Customer Reviews for

Dragon Bound (Elder Races Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 451 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(320)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

One of my new favorite PNR series! Loved!

Have you ever started a book and immediately thought to yourself about the heroine, "Oh. Oh, I am going to like HER" - And then, if you are lucky, you move on to the hero and immediately think to yourself, "Oh. Oh yeah, I LIKE this guy. oh yes." Well, that pretty much s...
Have you ever started a book and immediately thought to yourself about the heroine, "Oh. Oh, I am going to like HER" - And then, if you are lucky, you move on to the hero and immediately think to yourself, "Oh. Oh yeah, I LIKE this guy. oh yes." Well, that pretty much sums up my initial reaction to the heroine Pia Giovanni and the hero Dragos Cuelebre in Dragon Bound. And it all got even better from there.

In Thea Harrison's debut novel of her new Elder Races series, she mastered the art of developing the heroine Pia in a perfect combination of vulnerability and moxy. She had me at Twizzlers and Cherry Coke Slushees. And oh my, Dragos. The most ancient of Others, he is a fierce alpha dragon and also the multibillionaire of Cuelebre Enterprise who has seen everything, been everywhere, and yet has found himself in a state of boring complacency. Pia's ex-boyfriend has blackmailed her in to doing the unthinkable. stealing a coin from Dragos's hoard. When he discovers the violation he blasts off in to a dragon-sized rage that costs him a good hundreds of millions $ in damage to New York City. As a unique half-wyr, living cautiously and on the run is nothing new to Pia to keep her heritage a secret, so immediately going on the run again to escape Dragos and the crime of theft she has commited is not unfamiliar to her. Except that Dragos is the most Powerful creature in the Universe, so she is pretty sure she's done for. Dragos makes it his mission to hunt her down, and he does just that thanks to the note she wrote and left for him in chicken-scratch on the back of a 7-11 receipt.
The chase, the capture, the journey, it was all filled with entertaining action, beautiful world building and steamy tension. Turns out that Pia was just a pawn in a much larger scale Power play and Dragos learns just how unique she truly is to the magical world, but also to him. They find themselves completely enamored with one another and Dragos vows to protect Pia at all costs.
The world building Ms. Harrison has created is very complex and vivid. The world of Other has gryphons and gargoyles, dark and light fae, goblins and witches. There are some demesnes that stay topside, such as Dragos in New York City and the Light Fae in Charleston. There are other species such as the Goblins who are unable to glamor and therefor stay on the Other side because they look really ugly and stinky really bad. The inter-Elder politics are very well-thought out and executed, and the secondary characters are just as awesome as the primary. The next book, Storm's Heart, will center around Cuelebre Enterprise's former PR fae, Thistle Periwinkle, aka Tricks, who is just a riot.
This is a romance story, but a romance story with major plottage that will leave you yelling at your friends and family to quit interrupting you so that you can freaking read already. I was enamored from start to finish. Go forth and read! And have no fear, the second and third books of this series will be out later this year in 2011! I have them both marked on my calendar and they will be auto-buys. A quick thank-you-you-were-right!! goes to Mandi of Smexy Books who convincingly brought this book to my immediate attention!
- Reviewed as "Spaz" at wickedlilpixie(dot)com

posted by pdubz on May 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

!

Harriet klausner...would you PLEASE stop ruining books for everyone? Let us read for ourselves. Stop telling everything that happens. You are so rude!!!!!!!

posted by 8888649 on October 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 320 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of my new favorite PNR series! Loved!

    Have you ever started a book and immediately thought to yourself about the heroine, "Oh. Oh, I am going to like HER" - And then, if you are lucky, you move on to the hero and immediately think to yourself, "Oh. Oh yeah, I LIKE this guy. oh yes." Well, that pretty much sums up my initial reaction to the heroine Pia Giovanni and the hero Dragos Cuelebre in Dragon Bound. And it all got even better from there.

    In Thea Harrison's debut novel of her new Elder Races series, she mastered the art of developing the heroine Pia in a perfect combination of vulnerability and moxy. She had me at Twizzlers and Cherry Coke Slushees. And oh my, Dragos. The most ancient of Others, he is a fierce alpha dragon and also the multibillionaire of Cuelebre Enterprise who has seen everything, been everywhere, and yet has found himself in a state of boring complacency. Pia's ex-boyfriend has blackmailed her in to doing the unthinkable. stealing a coin from Dragos's hoard. When he discovers the violation he blasts off in to a dragon-sized rage that costs him a good hundreds of millions $ in damage to New York City. As a unique half-wyr, living cautiously and on the run is nothing new to Pia to keep her heritage a secret, so immediately going on the run again to escape Dragos and the crime of theft she has commited is not unfamiliar to her. Except that Dragos is the most Powerful creature in the Universe, so she is pretty sure she's done for. Dragos makes it his mission to hunt her down, and he does just that thanks to the note she wrote and left for him in chicken-scratch on the back of a 7-11 receipt.
    The chase, the capture, the journey, it was all filled with entertaining action, beautiful world building and steamy tension. Turns out that Pia was just a pawn in a much larger scale Power play and Dragos learns just how unique she truly is to the magical world, but also to him. They find themselves completely enamored with one another and Dragos vows to protect Pia at all costs.
    The world building Ms. Harrison has created is very complex and vivid. The world of Other has gryphons and gargoyles, dark and light fae, goblins and witches. There are some demesnes that stay topside, such as Dragos in New York City and the Light Fae in Charleston. There are other species such as the Goblins who are unable to glamor and therefor stay on the Other side because they look really ugly and stinky really bad. The inter-Elder politics are very well-thought out and executed, and the secondary characters are just as awesome as the primary. The next book, Storm's Heart, will center around Cuelebre Enterprise's former PR fae, Thistle Periwinkle, aka Tricks, who is just a riot.
    This is a romance story, but a romance story with major plottage that will leave you yelling at your friends and family to quit interrupting you so that you can freaking read already. I was enamored from start to finish. Go forth and read! And have no fear, the second and third books of this series will be out later this year in 2011! I have them both marked on my calendar and they will be auto-buys. A quick thank-you-you-were-right!! goes to Mandi of Smexy Books who convincingly brought this book to my immediate attention!
    - Reviewed as "Spaz" at wickedlilpixie(dot)com

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best PNR I've read this year!

    From the first sentence on I was hooked. I could not put this down, the world building was first rate, the characters were well thought out, and the editing was spot on. The mixture of magic and technology made sense. The supporting characters were also well thought out. Each of them I felt could star in their own stories. A different take on shape changers, unlike any I've read before and yet completely logical.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    A MUST READ

    I was wary of reading this. I'm normally a Christine Feehan, J.R Ward & Sherrilyn Kenyon reader & I haven't found a lot of other writers who are as good as they are.
    I was pleasantly surprised and ended up loving this book: the stroy held my attention from the moment I started reading and I only put it down when I had to tend to my 2 month old. Loved the main characters and the "supporting cast" as well. Now I'm onto the 2nd book in the series and can't wait to read the rest!!!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an entertaining romantic urban fantasy

    In the New York Magic District, known locally as the Cauldron, hybrid human-Wyr Pia Giovanni knows her mission is fatal, but feels she has few options. Her slimy ex blackmails her into stealing a penny from Dragos Cuelebre, a powerful Elder Race dragon. Though she left a penny behind and an apology note, Pia knows he will find her with the only question being when. She is so desperate she buys a binding spell from Adela the witch owner of Divinus.

    Dragos tracks down the thief, but instead of killing Pia as she expects, he is attracted to her. Soon after their first in person encounter, Goblins attack them and capture them. Dragos realizes a very powerful adversary the Dark Fae King Urien wants him dead and that Pia could be caught in the crossfire if his ancient enemy learns who she is to him.

    This is an entertaining romantic urban fantasy starring two intriguing individuals as the heroine is Manhattan shtick and the hero is alpha male. The story line roars out of the gate like the express train under the streets as the irate Dragos, known for dining on humans, seeks the thief while Pia seeks her fifteen minutes of fame. Although his possessiveness of his mate is overkill (even if he has an ancient lifetime), sub-genre fans will enjoy the denizen of the Cauldron as like much of the Big Apple light and dark energies flow freely, just more eerier there as a paranormal hangout for dragons, wyr, witches and fae, etc.

    Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love this book

    I borrowed this book twice from the library before buying my own copy. What can I say? The characters are engaging, the storyline is perfect and there is a perfect balance between suspense, humor and love.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Excellent

    Characters were easy to follow, storyline definite fantasy, great for kicking back and just escaping. Will definitely pick up the next in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Perfect

    Read it in one sitting and turned right around and reread it again. Great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Creative, Intriguing...LOVED IT!!!

    I just saw that this book made Eloisa James list of 6 favorite romances she's re-read this year. As I was scrolling down the list, I thought, "I wonder if Dragon Bound made it?" and there it was! Really a fun book...my daughter and I are hooked on this series!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Awesome

    I've read alot of books in alot of different genres....and this is hands down THE best romantic story i have ever read...perfect pitch...neither character is an idiot....Pia is awesome as a strong women who knows her mind, without having to be cold or totally kicka**...humor, perfectly scattered thru the book...secondary characters well fleshed out....wonderful...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    In LOVE!!!!!!!!!! with Thea Harrison's writing!

    I have fallen in love this story and her writing style! I have read this book twice in a row, read the last page then turned to the first to start it all over again! I have not done that with a book before! I just love this book soo much. Thank you Thea Harrison for writing and having the strength to risk rejection in order to get Dragon Bound published. Thank You!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Who knew dragons could be so sexy?

    Pia is blackmailed by her ex-boyfriend to steal something from the wyr-dragon, Dragos.. Determined not to give her ex anything valuable, she grabs a penny from a jar and replaces it with another one and writes a note saying that she is sorry. Easy peasy, right? NOPE! Dragos quickly finds the impostor penny and freaks out. He puts a tracking spell on Pia so that he can hunt her down and make her pay. The only problem is, when he finds her he no longer wants to rend her limb from limb but instead wants to keep her as his new treasure.

    The story is written half in Pia's head and half in Dragos'. So you pretty much always know what the other character is thinking. This made for some interesting dialogue. Speaking of dialogue, that was pretty much my favorite part of the book. Not that the steamy scenes weren't good and all but I loved the way they talked to each other. You see, Dragos is used to being the highest on the food chain. He isn't used to having to be nice to people to get his way, he just tells them what to do and they do it. So when Pia comes along and she tells him when people ask for something they say please, he quickly catches on and uses that to his advantage to get what he wants from her.

    The pace of the book ran along smoothly. The story doesn't just contain Pia and Dragos. You see when Pia ran to hide from Dragos after stealing the penny, she hid on elven territory which is land forbidden to Dragos. Although he doesn't care and goes there anyway to find his thief which causes a little bit of trouble. Which sort of snowballs into more trouble after that.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    If you love J.R, Ward read this!

    These guys are as awesome as the BDB! Tough on the outside but mush on the inside. Beautiful writing, very descriptive and emotional. A whole new world to explore as well, Looking forward to more books in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Loved it!

    Can not wait to read more of the series! A real feel good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2014

    This is one of those books that you pick up and can't put down u

    This is one of those books that you pick up and can't put down until you've finished the very last page.  And then sit panting, waiting for the next book.  Full of fun, laughter, danger, dragons, and a number of other creatures, it keeps you engrossed until the very end!  Don't take this one to bed with any intention of actually falling asleep!  Great read that begins a fantastic series!  I recommend it highly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2014

    Loved this book.

    Loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Wow, Yummy, Sizzle, Gasp

    Very well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    I was just getting interested in books about dragons when I boug

    I was just getting interested in books about dragons when I bought this book. I am very hesitant about trying new authors so I left it sitting on the shelf for nearly two months. When I finally got around to reading it I could believe I waited so long to read it!!! I loved the whole thing! I never want the story line to end, I would like for it to rival the Eve Dallas series in volumes! This is one of those books that makes me want to buy a copy for everyone in the store :) KH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Great read

    A great story that pulls you in from the beginning, great characters and a thrilling world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Exceptionally good--don't miss out on this one!

    I loved this book from the first paragraph. The characters grabbed me from the get-go, the world-building is very good, the story line is fresh and original, and Ms. Harrison's writing style is smooth and accessible. If you like paranormal romances, you'll love this one. If you've never tried a paranormal romance or haven't been impressed with the ones you have read so far, I suggest giving this one a try. A keeper, and one of my all-time favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    New favorite author!

    I have finally found a new author to add to my cache and I am totally stoked! I love that Pia, the main character, is not your typical female who needs saving every other day. She is strong yet vulnerable at the same time. I can't wait to read the other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 320 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16