Customer Reviews for

Dragon Champion (Age of Fire Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

fine fantasy saga

When Auron broke out of his egg, he saw one of the hatchlings kill another and the one who did the killing was left lame. Elves and dwarves entered their cave while their father was away, killing his mother and one of his sisters. Auron and another sister survived and...
When Auron broke out of his egg, he saw one of the hatchlings kill another and the one who did the killing was left lame. Elves and dwarves entered their cave while their father was away, killing his mother and one of his sisters. Auron and another sister survived and he used himself as bait to draw the people who wanted to enslave him so his sister could race to freedom and find their father. --- Auron is caught and taken on a boat but a kind hearted elf frees him. He befriends a trading dwarf who removes the collar off his neck and helps him guard the caravan of goods taken to the steppes. After his job is complete Auron cares for a human child but before he can get her to her people, they meet the oldest known dragon who covets knowledge not treasure. After he takes the girl to a human settlement, he returns to the dragon┬┐s cave to learn all he can. Auron becomes the feudal lord of a group of blighter hominids that once ruled the world but are now on the point of extinction. Circumstances force him to leave his domain when he finds out the wizard behind the deaths of his mother and sister is now using enslaved and bewitched dragons and some blighters who join him willingly to do away with all the hominid races races. Auron must find away to stop him or the world that he knows will be destroyed. --- E.E. Knight makes the transition from the science fiction of his Vampire Earth series to a fantasy saga with an ease at s amazing but not surprising with someone with his enormous amount of writing talent. Told from the perspective of a dragon fresh from the egg to sixty years of age (a toddler in dragon terms) readers will be enchanted by this touching story about a species persecuted, hunted, and killed to the point of near extinction. The audience will love Auron and will look forward to future tales about him. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Loved the idea ...

Loved the idea of a fantasy from the dragon's point of view, unfortunately after the first chapter the book became tedious and I put it down, hope one day I will pick up and finish, but probably not anytime soon.

posted by BlueReader on August 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Great book, don't get caught-up in the brutality of life depicted.

    The begining of the book had me wondering if I would like it, the end of the book had be loving it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Cute story and a must read for dragon lovers!

    This is a cute story that sweeps you away in the first few pages! I loved the story line, and the authors ability to put you right in the main characters frame of mind. It is well written, and easy to follow. I just loved every page of it! I am thrilled with the all the books in this series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    A Dragon is the Protagonist!

    I loved the originality of this book. I have never read a story where the dragon is the Point of View, and certainly have never read what it's like to be inside a dragon egg trying to get into that big wide world. It was also darkly humorous to be on the mouth end when a dragon eats a human! I did sympathize with the dragon despite this, a credit to the author. My only gripe about the whole book is that the ending felt very rushed. It was like the villain and his evil plan were props that had to be discarded so book II could get a nice clean start. Knight impressed me by shifting gears to fantasy and keeping things fairly fresh. For example, his dwarves are more merchants than typical miner/warriors. I found that clever. I do look forward to the next book of the series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine fantasy saga

    When Auron broke out of his egg, he saw one of the hatchlings kill another and the one who did the killing was left lame. Elves and dwarves entered their cave while their father was away, killing his mother and one of his sisters. Auron and another sister survived and he used himself as bait to draw the people who wanted to enslave him so his sister could race to freedom and find their father. --- Auron is caught and taken on a boat but a kind hearted elf frees him. He befriends a trading dwarf who removes the collar off his neck and helps him guard the caravan of goods taken to the steppes. After his job is complete Auron cares for a human child but before he can get her to her people, they meet the oldest known dragon who covets knowledge not treasure. After he takes the girl to a human settlement, he returns to the dragon¿s cave to learn all he can. Auron becomes the feudal lord of a group of blighter hominids that once ruled the world but are now on the point of extinction. Circumstances force him to leave his domain when he finds out the wizard behind the deaths of his mother and sister is now using enslaved and bewitched dragons and some blighters who join him willingly to do away with all the hominid races races. Auron must find away to stop him or the world that he knows will be destroyed. --- E.E. Knight makes the transition from the science fiction of his Vampire Earth series to a fantasy saga with an ease at s amazing but not surprising with someone with his enormous amount of writing talent. Told from the perspective of a dragon fresh from the egg to sixty years of age (a toddler in dragon terms) readers will be enchanted by this touching story about a species persecuted, hunted, and killed to the point of near extinction. The audience will love Auron and will look forward to future tales about him. --- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Dragon Tale

    This is a unique tale as seen from a dragon's point of view. Knight has populated this fantasy with classic creatures such as dragons, elves and dwarves which seem familiar while making them original and fresh. This series focuses on three dragon siblings who face betryal, hardship, love, adventure, ect... each from their own perspective. With a great plot and memorable characters, these books bring a unique look to the classic dragon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    Absolutely amazing

    It can't be explained. It is just an amazing book. It started off good, but a bit cheezy. buhowever, once it got near the middle and end of the book, it was amazing. I could not put down the book and I finished the rest of it within two days (that is quick for me, because i am a slow reader). It is a book with the storyline of a young adult book and the violence of an adult book. Has happy times, sad times, violent times, and moments that will give you goosebumps. I reccomend it to anyone who loves dragons and loves fantasy. I cant wait to read the next few of this series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Only drawback is the poor spellcheck review before publishing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Loved the idea ...

    Loved the idea of a fantasy from the dragon's point of view, unfortunately after the first chapter the book became tedious and I put it down, hope one day I will pick up and finish, but probably not anytime soon.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2007

    For Dragon Lovers..., THIS IS FOR YOU!

    I was luckey enough to be bored and I started book searching on this site, and I came across this wonderful Dragon book. The book it's self is an insperation..., Auron is an amazing Dragon, there was sooooo much action and a lot of other great things in this book..., I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    a dragon and fanatsy book lover!

    This is the best fantasy book i've ever read! For all you dragon and mythical creature lovers pick up this book and read it because i garrentee u will not put this book this book down without a fight! This book is about the life a grey dragon! He befriends dwarfs, elves, humans, etc! This fantastic tale will lead u through scenes that will leave u on the edge of ur seat, scenes that will have u want to cry, scenes that will make u very angry! But don't just take my word for it read it yourself!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    Dragon Champion...A ALMOST well written book.

    The book started out slow in the first couple of chapters, and then went on to draw me into the life of the unique grey dragon. The charcters were portrayed in a different view from that of Tolkien or Paolini which was refreshing. The only complaint was that the book skipped alote of datail, and was rushed in the end. It would have been nice if this story line would have started up in the second book to come and intertwine with a new story line. If you dont go for all of the detail in works like that of tolkien and paolini then this book would be exactly what you are looking for

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    This story is a great idea - telling the story from the dragon's

    This story is a great idea - telling the story from the dragon's point of view, starting with pre-hatching memories. The story line progresses well throughtout the series, good character developement, great and fully believable story line progression over an extended period of time; ideas that make you think. But be forewarned. The finale in the final book- 60 pages for the final confrontation, wrap-up, epilogue to the previous 2000 pages was so inadequate. An excellant journey with a destination of sea foam- no ocean view to enjoy, just sea foam. If you like the ride, you will enjoy the series. Just don't expect any real completion, it's not there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I love reading about dragons, but in the books I read there are

    I love reading about dragons, but in the books I read there are always humans that are the main characters instead of the dragons themselves. This is the beginning of an extraordinary saga that took my breath away. The world is from the dragons point of view which makes the books even more amazing. In this first installment, you follow Auron, later AuRon, a rare scaleless grey dragon. He has just escaped the brutal murder of his mother and sister, leaving him alone with his sister, Wistala. Soon after leaving the safety of their egg cave - the only place they have ever known - they separate, leaving Auron alone. Throughout the book, you read about he views the world around him. You meet friends to love and enemies you wish that would just go away. Growing from hatchling to a full-grown male, AuRon is an exceptional character. I would reccomend this to anyone who has a love for dragons or fantasy. E. E. Knight has brought on a new world of dragons that I believe is as potent as Lord of the Rings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Ignore thenone below this

    He is ruining this good story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    An excellent start to a great series.

    Auron, a grey dragon and a survivor of an vicious attack on his home cave, wanders the land in search of his species and subsequently embarks on an adventure full of unexpected friendships and dangerous enemies. E. E. Knight has created an amazing book with an unique perspective from a dragon's viewpoint that will be a treat for fantasy and dragon lovers alike. The book interested me enough that I had to give it a 5/5. I highly recommend this book if you want a novel with a distinctive point of view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Pages?

    How many pages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Glad I went back to reading

    Can't wait to srart reading the next one. Wish I read faster,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was awesome

    This book had good characters, thrilling pages and I couldn't stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    A Must-Read Book for the Adventurous and Bold!!

    The novel Dragon Champion by E.E. Knight is a wonderful fantasy book. I was kept entranced throughout the whole story by Knight's brilliant ability to portray characters others of us have never seen before (ie. blighters, elves, dragons). Auron's growth, from when he first hatched out of the egg to when he becomes a full-fledged dragon after gaining his wings, is vividly detailed with close encounters with humans, dwarves, and especially other dragons. But it is Auron's gift of language and wisdom, which is much beyond his own years, that never fails to prove him triumphant in the end.
    The best part of the story is the idea that dragons are intelligent and maybe even gentle beings. It is an exhausted and overused stereotype that these vicious winged beasts thirst for human flesh and the blood of young maidens. But Knight has painted quite a different picture in Dragon Champion. From the very start, the reader is introduced with a "survival of the fittest" scenario. Auron kills his egg brother, a red-scaled hatchling, using his unshed egg tooth and maims the other, a copper. But after this gory scene, Knight shows a drastically different side of dragons. During the cold and bitter winters, Auron's mother is never hesitant to sacrifice her own health if it means more meat for her two dragonelles (female dragons) and Clutch Champion, Auron. His father, AuRel, repeatedly comes home with spear wounds and sword slashes to his hide whenever he's caught raiding a village's farm for his hungry brood. And both parents' wisdom is passed down to their offspring through "mind pictures." It is through these pictures, and later through a dangerous relationship with an ancient black dragon named NooMoahk, that Auron expands his repertoire of the various languages of humans, dwarves, Blighters, and even elves.
    Around the middle of the book, the paces starts to slow down considerably when Auron (now AuRon for he has breathed his first fire and gained his wings) settles down as High Chief of a Blighter clan. But it quickly gets going again as AuRon's first love enters with the arrival of a beautiful green dragonelle named Natasatch.
    All in all, Dragon Champion is a superb story for the fantasy lover who enjoys a relatively fast-paced novel filled with action that is devoid of sentimentality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Book Ever

    This is my all time favorite book, I love it to death, and I hope to one day meet E. E. Knight, and complement him on his freaking awesome book. This book is thrilling, dramatic, romantic, bloody, creative, and funny: all the trademarks of a great fantasy. I am currently trying to find E. E. Knight's other book series, Vampire Earth, and read that as well. Here is one thing I have to say: I've read the whole series, (Well, as much as he's made, I'm waiting for Dragon Rule to come out)and it is by far my favorite. Now I just have to see if Vampire Earth will take the First Place Spot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5