BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Dragon Heir (The Heir Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 410 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Dragon Heir

Looking for a book upon epic proportions? Then go out and pick up The Dragon Heir, by Cinda Williams Chima, with the fights of good versus bad, bad versus bad and even the occasional good versus good. This book has what you need, fight scenes, love stories, betrayals, m...
Looking for a book upon epic proportions? Then go out and pick up The Dragon Heir, by Cinda Williams Chima, with the fights of good versus bad, bad versus bad and even the occasional good versus good. This book has what you need, fight scenes, love stories, betrayals, mysterious magical items and so much more!
Seph is no ordinary seventeen year old boy, nor is his cousin Jack and so many others as well, for they have Weir Stones, a magical stone genetically passed down by their ancestors which give them each powers. Among the six different types of stones, Seph has a wizard stone, Jack would have as well, but due to conditions, was left with a warrior stone. Along with more Weir (powered) friends and a few anaweir (powerless) friends, they try to stop the Rose guilds from regaining power over the lesser guilds.
Along with Maddie, who has powers of her own as well, an elicitor, who sucks up magic instead of using it, like a sponge in water. Maddie refuses to fight, on either side, but when push comes to shove, she'll have to decide on whether or not to help. Especially now that a villain they had forgotten about at their last encounter with him at Second Sister has appeared with something powerful of his own, but only if he gets the right people for it. But little does he know, elicitors maybe be few but they run in packs.
With Leesha Middleton, another wizard, under his control he can sneak through and find out what he needs to know without ever being discovered. If only she was as loyal as he hoped. But with the Roses struggling to regain power, Seph relies on what is called wizard flame, a magic enhancer, not only to be able to protect the barrier to protect him.
The author used the narrator to help explain the reasons for things and the backgrounds of most people; she uses foreshadowing but shows it greatly as Jack reads into the future to discover a major lose in his life. She also uses action sequences during the war between the Roses and the weir of Trinity, Ohio, and uses slow motion action to help show the drama during the war, but is also straight to the point in her dialect, especially when it draws closer to the war. She shows greatly how powerful and stubborn when Nick Snowbeard, a very ancient and powerful wizard says, "it's not in his nature to ask for help," after he had just forcefully put Seph to sleep after maintaining the barrio for twenty-four hours straight.
If magic, wizardry and all things fantasy, this is a great book to pick up, it's full of action, puzzles, and even a romantic story or two. But to better understand it pick up The Warrior Heir and The Wizard Heir, the first two in the Heir series, both as action pact as this book and full of great magic filled sequences. And remember to never give, even when chances seem slim, always fight until the end.

posted by Powers414 on March 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I'd have burned it, but then I wouldn't have gotten my 17 bucks back.

It starts off decently, leading you to believe that it will be what the summary promised. Then it goes downhill. Much of the plot revolves around Madison, hardly giving Jason any time and when he does appear, it's sort lived. By the end of the book, I was in shock. I'm ...
It starts off decently, leading you to believe that it will be what the summary promised. Then it goes downhill. Much of the plot revolves around Madison, hardly giving Jason any time and when he does appear, it's sort lived. By the end of the book, I was in shock. I'm not a fan of happy endings myself but at least when the first two ended, the person they were supposedly about lived. Jason had no such luck.

The series needed one more book and for the plot in TDH to be cut in half. It felt too rushed.

The cover art is gorgeous. I'll give it that but overall, I was not happy by what I read.

posted by Boochers823 on February 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 414 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    I'd have burned it, but then I wouldn't have gotten my 17 bucks back.

    It starts off decently, leading you to believe that it will be what the summary promised. Then it goes downhill. Much of the plot revolves around Madison, hardly giving Jason any time and when he does appear, it's sort lived. By the end of the book, I was in shock. I'm not a fan of happy endings myself but at least when the first two ended, the person they were supposedly about lived. Jason had no such luck.

    The series needed one more book and for the plot in TDH to be cut in half. It felt too rushed.

    The cover art is gorgeous. I'll give it that but overall, I was not happy by what I read.

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    The Dragon Heir

    Looking for a book upon epic proportions? Then go out and pick up The Dragon Heir, by Cinda Williams Chima, with the fights of good versus bad, bad versus bad and even the occasional good versus good. This book has what you need, fight scenes, love stories, betrayals, mysterious magical items and so much more!
    Seph is no ordinary seventeen year old boy, nor is his cousin Jack and so many others as well, for they have Weir Stones, a magical stone genetically passed down by their ancestors which give them each powers. Among the six different types of stones, Seph has a wizard stone, Jack would have as well, but due to conditions, was left with a warrior stone. Along with more Weir (powered) friends and a few anaweir (powerless) friends, they try to stop the Rose guilds from regaining power over the lesser guilds.
    Along with Maddie, who has powers of her own as well, an elicitor, who sucks up magic instead of using it, like a sponge in water. Maddie refuses to fight, on either side, but when push comes to shove, she'll have to decide on whether or not to help. Especially now that a villain they had forgotten about at their last encounter with him at Second Sister has appeared with something powerful of his own, but only if he gets the right people for it. But little does he know, elicitors maybe be few but they run in packs.
    With Leesha Middleton, another wizard, under his control he can sneak through and find out what he needs to know without ever being discovered. If only she was as loyal as he hoped. But with the Roses struggling to regain power, Seph relies on what is called wizard flame, a magic enhancer, not only to be able to protect the barrier to protect him.
    The author used the narrator to help explain the reasons for things and the backgrounds of most people; she uses foreshadowing but shows it greatly as Jack reads into the future to discover a major lose in his life. She also uses action sequences during the war between the Roses and the weir of Trinity, Ohio, and uses slow motion action to help show the drama during the war, but is also straight to the point in her dialect, especially when it draws closer to the war. She shows greatly how powerful and stubborn when Nick Snowbeard, a very ancient and powerful wizard says, "it's not in his nature to ask for help," after he had just forcefully put Seph to sleep after maintaining the barrio for twenty-four hours straight.
    If magic, wizardry and all things fantasy, this is a great book to pick up, it's full of action, puzzles, and even a romantic story or two. But to better understand it pick up The Warrior Heir and The Wizard Heir, the first two in the Heir series, both as action pact as this book and full of great magic filled sequences. And remember to never give, even when chances seem slim, always fight until the end.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Epic Ending to an Epic Tale

    After a week or two of reading, with many distrcations may I add, I finally finished the book today and let me tell you, I love it. The battle was just what I wanted with a little bit of everything thrown in between. I imagined everything in my head as if a movie were playing out, and at times I found myself looking up, to see if there was a fire. (It's like I can see the book come to life so yea haha.) Cinda Williams Chima has created an amazing world here with characters that I loved and loved to hate. The novel is full of twists and turns that keep you turning the next page and even now, hours after finishing the book, I'm still like WOW! All I can really say is that this series is amazing and you should defintely read it. Congratulatina Cinda Williams Chima

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Jbd02

    This is an amazing book. I don't know why people don't like it. It is great!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Lacks Closure

    The Dragon Heir was the most steeply disappointing book in the Heir series, because of the lack of substance given to the reader. In the past two books The Warrior Heir and The Wizard Heir the reader is given two very likeable characters that just cannot seem to fit into normal life. These two characters, Jack and Seph fall very close to home in the ways that they think, and act in ways that in some cases the reader can understand and appreciate. The same cannot be said for The Dragon Heir.
    Many of the questions presented from the very first chapter of the book are not solved until the very end, in a very rushed manner I might add. Some of the questions involving Jason are just dropped off and are never answered, which is as you can imagine a very frustrating occurrence. Maudie on the other hand, has her problems solved almost as an after-thought at the very end of the book. Surely the author could have produced a more thrilling way to conclude a three book series?
    Thrown into the normal mix of personal drama and looming wizard war is the prospect of a massive battle between the Rose houses and the newly established sanctuary. Sounds exciting right? Wrong. Chima does not embellish the fight scenes nearly at all, and keeps them as brief and dull as possible in some scenes. Very disappointing to find out after all the fighting and build-up throughout the series that the author cannot organize a mass engagement of characters in an interesting manner.
    All-in-all I give this book a 6 out of 10. Just because of the lack of closure that is described. I would only recommend this book for someone looking for a reading experience that is slightly below great expectations.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Alright, but could have been better

    I think the author ran out of ideas when she got to this book. It was just more of the same events that happened in the other two books. In the very middle, it's like she had no way to transition from one event to the next, so she just skipped whole sections. I feel like this one took way to long to get to the point, and then when it finally got there ended. I'm disappointed with the structure of the book.
    This is not to say that it was a horrible read, just thrown together haphazardly. The story line is predictable and the end doesn't really surprise you. bleh.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    This book is great!!!!!

    This was my favorite fantasy because it combined magic and might in a setting people can under stand instead of medieval times or the distant future. I think the theme would be not to underestimate women.

    You should read them in order or you may be confused because the series of events in the books are so intertwined that you fell like you are missing some crucial information. The book flows quite well and it is easy to read. It is just as good in my opinion as the inheritance series.

    By my high standards of a fantasy novel this book was great. The only bad thing is it is hard to tell whose point of view you are reading about. I think there should be more books that tell how Madison's little sister deals with being an elictor.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    Expression of gratitude

    The 'Heir' series has been very inspiring to me. Each book displayed just the right amount of modern-day troubles and situations that all are related to the real world outside of the novels. I found that 'The Dragon Heir' was the most inspiring to me. Right now, I'm a high schooler who dreams of being an author for non-fiction/fantasy based novels. I've actually started on writing a 'Blood' series, which I was also inspired by Stephenie Meyer's Twilight series. I haven't had enough dose of the world of fantasy. Both series have been a bigger help than i had thought to begin with. Ihave gives thanks to my two favorite authors, and I hope they continue to write more novels that in which pull in a wide number of people throughtout the world.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    Breathtaking!

    The last book of the Heir trilogy is marvelous! It has action, it takes you deeper into the characters and truly get to know them for who they are. There are twists and turns that you won't be able to guess. (And I'm rather good at calling stuff!) Overall, it has everything a successful novel needs, and that is why it so amazingly good! All fantasy readers will love this book. It is up there with the best fantasy writers of all time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    I was so disapointed

    I decided to read this series after finishing the seven relems series, which i might add is one of my favorite books. I tore this series and finished the first two easily, and rushed to get this one. I read it in about 5 hours with out stop. Not only was the plot lacking and the characters taking a turn for the moody, but she killed my favorite character which is so not ok. All in all it was a good series but i found this book taking it from a 5 star to a 3 star series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Not as good as the other two, but still worth reading

    I'm a huge fan of The Warrior Heir and The Wizard Heir, so I was really excited when this book came out. While I did enjoy it, it left something to be desired. Certain parts I really enjoyed, but I felt that something was missing. The plot got kind of crazy (not in a bad way), and I wasn't entirely satisfied with the end. However, I definitely still recommend to read it - you can't read the first two and not go all the way! Still worth your time and money - I hope this helps :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Great Ending

    Read these three books in school and loved then since.
    Now that i have a NOOK getting tham all. :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Awsome book

    This book of betrail and fights will leterly leave you spellbound. Once you start you'll all but be able to put it down. READ THIS BOOK AND EAT MEH COOKIES!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Don't read the reviews of this book !

    I haven't read the book yet and Now unfortunatly I'm not sure i will. Why do people insist on giving away story details in their reviews. That infuriates me. We are reading the reviews to try and determine if this book is a worthwhile read. Not to skip to the last page of the book. We don't want to know who dies and who lives. Granted that one detail may or may not make the book in itself but why put that in your review. Anyway for the rest of you who have not yet read this book. Do not read any futher reviews unless you want part of the story ruined for you. Most of the future reviews rate this as a good book, with a realistic ending more so than a happy ever after ending for all. Leave it at that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    Great Book

    This book was very good with a great plot and story line. It was a dangerous and exciting book that will keep you at the edge of your seat during the whole book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series to Read!

    I loved reading this book and the other two books in the series. It was a very absorbing story that was hard to put down. I think the characters are very easy to connect with, and the pace of the story is steady. I think this was definitely a good series of books to find.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Fantastic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Amazing

    A great continuom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Add some more to it

    Madison moss had a lot happening and therefore should have told Seph. Had she of done that, then she would have helped more and not had J.R. and Grace kidnapped. By the by, Carlene is a terrible mother and i would have loved for her to be stolen instead because she was very useless and deserved to die. Also the Ropers should of had more to do with the war such as joining the Roses and trying to kill Seph to get back at Madison

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    Even though I did like this conclusion of the heir trilogy, I fe

    Even though I did like this conclusion of the heir trilogy, I felt there were many areas lacking, places where it just did not make sense. Key figures leave the sanctuary where they were needed most and the reason not really substantiated. I felt Madison should have confided to someone and worked out her problem, even Jason would have been a good one to talk to. We were given hints about many of the characters but no details. It just had some holes that were never really filled. Even our heroic loss seemed to have been preventable.

    I did however like the way in which the dragon scene plays out. And it does have a fairly happy ending. I would have liked more explanations in the end and more from our characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 414 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21