Customer Reviews for

Dragon Bound (Elder Races Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 455 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(323)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

One of my new favorite PNR series! Loved!

Have you ever started a book and immediately thought to yourself about the heroine, "Oh. Oh, I am going to like HER" - And then, if you are lucky, you move on to the hero and immediately think to yourself, "Oh. Oh yeah, I LIKE this guy. oh yes." Well, that pretty much s...
Have you ever started a book and immediately thought to yourself about the heroine, "Oh. Oh, I am going to like HER" - And then, if you are lucky, you move on to the hero and immediately think to yourself, "Oh. Oh yeah, I LIKE this guy. oh yes." Well, that pretty much sums up my initial reaction to the heroine Pia Giovanni and the hero Dragos Cuelebre in Dragon Bound. And it all got even better from there.

In Thea Harrison's debut novel of her new Elder Races series, she mastered the art of developing the heroine Pia in a perfect combination of vulnerability and moxy. She had me at Twizzlers and Cherry Coke Slushees. And oh my, Dragos. The most ancient of Others, he is a fierce alpha dragon and also the multibillionaire of Cuelebre Enterprise who has seen everything, been everywhere, and yet has found himself in a state of boring complacency. Pia's ex-boyfriend has blackmailed her in to doing the unthinkable. stealing a coin from Dragos's hoard. When he discovers the violation he blasts off in to a dragon-sized rage that costs him a good hundreds of millions $ in damage to New York City. As a unique half-wyr, living cautiously and on the run is nothing new to Pia to keep her heritage a secret, so immediately going on the run again to escape Dragos and the crime of theft she has commited is not unfamiliar to her. Except that Dragos is the most Powerful creature in the Universe, so she is pretty sure she's done for. Dragos makes it his mission to hunt her down, and he does just that thanks to the note she wrote and left for him in chicken-scratch on the back of a 7-11 receipt.
The chase, the capture, the journey, it was all filled with entertaining action, beautiful world building and steamy tension. Turns out that Pia was just a pawn in a much larger scale Power play and Dragos learns just how unique she truly is to the magical world, but also to him. They find themselves completely enamored with one another and Dragos vows to protect Pia at all costs.
The world building Ms. Harrison has created is very complex and vivid. The world of Other has gryphons and gargoyles, dark and light fae, goblins and witches. There are some demesnes that stay topside, such as Dragos in New York City and the Light Fae in Charleston. There are other species such as the Goblins who are unable to glamor and therefor stay on the Other side because they look really ugly and stinky really bad. The inter-Elder politics are very well-thought out and executed, and the secondary characters are just as awesome as the primary. The next book, Storm's Heart, will center around Cuelebre Enterprise's former PR fae, Thistle Periwinkle, aka Tricks, who is just a riot.
This is a romance story, but a romance story with major plottage that will leave you yelling at your friends and family to quit interrupting you so that you can freaking read already. I was enamored from start to finish. Go forth and read! And have no fear, the second and third books of this series will be out later this year in 2011! I have them both marked on my calendar and they will be auto-buys. A quick thank-you-you-were-right!! goes to Mandi of Smexy Books who convincingly brought this book to my immediate attention!
- Reviewed as "Spaz" at wickedlilpixie(dot)com

posted by pdubz on May 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

!

Harriet klausner...would you PLEASE stop ruining books for everyone? Let us read for ourselves. Stop telling everything that happens. You are so rude!!!!!!!

posted by 8888649 on October 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the supporting cast

    I stumbled onto this one and truly enjoyed it. Broadly, the main relationship reminded me of Angel's Blood by Nalini Siingh, but not enough to keep me from liking it. The supporting cast was strong, and I wasn't surprised to see who the next book will focus on. Strong first installment.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Hard to start but loved it!!!

    The book started slow and i constantly felt like i was missing something BUT once it got going MY GOD it was good. It did remind me of the guild hunter series (which i have no clue what came first) but very different all together. I loved it the dragon was so HOT!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Recommended

    Nice start to the Elder Races Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Dragons are cool...

    ... and a story about one is even cooler. Or at least it can be!
    SPOILER ALERT!!!
    SPOILER ALERT!!!
    SPOILER ALERT!!!



    add a unicorn & gryphons? How cool is that!
    4 * on the coolness scale :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    I have some mixed feelings about this book.  I will admit I had

    I have some mixed feelings about this book.  I will admit I had high expectations, which is usually a setup for disappointment, and it was to a point.  I wasn’t blown away by the book, but I did enjoy it.  I like Pia, and Dragos is pretty dreamy, however they both had their flaws.  Pia’s flaws were endearing, but Dragos took some getting used to.  I like an alpha male, but he’s downright overbearing.  I did, however, adore how he learned to say please!

    The urban fantasy setting was pretty cool.  I liked the different races and how they’re set up.  It definitely has room for sequels that can go in just about any direction.  I also liked that while some of the races were about what I expected, others weren’t quite typical.  Not everything and everyone is as they seem and it made for some very interesting experiences.  

    The plot is where I had some issues.  There are some questions left unanswered, some loose ends not quite tied up, and there were some events and experiences that I felt were unnecessary to the book and/or unrealistic under the circumstances.  

    Overall, I really enjoyed a lot of the characters, including many of the secondary ones, and while it didn’t knock my socks off, Dragon Bound was an enjoyable read and I’m looking forward to checking out the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Great Book!

    I was looking for new material to tide me over. I read this in one sitting and have purchased the other 4 books! I highly recommend this series if you like paranormal steamy romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Could not put it down. Sexy characters, great story, & the c

    Could not put it down. Sexy characters, great story, & the chase, the capture, the journey, it was all filled with entertaining action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Recommended

    Strong characters and an engaging story. I was glad to find other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Fun Read... Elder series

    If you have enjoyed some of the Black dagger brotherhood books then you should enjoy these. I have throughly enjoyed the 3 I have read so far. The story lines per couple are different enough they keep you interested. The people are not annoying some are little quirky which I happen to like. Fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    I loved the story and characters.. Looking forward to the next

    I loved the story and characters.. Looking forward to the next book STORM'S HEART..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Fun read

    I really enjoyed this book. I went on to the rest of the books in the series and then came back to read this again. I'm looking forward to revisiting with these characters then the next one comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    The synopsis sums up the bones of the book quite well, the infor

    The synopsis sums up the bones of the book quite well, the information that isn't noted is how entertaining the Elder Races are in this introductory novel.

    The characters were personable and vividly drawn so I did not have a problem picturing them in my mind. I especially enjoyed the interaction between Pia & Dragos on the bumpy travels through love-land. Pia's inner voice was loud and deserved her own name as she definitely had her own opinions. She was very much a part of the story and went a long way in expressing humanity and human emotion in a foreign environment. At the same time it was difficult to understand why she would have such a hard time when she'd known that she is half-Wyr and interfaced with that world on a daily basis. Dragos on the other hand wore the actions of the traditional protective & befuddled paranormal alpha male extremely well. Together they added substance to the cookie-cutter roles. I would have liked the villain to be more diabolical but he was sufficient and ably held the title. The secondary and tertiary characters were personable enough to deserve more ink later down the road. The plot itself was layered enough so that the book didn't feel overwritten or full of unnecessary information. Also, the action and romance were given equal weight creating a very nice balance and the reading time flew by.

    What didn't work for me is minor in the scheme of things . It was Pia, as delightful as she was - she was also annoying and seemed out of character.

    Overall I ended up liking this visit enough to go forward with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    1-4 continue

    Sorry first review. After reading 4 of the elder race series several things comes to mind. First the third book was quickky becoming boring because it was following the same pattern as the first 2. Boy meets girl, boy and girl try to fight their attraction there are outside conflicts that try to tear boy and girl apart but that eventually is what brings them together. Dont get my wrong the books are amazing and have alot of humir with twists and turns. The 4th book the oracle made up for the repetition and i think the 1,2,4 are the best out of the series. At the least read 1 and 4 the author catches the reader up to speed enough in the 4th with out reading 2 or 3. The last thing i noticed that all the characters use the same phrase to voice their frustration it is both frustrating and improbable. Frustrating because taking the Lord's name in vain is wrong but combine that with profanity creates a greater offense to me so much so i have almost dropped reading from this author anymore. The improbable part is that everyone is different and use different sayings to express frustration etc,. For example my history college professor says fuzzy bunnies which is very amusing. I say suck it. My point is be creative in their catch phrases it gets really old quickly if the same one is used for over 6 characters throughout 4 books. I can handle profanity but not alot but stop taking the Lord's name in vain so frequent.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    quite enjoyable!

    quite enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Good

    Cover makes you thinknthis will be trash... just not the case.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Good read!

    Not the kind of book I normally read, but it had interesting characters and captured me immediately. Afterwards, I felt compelled to read the second and third books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Recommended, Enjoyable read

    Interesting view of the world, Characters come alive and are likeable. Was excited to learn more about the other people in the book. Very easy read for the fantasy reader with romance, adventure and spell casting lovers in mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Exciting series

    Thea Harrison puts a new twist on paranormal romance. The plots are well developed and the characters are quirky with a few surprises. Her combinations of myth, science and pop cultures keeps the dialog and story line fun and in-depth. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Love this book.

    Love Pia - she's hilarious!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    Really liked this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5