Customer Reviews for

Dragon Games (Books of Umber Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    AMAZING

    BEST SERIES EVER

    P.S. 100000000000000000 out of five stars on the series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Even more mysterious than the first.

    This book is considerably more darker and mysterious than the first. Still, excellent story!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Awesome!

    I love this sries and hope that the next one is as good as this one. I noticed that Hap is being rather sensible, whereas Umber is the opposite. Hope he changes soon!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    101011010000101

    11110100101010101010101010001001001000011110100110101101011010101001010001111010100011110

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    COOL

    It was so awesome but i really thought haps confrontation with WN was cool

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Awsome

    After the first book i was hooked!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down!

    I loved this whole series and this installment did not disappoint. Full of adventure and mystery. The series ends with book three and I was hoping for many more. The characters and story are so well done. Simply loved it, highly recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thief = hero in this story....

    The Thief and the Beanstalk by P.W. Catanese

    Does this title have a familiar ring to it? From the first page I knew I was hooked. Mr. Catanese takes us back to the old familiar tale of Jack and his magic beanstalk.
    Our story starts out with a new face, Nick, who much like Jack was a very poor individual not knowing where his next meal was coming from. Nick who was orphaned due to a plague that took his parents, is wandering the land just trying to survive. As we start the story we also see a band of thieves wandering the countryside in search of wealth and glory. All of our characters know a tale of a man named Jack who lives off far "North and West" of here. This man Jack is very wealthy in a white fortress that is impenetrable. His wealth is "said" to have come from a magical place that he went to after planting magic beans and growing a magical beanstalk.
    We find in the band of thieves a most gruesome character named Finch. Finch on the exterior is a handsome man who maybe doesn't look like he belongs with these ruffians. However when Nick encounters Finch in the middle of an abandoned farm, one look into the terrifying look of his eyes and Nick knew that the exterior man did not match the monster within.
    Finch has plan to find this "Jack fellow" and steal all his riches. They find Jack's pearly white fortress and only Nick can get in by climbing the vines that are crawling up the fortress walls.
    After some hearty meals and a change of clothing, Nick is ready.
    He climbs into Jack's fortress and finds a curious room. A room filled with paintings that are almost telling us a story....a story of a young boy in a magical world...filled with giants, and hens that lay golden eggs.....
    and as he is looking...Nick is caught! by none other than Jack himself! Jack a now old man has some heavy burdens he has been carrying around for years....was Jack the hero of his story? Did he kill the giant? Find out for yourself! Jack gives Nick some beans (much like the ones Jack was given in trade for his cow) and see what happens when Nick climbs the beanstalk this time....will Nick make it back to our world??????

    This enchanting story should be shared with many! I absolutely loved reading it and revisiting not only an old friend but my childhood as well...I recommend this one to readers of all ages....
    Enjoy!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful series

    As an elementary school teacher and librarian I am always looking for the next great book to reccomend to my students and I have really enjoyed the Books of Umber. Book one was fantastic, the characters and setting are very well written and the story is full of exciting adventure and suprising twists. It was hard waiting for Book 2 but well worth the wait as it delivered even more great adventure as the characters continue to explore this strange world they inhabit. The humorous banter between Oates and Umber always keeps you smiling and the overarching mystery of Happenstance's destiny and how it is tied to the fate of Umber's true home keeps you looking forward to the next book while each book is still a great story on its own. I highly reccomened this series. The only downside is having to wait for book 3!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2