Customer Reviews for

Dragon Age: The Calling

Average Rating 4.5
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

As a fan of Dragon Age: Origins I loved this book too. I thought it was a great piece of lore from the Dragon Age universe, but the thing I liked best about it was the fact that a reader wouldn't have to know much, if anything, about Dragon Age in order to enjoy the bo...
As a fan of Dragon Age: Origins I loved this book too. I thought it was a great piece of lore from the Dragon Age universe, but the thing I liked best about it was the fact that a reader wouldn't have to know much, if anything, about Dragon Age in order to enjoy the book.

Pros:
- Good Writing.
- Mostly Original Plot (a rarity in fantasy novels).
- Interesting Characters.

Cons:
- Poor Copy Editing on the Nook Version.

posted by Phantom00700 on December 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Warning on the "Most Helpful" reviews

The "Most helpful" reviews appear to be for the other two books in this series. They were both written years before Asunder was released.

I have not read Asunder as yet, just wanted to give a heads up about the "Most Helpful" reviews. I would hate to see someone bu...
The "Most helpful" reviews appear to be for the other two books in this series. They were both written years before Asunder was released.

I have not read Asunder as yet, just wanted to give a heads up about the "Most Helpful" reviews. I would hate to see someone buy or not buy based on erroneous information.

Myself, I intend to buy and read this as soon as I finish the Game of Thrones series.

posted by old_biker on December 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    As a fan of Dragon Age: Origins I loved this book too. I thought it was a great piece of lore from the Dragon Age universe, but the thing I liked best about it was the fact that a reader wouldn't have to know much, if anything, about Dragon Age in order to enjoy the book.

    Pros:
    - Good Writing.
    - Mostly Original Plot (a rarity in fantasy novels).
    - Interesting Characters.

    Cons:
    - Poor Copy Editing on the Nook Version.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    Warning on the "Most Helpful" reviews

    The "Most helpful" reviews appear to be for the other two books in this series. They were both written years before Asunder was released.

    I have not read Asunder as yet, just wanted to give a heads up about the "Most Helpful" reviews. I would hate to see someone buy or not buy based on erroneous information.

    Myself, I intend to buy and read this as soon as I finish the Game of Thrones series.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must-have for Dragon Age lore addicts

    I think the novel could stand up reasonably well on its own even without the context of the game, but a fan of Dragon Age: Origins will certainly appreciate this very much. There's a very good energy to Orlesian-occupied Ferelden and you can't help but find yourself falling in love with the characters (yes, even Loghain!). Admittedly not classic literature material, but definitely worth getting if you enjoy the Dragon Age lore.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    Amazing world, amazing origin story

    I was on the fence about buying Dragon Age: Origins so I figured I would read this book to get a feel for the world and writing style. It took me a couple of chapters to get into the book and world but after that I was hooked on it. The characters are amazing with amazing development and growth.

    This book has made me want to play Dragon Age and if your are on the fence about the game or already pre-ordered, this is a must have...but even if your not looking into the game, this is still a great fantasy read for anyone who likes the fantasy world or medieval themed novels.

    PS, loved the choices that the characters made which is really what makes me excited for the game just to make similar complex and far reaching choices.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    DragonAge: The Calling

    DragonAge: The Calling (by David Gaider) is a tie-in novel to a mature themed dark fantasy RPG video game created by BioWare. This novel is also a sequel to DragonAge: The Stolen Throne by David Gaider. This novel provides history and enriches back-story for the actual video game, and makes it much better because of it. The story features several races typically found in most fantasy books, such as: Humans, Elves, Dwarves, and evil orcs called darkspawn.

    "The Calling" is a reference to heroes/heroines called Gray Wardens who go on one last honor mission when they become "tainted" to kill as many darkspawn as they can before being killed themselves. Without spoiling the plot of the story, I will not mention anything more about this.

    The novel itself has far too many adjective and adverbs ending in "ly" that can become distracting, especially when they are clustered together in a paragraph. Overall, this novel is much better than its predecessor The Stolen Throne and is worth reading if you like dark fantasy, and/or if you plan to play the video game. Final score: 3/5. Good read.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The characters and world pulled me in

    While I have read books that are better written, this has still become one of my favorites. Something about the characters, world and story just pulled me in and kept me from wanting to put it down. I am very much looking forward to the sequel and the game after having read this.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Good not great

    I love the Dragon Age series amd while I loved the return of some of my favorite characters, this book lacked the epic feel of Gaider's first two Dragon Age book. Still a must read for any Dragon Age fan

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great addition to my Dragon Age Collection

    My only regret is that I didn't know about this book before I played the games. David Gaider's since of humor, lovable characters and suck you in plots are terrific. I loved getting the background on some of the history of Feraldon and its characters. Even without the Video Game I believe people would get enjoyment out of the story.. However it is better for those who have played the game or plan on playing the game in the future.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Gamer inside info

    1st off .....Love the whole dragon age world. Book Seems to take place after the events in dragon age 2 video game. With refer and hints to events in dragon age origins video game. Which i have played many times through. Great Book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Great read

    This is an excellent read for any fan of the Dragon Age series. I was happy to get the chance to learn more about Duncan and his adventures with the Wardens before he became their leader in Ferelden. Some disturbing information arose but it helped quell a lot of questions I had.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    Perfect Compliment to the Video Game

    If you are a fan of the Dragon Age Origins video game, this book is a must. It gives a fantastic background of Duncan in his early Warden Years. I highly suggest reading this book before playing the Dragon Age expansion as well. It will fill you in a lot more about the main villian and the plot than the actual game does.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The 2nd of Mr Gaider's books is a hit

    Admittedly I am a fan of the DA video game which made both of the books more appealing to me. Great history of the Grey Wardens, King Maric and even some open ended mystery that you'll still be guessing about after having played the game. Again Mr. Gaider made me laugh, cry and fall in love with his characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    A Must for Dragon Age Fans!

    Well paced, well written characters and a fun, in depth look into more of the Dragon Age universe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Excellent

    If you're a Dragon Age fan, or fantasy in general, read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    Dragon Age: The Calling is a good book for people who want to kn

    Dragon Age: The Calling is a good book for people who want to know more about the mythos of the Dragon Age games. The Calling takes place before DA: Origins so if you've played DA:Origins (and read all the codex entries) this will continue filling in the gaps about Thedas characters referenced in the game. It's most useful, however, as an explanation of the events in DA: Awakening. Having finished the book, I now will go back and play Awakening with a new understanding of the role of some of the NPCs.
    It's a compelling read but if you haven't played the game you'll need to read Dragon Age: The Stolen Throne first to understand who the characters are and what their actions mean to the storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Guys....

    People are saying this takes place AFTER DA2 and they are wrong. It is a prequel to Oringins, set before the game by like 20 or so years. It is an amazing read about King Maric and Duncan. Its a good book,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Awesome, awesome, awesom!

    This was my first book from Biowear & the creators of Dragon Age & Mass Effect! The games are amazing as are the books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Yes it does

    I contain lots of violence. Soe nudity.. and soe cussing but not to mcuh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Question

    I have never played dragon age. But this series looks cool! I noticed the game was rated M, so do any of the dragon age books contain language or sexuality? I can't read stuff like that so I need to know. Please respond quickly! Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Read

    Great book full of this that will make dragon age fan be like this is the best book ever like me. But if your just looking for a good read this is it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11