Customer Reviews for

The Dragon Heir (Heir Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 409 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Dragon Heir

Looking for a book upon epic proportions? Then go out and pick up The Dragon Heir, by Cinda Williams Chima, with the fights of good versus bad, bad versus bad and even the occasional good versus good. This book has what you need, fight scenes, love stories, betrayals, m...
Looking for a book upon epic proportions? Then go out and pick up The Dragon Heir, by Cinda Williams Chima, with the fights of good versus bad, bad versus bad and even the occasional good versus good. This book has what you need, fight scenes, love stories, betrayals, mysterious magical items and so much more!
Seph is no ordinary seventeen year old boy, nor is his cousin Jack and so many others as well, for they have Weir Stones, a magical stone genetically passed down by their ancestors which give them each powers. Among the six different types of stones, Seph has a wizard stone, Jack would have as well, but due to conditions, was left with a warrior stone. Along with more Weir (powered) friends and a few anaweir (powerless) friends, they try to stop the Rose guilds from regaining power over the lesser guilds.
Along with Maddie, who has powers of her own as well, an elicitor, who sucks up magic instead of using it, like a sponge in water. Maddie refuses to fight, on either side, but when push comes to shove, she'll have to decide on whether or not to help. Especially now that a villain they had forgotten about at their last encounter with him at Second Sister has appeared with something powerful of his own, but only if he gets the right people for it. But little does he know, elicitors maybe be few but they run in packs.
With Leesha Middleton, another wizard, under his control he can sneak through and find out what he needs to know without ever being discovered. If only she was as loyal as he hoped. But with the Roses struggling to regain power, Seph relies on what is called wizard flame, a magic enhancer, not only to be able to protect the barrier to protect him.
The author used the narrator to help explain the reasons for things and the backgrounds of most people; she uses foreshadowing but shows it greatly as Jack reads into the future to discover a major lose in his life. She also uses action sequences during the war between the Roses and the weir of Trinity, Ohio, and uses slow motion action to help show the drama during the war, but is also straight to the point in her dialect, especially when it draws closer to the war. She shows greatly how powerful and stubborn when Nick Snowbeard, a very ancient and powerful wizard says, "it's not in his nature to ask for help," after he had just forcefully put Seph to sleep after maintaining the barrio for twenty-four hours straight.
If magic, wizardry and all things fantasy, this is a great book to pick up, it's full of action, puzzles, and even a romantic story or two. But to better understand it pick up The Warrior Heir and The Wizard Heir, the first two in the Heir series, both as action pact as this book and full of great magic filled sequences. And remember to never give, even when chances seem slim, always fight until the end.

posted by Powers414 on March 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I'd have burned it, but then I wouldn't have gotten my 17 bucks back.

It starts off decently, leading you to believe that it will be what the summary promised. Then it goes downhill. Much of the plot revolves around Madison, hardly giving Jason any time and when he does appear, it's sort lived. By the end of the book, I was in shock. I'm ...
It starts off decently, leading you to believe that it will be what the summary promised. Then it goes downhill. Much of the plot revolves around Madison, hardly giving Jason any time and when he does appear, it's sort lived. By the end of the book, I was in shock. I'm not a fan of happy endings myself but at least when the first two ended, the person they were supposedly about lived. Jason had no such luck.

The series needed one more book and for the plot in TDH to be cut in half. It felt too rushed.

The cover art is gorgeous. I'll give it that but overall, I was not happy by what I read.

posted by Boochers823 on February 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Lacks Closure

    The Dragon Heir was the most steeply disappointing book in the Heir series, because of the lack of substance given to the reader. In the past two books The Warrior Heir and The Wizard Heir the reader is given two very likeable characters that just cannot seem to fit into normal life. These two characters, Jack and Seph fall very close to home in the ways that they think, and act in ways that in some cases the reader can understand and appreciate. The same cannot be said for The Dragon Heir.
    Many of the questions presented from the very first chapter of the book are not solved until the very end, in a very rushed manner I might add. Some of the questions involving Jason are just dropped off and are never answered, which is as you can imagine a very frustrating occurrence. Maudie on the other hand, has her problems solved almost as an after-thought at the very end of the book. Surely the author could have produced a more thrilling way to conclude a three book series?
    Thrown into the normal mix of personal drama and looming wizard war is the prospect of a massive battle between the Rose houses and the newly established sanctuary. Sounds exciting right? Wrong. Chima does not embellish the fight scenes nearly at all, and keeps them as brief and dull as possible in some scenes. Very disappointing to find out after all the fighting and build-up throughout the series that the author cannot organize a mass engagement of characters in an interesting manner.
    All-in-all I give this book a 6 out of 10. Just because of the lack of closure that is described. I would only recommend this book for someone looking for a reading experience that is slightly below great expectations.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Alright, but could have been better

    I think the author ran out of ideas when she got to this book. It was just more of the same events that happened in the other two books. In the very middle, it's like she had no way to transition from one event to the next, so she just skipped whole sections. I feel like this one took way to long to get to the point, and then when it finally got there ended. I'm disappointed with the structure of the book.
    This is not to say that it was a horrible read, just thrown together haphazardly. The story line is predictable and the end doesn't really surprise you. bleh.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Don't read the reviews of this book !

    I haven't read the book yet and Now unfortunatly I'm not sure i will. Why do people insist on giving away story details in their reviews. That infuriates me. We are reading the reviews to try and determine if this book is a worthwhile read. Not to skip to the last page of the book. We don't want to know who dies and who lives. Granted that one detail may or may not make the book in itself but why put that in your review. Anyway for the rest of you who have not yet read this book. Do not read any futher reviews unless you want part of the story ruined for you. Most of the future reviews rate this as a good book, with a realistic ending more so than a happy ever after ending for all. Leave it at that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Ok

    She killed all of the characters i liked(not cool) and ruins the ending with who the dragon heir is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    A bit too violent for Disney

    It's a good story of you like Science Fiction mixed with teen and adult drama.
    However, for a book that is suppose to be distributed by disney, I found the times
    when Warren Barber downsized Leesha Middleton's character by punching her in the face with her nose bleeding and then strangling her after that to strip her of her dignity
    completely distasteful. It's hard enough to deal with a cast of characters who are constant complainers and whiners to begin with, but hitting a girl in a disneybook
    is in poor taste.......not,...that it is tasteful to begin with.
    Those incidences in themselves were enough to make me take away one star on the rating. Sure Leesha Middleton is one of the bad guys, but I found the this scenes
    between Warren and Leesha to be disturbing and tasteless

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    MIsleading

    The back of the book makes you think this book is about Jason and that he is the Dragon Heir but he's not. You spend the whole of the book thinking something important was going to happen to Jason but in the end... nothing. And then Madison... I thought it was cool that she was an elicitor and all that and I thought perhaps this book would talk a bit more about her family and their connection to the dragon.... but instead we spend most of the book talking about angsty teenage feelings of abandonment. I felt that Chima had a lot of really amazing ideas but she never really expounded on them. I really think the book could have been phenomenal but instead it was only mediocre. Of the three, this one is my 2nd favorite. The first book was the best in my opinion. It walked the delicate line of teenage life and mature fantasy very well. I would recommend these books but I would definitely put a disclaimer saying that the story and ideas are wonderful but not fully fleshed out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    just ok

    the last book to this series was a bit sad. I think I wasn't too intersted maybe because it was too "childish". I think this is for a younger group of readers. Don't get me wrong I thought it was ok, but for my taste it was not

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2