Customer Reviews for

The Dragon Book: Magical Tales from the Masters of Modern Fantasy

Average Rating 4
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Buy this book now

    I am 12 and i am in collage reading level my mom got this book 4 me and i love the "a stark and wormy night"story it is the best story outta 24

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a fun fantasy collection.

    With nineteen entries by a virtual who's who of fantasy, fans will enjoy this themed collection that look deep into the eyes of Dragons; as the editors explain in the preface: "by far the most potent and widespread of all mythological beasts". The entries are widespread in terms of time and place so various background brings freshness to the anthology. Especially strong contributions are "Vici" by Naomi Novak in the time of Caesar, the mother and son team of Jane Yolen and Adam Stemple who write of "The Tsar's Dragons, the "Oakland Dragon Blues by Peter S Beagle with no Raiders involved only a traffic problem, and "A Stark and Wormy Knight" by Tad Williams. None of the compilation are bummers as each of the writers soar with this version of the mighty dragon who kick military butts (Garth Nix's "Stop") or freeze you with their eyes ("The Dragon's Tale" by Tamora Pierce) or their heartbeat ("The War that Winter Is" by Tanith Lee). The key to this strong thematic short story collection is the wide diverse range of the authors as each makes flying with Dragons a fun fantasy collection.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Well...

    Well..i just read a bad review first and decided not to get it. BUT then..i read the other comments and according to the other comments ,i Should read it. I have decided to get the free sample and then write another review on how i thpught it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Puz_le by Gregory Maguire

    Not worth it for just the Gregory Maguire short story 'Puz_le', only. That was my mistake. It was a cute and a very super quick read, but it still left me wanting and disappointed at the end. A young girl's weekend with her father's new family is ruined by the weather. She complains of boredom to her mom. She works a puzzle while her mom makes supper in the kitchen. The dragon in the puzzle and the young girl argue for the final puzzle piece.
    It did not live up to the work I have come to expect from Gregory Maguire. While I continue to consider Gregory Maguire one of "today's masters of modern fantasy", this was by no means even comparable to his superb and fantastic work that I've read with its fantastical adult twists and drama. If it did not have his name advertised, you would not have known that it was his work. If you are a fan of any of the other authors listed in this novel, by all means, buy this book and enjoy it. For a picky reader like me with too high of expectations, I wish that I could have enjoyed it too. This book will probably end up in the donation bin, instead of living on my bookshelf, waiting for me to read it again and again. This poor experience does not mean that I will not read Gregory Maguire again. Trust me, I most definitely will!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    READ THIS BOOK -- Guarantee You'll Enjoy It!

    Purchased this for my almost 11 year old whose reading level is 12th grade. It is very difficult to find reading material that fits her reading level yet whose themes or content are not too 'adult'. This fit the bill nicely.
    Both the daughter and I read it. It is a collection of short stories whose only common thread is dragons. We feel all of the stories were well written and some quite inventive. The daughter found it extremely enjoyable as did I. In fact, it has introduced me to some new authors whose other works I now want to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Wonderful blend of authors

    Overall a very good book. I can't have a blanket review, as the authors all have such different writing styles, but definitely one I would recommend for fantasy lovers. Some stories I want to read over and over, a few I didn't like at all, as they weren't my style of fantasy. Again, I found it very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Some good, some great, but not a dud in the bunch

    This is book of short stories by numerous authors. I picked it up because of Peter S. Beagle, my favorite author, but found others that I also admire.. Diana Wynne Jones, Naomi Novik and Jonathan Stroud. I actually ended up liking stories by authors I didn't know better than some of my faves. If you like short stories and you like dragons, I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Really good book about dragons!

    I purchased this book for my twelve year old grandson. He gives it a 5 star rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    Something for All Dragonlovers

    Humor, adventure, romance, pathos--dragons good and evil--They're all here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1