Customer Reviews for

Dracula: The Un-Dead

Average Rating 3.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Don't Wait to Read This!

All I can say is OH MY GOODNESS!!! I have been debating since this book was released last year whether or not to buy it. I saw the mixed reviews, and was torn for months. I kept saying I would read this after I finish The Lost Symbol (which I just can not get into). ...
All I can say is OH MY GOODNESS!!! I have been debating since this book was released last year whether or not to buy it. I saw the mixed reviews, and was torn for months. I kept saying I would read this after I finish The Lost Symbol (which I just can not get into). While Stoker may not have the most original ideas, the way he uses historical events and legends in this tale is thrilling. I was literally thrilled from start to finish. This book is a must-add to any avid reader's collection!

posted by mdmalonemsw on February 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

A Classic Perversion

This book completely perverts Bram Stoker's masterpiece by being touted as a "sequel" to something as iconic as 'Dracula.' 'The Un-Dead,' as well as its authors, can be described with one word: arrogant. It practically steps on the original novel in order to establish...
This book completely perverts Bram Stoker's masterpiece by being touted as a "sequel" to something as iconic as 'Dracula.' 'The Un-Dead,' as well as its authors, can be described with one word: arrogant. It practically steps on the original novel in order to establish a laughable mythos of its own, and is therefore riddled with inconsistencies in the eyes of any true fan of the original masterpiece. Dacre Stoker isn't fit to bear the Stoker surname. He should never have been allowed near a keyboard, let alone a publisher. As for Ian Holt, I am at a loss to sufficiently describe the degree of my distaste for him, except to say that he is the literary equivalent of a grave-robber. If you choose to read this book, consider it not as a sequel, but as a mediocre alternative universe tale with story lines that are predictable and characters that are dimensionless.

posted by Monster_Hunter on October 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A fascinating adventure

    Stoker and Holt are to be congratulated for successfully reintroducing the original characters -- now 25 years later -- in the renewed quest for the destruction of their common enemy. All is not well with Mina, Jonathan, Dr. Seward, Van Helsing, and Holmwood. This isn't the "they lived happily ever after" story. And it's not only Dracula and the un-dead they fight but a London police officer attempting to bring murder charges against them all for deaths they had nothing to do with. These are characters we already know but now added dimensions expand the story. Our two authors have succeed in keeping the same menacing atmosphere that the original Stoker invoked. But the real surprise is the twists to the original story that will leave readers turning pages long into the night. And what may be the most pleasant of surprises (and well worth the time to read) is the authors' addition, at the end of the book, of the research they did before beginning their story; the "tipping of their hats" to the names of famous actors who have portrayed Dracula in the movies.
    Thankfully, we are finally spared of another tedious example of the archetypical, shallow, pulp fiction, modern-day, teen aged, angst ridden, one dimensional, serial vampire drivel that haunts the bookstores and is trumpeted by too many shallow breathers as great literature when in truth they are a squander of paper and time.
    Take heart, dear reader, there is hope. Sit back, read, and be prepared to be drawn into a very dark and engrossing story. It deserves the worthy title: sequel.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the Best Reads of 2009

    The stage is set, the characters have gathered and we the readers are very fortunate indeed to be able to witness the production. The time is 25 years after the grand adventure to Transylvania the characters are the survivors of that adventure with the addition of Quincy Harker and the production is non other than Dracula.
    Dacre Stoker and Ian Holt give us a new twist on the old story of Price Vlad Dracula. We get to see how the characters have faired in the past 25 years and we get to see the return of the most infamous of villains, but is the villain who we are led to believe or is there something or someone more sinister to deal with. And we get a rare chance to meet the author of the first novel as a character in this one.
    Mr.'s Stoker and Holt have given readers a most remarkable piece of literature. Fully intending it to be a sequel to the original written by his great-granduncle. They have hit the mark. How many times do we as readers wonder what becomes of the characters after their happy endings, how many times do we wish to be a fly on their wall to see them after the story has ended for us. Well now we get to do just that. In this rendition of Dracula we find ourselves in Europe just after the turn of the century and are able along with the characters in the book to discover the wonder or in some cases the disgust of the technological advances in the early part of the last century. We get to experience the culture of England and we get to share in the horrors of what's happening there. The characters are vivid and interesting and follow very closely to the feel we remembered from the original work. Quincy Harker makes an absolute wonderful hapless hero in the novel, followed closely by Mina and of course our Dark Prince. The authors have taken every care in learning their characters every nuance and delivered it onto the pages of their novel with care and expertness. The story/plot is unique and exciting filled with intense mystery and abject horror, they take your senses through many emotions not many of them easy to read. But read you will because this is a page turner, with dialogue that fits with the time, that describes the scenes so vividly that the reader can easily picture it in their minds and those pictures aren't for the faint of heart.
    So ask yourself. Are you prepared to be scared witless? Are you ready to believe again in the myth of Vampires? Are you ready to experience fear like you never have? Are you ready for a can't put it down page turner, a nail biting edge of your seat adventure? And are you prepared to have everything you've ever believed about Dracula to be shot to hell? Well if so and with a note from your doctor saying you can withstand the stress be prepared to read one of the best novels of 2009.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Bloody & Frighteningly Great Read!

    This is not a sequel although it draws heavily upon Bram Stoker's original notes. Instead this is a frighteningly great read {especially at Halloween or late at night}. It combines Jack the Ripper, Dracula, & vampyres into a spine~chilling, exciting, & bloody tale! This a literary triumph ~~ destined to be a literary classic that belongs alongside its namesake on your bookshelf. Superb!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    super vampire thriller

    Twenty-five years has passed since the horrific events of 1897 ended with Dracula turning into dust; none involved have moved on as each remains haunted by the encounter with the Count. Mina and Jonathon married, but neither obtained closure when the vampire was killed; stressed and estrnaged, they conceal from their son Quincey what happened. Seward survives with heroin while Holmwood became a hermit. Their mentor Van Helsing obsessively lives for the return of Dracula as the vampire's death was his life's goal so he has nothing else. Scotland Yard believes Van Helsing was involved in the unsolved Ripper murders.

    In 1912, Stoker is frustrated as he struggles to convert his horror thriller Dracula to the London stage. However, although the author knows the full truth, he and the others except perhaps the ever vigilant Van Helsing are unprepared for a gruesome serial killer horrifying London. Scotland yard once again believes a fanatic Van Helsing is deeply connected to the killings, but too old to perform them. Those involved with what happened back then find themsleves and their loved ones under siege as if Van Helsing's belief the Count will return from the dust has occurred. The survivors of the previous encounter regroup to battle evil again although they are unsure who stalks them.

    This is a super vampire thriller that brings forward the stars of Dracula into the Edwardian Era with a where are they now tale. The clever story line is fast-paced while introducing the audience to the survivors of the previous horrific encounter to include Bram Stoker. Dacre Stoker and Ian Holt explore the essence of evil and good through a cast of humans who have used psychological defense mechanisms to barely survive and a vampire who may or may not be Dracula, but has the same attitude re the food chain as well as a thirst for the blood of vengeance. Filled with terrific twists fans of Dracula and those who appreciate a strong historical urban fantasy will relish the THE UN-DEAD.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Wow

    I got this book 3 years ago and was scared to read it after the first chapter i could not put it down it paints a picture of what might have happened and the end is a complete shocker with a hint at another book to possibly follow

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended, Great pride to Bram Stoker's original!

    This book had twists and turns with a great style that Bram Stoker would have been quite proud of. The twists on the characters as time has passed was quite intriguing and the mystery if Dracula was back or what was really going on was really well-written. The reality of this book's ending was incredible but quite unexpected unless you've read those books like the Secret Diary of Mina Harker or such like it. I give this book double-thumbs up and think anyone who loved the original should definitely read, it is worth the read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Join EternalClan!

    SkyClan has allied with us! We Need You! Find us at warriorcats r.e.s.u.l.t. o.n.e.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A book you just can't stop reading!

    Best book I have read in ages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Wonderful!

    I loved it! Great sequel to the original, especially with all the relevent history allusions. Awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    Great book - not for die hard fans of the original though!

    I loved this book from start to finish but I find it more of a sequel to a mix between the original novel and Copolla's film version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    one totally awesome novel from begining to the very very end this book is a classic im glad it was made and printed amazing book amazing story amazing everything!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    YES!

    This book was amazing! The details created perfect word pictures so that I felt like I was a part of the story! Definitely a must read! Any fan of vampire stories will LOVE LOVE LOVE this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow at First, then Hard to Put Down

    It was a little slow starting, but the further I read, the less I was able to keep my nose out of it. I had a hard time putting this book down! It drops a lot of famous names and some historical events from the period which I enjoyed. I highly suggest reading Dracula, by Bram Stoker before reading this book, even if you've seen every Dracula movie ever made. I can't stress that enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    One of the best

    I like that the original caracters were continued....very exciting and entertaining. I could not stop wondering what might happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    my review

    it was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dracula

    The is a very interesting book. My daughter is even thinking of reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2