Customer Reviews for

Dragon Bones (Hurog Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The magic of the bones of the Dragon can bring good or evil to this mythical land

    This is an interesting morality tale about a young man who was abused by his father, the man's mute sister, and their quest to overcome evil in their mythical world.

    The young man was badly beaten as a child, and pretended to be a total dunce to avoid more beatings. But he was anything but a dunce. He was a highly moral man, who worked hard to protect his sister from harm. After the death of his father, he stood to inherit a kingdom, but he had to use his skill and cunning to defeat the evil guys that were trying to take it from him.

    His adventures make for good King Arthur and the Roundtable-style reading as he pursues adventure and works to outwit his foes. He is accompanied by a ghostly character who helps him in his quest, and the power of the bones of the dragon bring the story to its slightly predictable conclusion.

    As I read this I can almost see it as a made-for-TV movies, with the characters clearly delineated and the traditional battles between good and evil enhanced by the presence of the family ghost and the young mute girl, with the concept of magical powers always present but not dominating the story line.

    Patricia Briggs work is always a good read, and although I prefer her later works in the Mercy Thompson series, this early creation of a brave young man fighting evil makes for an entertaining afternoon.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another strong, Briggs story...

    Wow. This author just does not let me down! I started the Mercy Thompson series on a whim (despite the covers!), and could not put them down. I've read a LOT of urban fantasy and I was just sorry it took me so long to find Briggs. I was expecting her to have the usual - one strong series, other mediocre novels - offerings I've come to expect from most authors. Well, I have yet to be disappointed by one of her books and "Dragon Bones" is no exception. The ideas have been done before - the kingdom with the rightful ruler who must find his place, both within himself, and among his subjects. It is Briggs storytelling that is SO strong. With characters and circumstances that are so believable and engaging, I can read these start to finish - with no skipping ahead or skimming through painful dialogue. Reminds me of how I devoured Anne McCafferey books when I was younger. I didn't think I'd find that pleasure again as an adult! I can't wait to go buy "Dragon Blood" to take on our upcoming vacation. I'm afraid it'll be hard to get me out of the hotel room...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    An audio book that really takes flight

    I got this as a Christmas present from someone who knows I enjoy both urban fantasy and epic fantasy. Dragon Bones is epic alright but light on the use of cumbersome names..a small thing, and big on adventure and the hero's journey..a major thing. Now I can't wait till the next book comes out in audio because of how much I love the characters and the world of Hurog. It is hard for even some of the best books to make the transition to audio without losing something but this book is actually enhanced by the way it was read. The actor "gets" the subject matter and it is easy to believe he is Wardwick of Hurog. I think somebody ought to scoop this up and make a movie out of it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Excellent Audio Book

    I have to drive long distances for work and am always on the look out for a great audio. Honestly, I got this book because of the narrator. Joe Manganiello -- he plays the werewolf on True Blood. His voice is go "growly" it brings this audio up several notches. That said -- the story lines is a classic fantasy and highly enjoyable. Bring this audio with you on your next car drive, to your workout or just to play in the background at work. Well worth the download. I await book 2.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantasy + Adventure + Dragon = A Magical Read

    In Dragon Bones, Patricia Briggs creates a fascinating magical medieval world. Wardwick of Hurog had long known that his father was insane, and to protect himself, he became a consummate actor made easier by the head injury his father had inflicted on him. Unfortunately his act was too good, and everyone believed him to be the simpleton he pretended to be, playing into the king's decision to force him into a facility for persons too important to kill and giving Hurog to his uncle. There are plots within plots and hidden agendas that make the hidden dragon bones beneath Hurog vital and Ward's freedom imperative. His plan to join the fighting against outlaws in Oranstone and become a hero worked, but he had traitor in his ranks working against him almost turning the tide against him. He, however, has Oreg, a living ghost on his side whose existence is tied to Hurog keep on his side. This was a rousing fantasy/action adventure that I thoroughly enjoyed!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dragon Bones

    The characters in this book are interesting, amusing, and strangely touching. The plot was intriguing and kept my attention. This book and the sequel have made their way to my small, but ever-growing personal library!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyable fanciful adult fairy tale

    The keep of Hurog was torn asunder by magic in order to save it. Now Ward, the lord of Hurog, is seeing to the task of rebuilding the land. His closest friend is Oreg, half dragon and half man, comfortable in either form. They are content to stay in the holding and not have anything further to do with the evil High King Jakoven or the intrigues of the court. Unfortunately, Jakoven wants Hurog, a land steeped in magic and to get it he arrests Ward and throws him in the Asylum where the king¿s mages and torturers work on him. They hope to prove that Ward is unfit to rule but the lord has powerful allies who are able to stop the King¿s plan at the last minute. Free to go home, Ward knows he must join the rebellion and topple the High King from the throne before he can use the powerful magical artifact, the Bane, which can control dragons and destroy empires. Patricia Briggs is a master storyteller who creates fanciful adult fairy tales that readers will love. DRAGON BLOOD has a charismatic hero who wins the hearts of the audience with his inner strength, compassion and good heart. The use of magical beings such as dragons, dwarves and other creatures of myth and legend don¿t distract from the believability of the plot. This reviewer hopes that some of the characters in this fantasy get a chance to have their story told. Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    Love this duology.  I feel like I've been reading so much garbag

    Love this duology.  I feel like I've been reading so much garbage lately, but Briggs never disappoints.  Whether it be urban or traditional fantasy, her worlds are always fully realized and internally consistent, her plots entertaining, and her characters both believable and likeable.  Long may she reign!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    Incredible story!

    Really, really loved this book! I'm going to start the next one today and I'm sure it will be as magical as this one. Fair amount of twists in the story, which I enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    Fantastic Read

    This book was the most satisfying read I have had in a long time. The characters and story line are really well developed and the story goes along at a steady pace from beginning to end. You cant go wrong buying this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    Wonderful story. This was my introduction into the world of Pat

    Wonderful story. This was my introduction into the world of Patricia Briggs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Ward has only ever wanted to be the Lord of Hurog, he has protected himself and his siblings from the current Lord, his own father, with a shield of his own feigned stupidity and brute strength. However, his father has died and the very thing that has protected him, his pretend idiocy, has caused the Lordship of Hurog to pass to another. To protect himself and his sister and to get Hurog back Ward must prove that he is no idiot, and he sets out on a quest to regain his birthright.

    Patricia Briggs is better known for her Mercy Thompson and Alpha and Omega series, series that I am a massive fan of, so I am not quite sure why I was so surprised when I absolutely loved this book. It is a complete different genre, Fantasy rather than Urban Fantasy/Romance, and there is little to no trace of romance in Dragon Bones, but that didn’t stop me from reading this book cover to cover in one sitting.

    What drew me in and kept me reading so avidly was the characters, especially the main character Ward and Oreg the enslaved “ghost” of Hurog. Ward’s intensity in regard to Hurog was palatable and often mistaken for ruthlessness and I enjoyed watching him struggle into his mantle of leadership. However, the most interesting character was Oreg, enslaved to whomever is the Lord of Hurog he was the spirit of the keep. Sarcastic, tortured and slightly mad, Oreg was both heart wrenching and funny and the book wouldn’t have been half as good without him.

    In regards to the world that Briggs has created, it was interesting but also fairly simple in comparison to other Fantasy books I have read, it didn’t have the depth and intricate histories that some authors build and as this is a duology I doubt this is something this series will build up. This isn’t necessarily a bad point, just something to be aware of, if you are looking for an epic fantasy this won’t be the book for you. But, if you would like something that will have great characters, an easy plot and a bit of action then this book is perfect.

    I really loved this book, definitely one of my favourites so far this year and I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Bouncestar

    How did Redstar come back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Another Home Run

    I've been a fan of Patricia Briggs writing for a few years now. Dragon Bones did not disappoint. In fact, once I started it, I couldn't put it down. Finished in a day, but what a ride. If possible, Dragon Blood is even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great!

    Loved them both, can't wait for the next one to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    A great addition to any book collection!

    This is one great read, from start to finish you truly get involved in the story and root for Ward!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2002

    This book is good!

    Dragon bones is a very entertaning book. I could not put it down! It had a good ending along with fun characters. Many surprises, and a twisting plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4