Customer Reviews for

The Dragon Factory (Joe Ledger Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    joe ledgar is the man!!!!

    The dragon factory being the second joe ledgar book is just as unique and maybe even better than the first. At first, when i found out there was going to be another joe ledgar story, i thought it would have to include zombies just like the first, but man did maberry throw me for a loop. The series has the whole X-files thing and maberry makes sci-fi seem so realistic. I just can't believe how much action and character development is crammed into these books, there is never a boring page. I admit, at first i only picked up patient zero for its zombie storyline, but now, i want to read every tale of joe ledgar. I also read that this series is supposed to be optioned for a tv series. If anybody wants a thriller and action packed story, this is the one! Also if anybody is a resident evil fan, read Patient Zero, it seems just like a plot of resident evil and i don't know who is more like joe ledgar; Chris Redfield or Leon Kennedy? Other recommendations; The whole Vampire Academy Series, Any Scott Sigler book or podcast, One Second After, The Ruins, Fragment, World War Z, Monster Nation series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    A must read

    After reading Rot and Ruin, I couldn't stop reading your books. The Rot and Ruin series was a blast and I am excited for Flesh and Bones. Anyways, this series was a hell of a ride so far but has a sad and unexpected ending in this book. But it wont stop me from reading the rest of the series! Keep up the good work!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Close to the best if not the best

    The action parts are awesome and will keep you wanting more and even the slow parts are well written and interesting. defiantly worth the read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    This is awesome!!! i loved it!

    This book will have you on the edge of your seat or wherever your sitting and will have you guessing until the very end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Dragon Factory by Jonathan Maberry is a science fiction acti

    The Dragon Factory by Jonathan Maberry is a science fiction action thriller. This is book 2 (of 6) in the Joe Ledger Series featuring the Department of Military Sciences (DMS).

    The book is about some left over Nazis trying to fulfill the Nazi agenda of killing off all human races they believe to be inferior. The way they are orchestrating this is to develop a way for genetic diseases to be changed so that they are more of a virus or bacterial infection. These Nazis have been experimenting with gene therapy, transgenics, and cloning. Our hero Joe Ledger, and his team, is tasked with tracking down the source of a video showing a hunt of a unicorn. This includes sneaking into a large storage facility deep in the mountains of Denver, finding and rescuing the boy who sent the video, and bringing down the bad guys. 

    The DMS’s work is made harder at the beginning of the story due to forces within our own government trying to shut them down. Additionally, Joe and Grace’s relationship continues to grow, putting them in the difficult position of an attachment that makes things harder for a warrior. More of Joe’s personality comes through here. He exhibits all three aspects of his personality, but he is mostly in warrior mode throughout this book. Church continues to be a strong leader through the difficulties he faces in saving the DMS. The enemies include 2 Nazi scientists, a couple of twins that are considered the children of one of the scientists, and an assassin. The team also runs up against Russians, genetically altered soldiers, and genetically altered animals.

    The story is told from the point of view of many of the different characters. All are in the third person except for Joe Ledger’s, which is in the first person. I found this very interesting and was able to follow the story very well through the different viewpoints. It’s a longer story, but all parts are needed to tell it completely. The structure of the story makes sense and works very well. It’s obvious that Maberry spent a lot of time researching the subject matter and he provides a lot of information relating to the research the Nazis are doing. 

    The characters are very credible both the evil Nazis and the bigger than life heroes. The heroes are the kind we like to see. My favorite character is Joe Ledger. This may be because he takes up so much of the story and because he is a bigger than life personality with many likeable qualities. My second favorite in the series is most probably Rudy, Joe’s best friend. Although Rudy played a small role in this story, it was significant and admirable. 

    I was very willing to read another Joe Ledger book after reading the first one, Patient Zero. And even though I have a pile of other books to read I will be making it a priority to read the rest of the Joe Ledger series. This is a book (and series) that I highly recommend to those who like science fiction, action, thrillers, and military engagements. I believe that it is appropriate for teens as well as adults. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Another great ledger story

    The final chapters blew my mind!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2013

    Book two of the Joe Ledger series continues to impress. The same

    Book two of the Joe Ledger series continues to impress. The same cast of characters returns to face new threats against humanity. No zombies this time but there are enough seriously bad guys and other items from your nightmare to bring together a riveting story. The action is fast and furious and the author pulls no punches. As the body count piles high, anyone can be snuffed out at any time in this book as only the strongest will survive and main characters are not exempt. If you like action this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Best of the Ledger series

    Loved this book. so far I have read all the short stories and the first 3 novels of teh series and this is my favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    The most disturbing Joe Ledger novel

    Generally, Maberry serves a heaping helping of teenage adrenaline with a good dollop of humor and an annoying side of rationalization for cruelty and violence in the public good (the Brussels sprouts, if you will) -- all plated on an exciting, if highly implausible, narrative. This has an added, uncharacteristic ingredient: a truly disturbing twin brother/sister pair of psychos who steal the show. Had the been a little more fully developed, Maberry would have had a classic on his hands. Even so, the book is an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    what a ride..

    Way better than the first, but the first was epic.. loved it . Joe is my hero.. sir keep up the good work..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Nice Action

    Worth the money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Go ledger

    I just want to say maberry has created a new world for me i cant wait until i can meet maberry ive been aa fan since patient zero and have read eveery mabberry bok i can get my hands on bravo cant wait to take your writing class

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Good book two....however

    I enjoyed this book. However, I must say that I liked the first one better. I found this author because I have been reading a lot of zombie fiction and book one falls into that genre. This book takes the hero on a totally different journey. I wish that it had more details of the creatures that were created. I thought that they were interesting. I will definitely read book three as I am enjoying the series but if you’re looking for more zombie adventures this is not the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Anonymus

    Loved the book great polt line that kept me reading longer than i wanted to. The ending was to deppressing for me but it was still a great book looking forward to reading the next two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Fun, exciting, action-packed read.

    Joe Ledger is at his best again in this globetrotting tale. Full of intrigue and action, this book is hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Joe Ledger is my hero

    Joe is such a guy. But he is great. And each story so far is outstanding

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    Awesome book!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    NOT AVAILABLE FOR NOOK!!

    I read the first book in the series, but the new book is only available for the kindle through amazon! What gives? When I bought my nook b&n sales people said I could order books from amazon as well as b&n. It isnt that simple. I would rather b&n just kept up with amazon and offered more books in digital form for the nook. Make "The Dragon Factory" available for the nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow!!!!

    this book is fantastic.....boys and girls get ready for a thrilling, page turning adventure of your life. Put your seatbelt on and enjoy the ride!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    An incredible sci fi thriller that encompasses several topical subjects......

    Maberry became one of my favorite authors with his first Joe Ledger novel, Patient Zero. He manages to incorporate several themes (genetic research, genocide, racial prejudice, politics) that were both timely and thought-provoking in this new novel, The Dragon Factory.The action is ferocious, the plot is fascinating and seamless, the dialog is great, and the pacing is lightening quick (even though the book is 486 pages short!). His ability to bring complex subjects and characters to life is engrossing and I found it difficult to put the book down when real life interrupted me! I can't wait for the next Ledger book, and I tell you, it won't get here soon enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6