cowboy-- the strong but silent type. And of course, Van Helsing...Dracula's nemesis and the most complex good guy in the entire book. Stoker does a terrific job with setting the stage and moving the story along. He creates a monster that is genuinely terrifying because he is so inhuman and doesn't play by the rules of well-mannered Victorians. He is terrifying because you never know what form he'll take. Perhaps one of the more frightening aspects of Dracula isn't the actual vampire so much as his ability to control mere mortals and even drive them to the point of madness...there's a very fine line between sanity and madness sometimes and I think that point is driven home quite well in Dracula.
    Dracula may not be scary in the fashion of Steven King, but I know I've had times where I've gone to bed and I haven't been able to fall right to sleep because there could be malevolent forces outside my window...well you never know. All I know is Dracula isn't sparkly or whiney or hating his eternal life. He embraces his life and maybe that's a lesson we should all learn.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    Now THIS is a vampire book!

    I read this shortly after reading Stephanie Meyer's Twilight series, and let me tell you, if you're looking for a book about vampires, THIS is the one to get! No sparkly, "vegitarian" vampires here! I've got nothing againts the Twilight saga, but Stoker's Dracula is definatly the book to read for an awesome vampire story!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Great Book, and Nook Book is Excellent!

    I read this classic tale of horror many years ago and it was the first book that frightened me so much I couldn't sleep. That's odd because I never thought it would be so terrifying. Of course, I've seen all the movie versions, but there're nothing compared to the original book by Bram Stoker.

    The Nook version is also excellent. It's so easy to read and the layout is perfect. You can get from chapter to chapter by simply tapping on the table of contents.

    Well worth the money for this classic tale of terror.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Very good starting bop Very good starting book

    If you just purchased a nook this book is a perfict first book because A. Its free B. Its a classic C. Its the the perfict combonation of suspense, comedy, and horror. I highly recomend this book to any new nook customer.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The only vampire book that matters

    I recently purchased this book after going years without reading it. This is a classic novel. By an underrated author bram stoker who died in povertyand enver saw the books impact or success. By using vlad the impaler and elizabeth bathery as inspiration he creates a misty world of supernatural romanticism. Dracula as a creature of the night in thrilling action sequences is just what you need sometimes. he writing style in this book is along dead form but it works well with dracula.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Great classic

    It was fun to finally read this wonferfully written horror classic.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    A must read classic.

    If you are a fan of modern day horror or vampire stories, you owe it to yourself to read the father of them all. The language is old, but the story is timeless. I have already re-read it once and probably will again someday.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Excellent.

    Perhaps there is a tenth of the book that drags, and some thick-written accenrs for passing characters is rough to read, but on the whole this novel is impossible to put down. The links to appendices work well and serve to inform of archaic termonology as well as references (remember that while in the appendices you can touch the number of the entry and return back to the page it pulls from, in case the "back" button disappears). Better than the movie, and any vampire fiction I have read or seen.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Dracula

    Seems boring . Is it. Should i. How do you delete it.

    6 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better Than the Movie

    I loved this book! I wasn't going to bother reading it because I've been watching Dracula movies for years, but I'm glad I did. It is much better than the movies.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    DRACULA BY BRAM STOKER

    Good detail about the main characters and good visualization. Kind of hard to follow at times, but I was satisfied with how it came together.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2460