BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Dragon Heir (The Heir Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 410 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Dragon Heir

Looking for a book upon epic proportions? Then go out and pick up The Dragon Heir, by Cinda Williams Chima, with the fights of good versus bad, bad versus bad and even the occasional good versus good. This book has what you need, fight scenes, love stories, betrayals, m...
Looking for a book upon epic proportions? Then go out and pick up The Dragon Heir, by Cinda Williams Chima, with the fights of good versus bad, bad versus bad and even the occasional good versus good. This book has what you need, fight scenes, love stories, betrayals, mysterious magical items and so much more!
Seph is no ordinary seventeen year old boy, nor is his cousin Jack and so many others as well, for they have Weir Stones, a magical stone genetically passed down by their ancestors which give them each powers. Among the six different types of stones, Seph has a wizard stone, Jack would have as well, but due to conditions, was left with a warrior stone. Along with more Weir (powered) friends and a few anaweir (powerless) friends, they try to stop the Rose guilds from regaining power over the lesser guilds.
Along with Maddie, who has powers of her own as well, an elicitor, who sucks up magic instead of using it, like a sponge in water. Maddie refuses to fight, on either side, but when push comes to shove, she'll have to decide on whether or not to help. Especially now that a villain they had forgotten about at their last encounter with him at Second Sister has appeared with something powerful of his own, but only if he gets the right people for it. But little does he know, elicitors maybe be few but they run in packs.
With Leesha Middleton, another wizard, under his control he can sneak through and find out what he needs to know without ever being discovered. If only she was as loyal as he hoped. But with the Roses struggling to regain power, Seph relies on what is called wizard flame, a magic enhancer, not only to be able to protect the barrier to protect him.
The author used the narrator to help explain the reasons for things and the backgrounds of most people; she uses foreshadowing but shows it greatly as Jack reads into the future to discover a major lose in his life. She also uses action sequences during the war between the Roses and the weir of Trinity, Ohio, and uses slow motion action to help show the drama during the war, but is also straight to the point in her dialect, especially when it draws closer to the war. She shows greatly how powerful and stubborn when Nick Snowbeard, a very ancient and powerful wizard says, "it's not in his nature to ask for help," after he had just forcefully put Seph to sleep after maintaining the barrio for twenty-four hours straight.
If magic, wizardry and all things fantasy, this is a great book to pick up, it's full of action, puzzles, and even a romantic story or two. But to better understand it pick up The Warrior Heir and The Wizard Heir, the first two in the Heir series, both as action pact as this book and full of great magic filled sequences. And remember to never give, even when chances seem slim, always fight until the end.

posted by Powers414 on March 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I'd have burned it, but then I wouldn't have gotten my 17 bucks back.

It starts off decently, leading you to believe that it will be what the summary promised. Then it goes downhill. Much of the plot revolves around Madison, hardly giving Jason any time and when he does appear, it's sort lived. By the end of the book, I was in shock. I'm ...
It starts off decently, leading you to believe that it will be what the summary promised. Then it goes downhill. Much of the plot revolves around Madison, hardly giving Jason any time and when he does appear, it's sort lived. By the end of the book, I was in shock. I'm not a fan of happy endings myself but at least when the first two ended, the person they were supposedly about lived. Jason had no such luck.

The series needed one more book and for the plot in TDH to be cut in half. It felt too rushed.

The cover art is gorgeous. I'll give it that but overall, I was not happy by what I read.

posted by Boochers823 on February 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 261 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Gooid biokscym in

    Saedrt

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Awsome

    I read the cover and it was awsome go cool cover

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Totally epic!

    This book is the perfect ending to a perfect series (although Chima says she plans to pick the series back up soon - YAY!) All of the favorite characters are well-represented and each goes through their own personal battle that concludes in the mother of all wars! There is definitely NEVER a dull moment in The Dragon Heir and the ending is pretty shocking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Excellent Series!

    I have been reading all of the books in the Heir Chronicles series, and like the others this one is amazing. Cinda Williams Chima is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who likes a good, fantasy book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    Best one

    Awesome and surprising ending. Must read the whold siries it is jus epicly awesome. Just read it trust me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    MUST READ!!!!!!"

    Best book eva!!!! That is all i am going to say!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Love it!!!! But needs more Jack!!!

    I loved this entire series warrior heir just captivated me, but i loved jack the best and the only thing the author could have done to make it better was to put more Jack and Ellen in the last two books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME!

    All i can say is that this book never failed to disappoint me in anyway. Cinda has done a great job and just like the first two books, this book also promised the prospect of a book you can't put down.
    The only thing that made me sad was the death of my favourite character Jason Haley. It saddened me a little too much and i kept complaining to my family members how my favourite character had died. Leesha and Jason deserved a chance at love but sadly they didn't even get close. I have to admit that till the last chapter i was hoping that somehow Jason would be revived.you know with the book being situated in a magical world, but Cinda once again showed to us through her book, that one needs to be realistic and in battle the good also die saving those around them.
    Other that this book is a must read.but first you must read the first two as well just so you know whats happening.
    With this book we finally close the Weir world for good.or till Cinda decides that she has another story to tell.
    A round of applause for Cinda Williams Chima.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    awsome

    I ABSOLUTLY. LOVVVVVE IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    this book

    this book was good but not as good as the first. it didnt really explain that well and seemed togetto the exciting part very slowly, and then end. dont get me wrong it was a good book but could have been better. ;)scj2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    The Book Of 2010!

    this book had me on the edge of my seat wanting more! best of the bedt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I believe this was a good series still.

    It does have its confusing parts, but its meant to be a little confusing after a while and not be able to understand the meaning until somewhat in. I do think there is one of the worst parts when Jason Haley dies. I REALLY hated that part! I mean he dies for nothing and everyone else lives? Didn't he want to be something in the whole scheme of the book? I mean he helps Seph out of that prison school in-a-way and doesn't get to goto London to take over that castle with Hastings and his wife Linda. So he sits around and does nothing until the partly end when he dies by a wizard. He hardly has ANY "importance" into doing anything with anyone else. He's basically the person who is a nobody and everyone kicks him around like a soccer-ball.=/ OTHER THAN THAT, it was good. It had its fun,fear and danger. It worked till the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing End to and Amazing Book

    Wow! I mean it was just crazy thing after another. I didn't expect most of the things that happened and was suprsied when it did. I was so caught up in reading it that time just flew by. I'm excited to read her other book The Demon King. I would highly recomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My son loved this book!

    My son thought this book hit home(I am typing what he tells me because I have not read it. He said that I should read it. He is 10 years old). "It embodies everything a good fantasy book should have. I believe that the characters were strong amd memorable and I couldn't put the book down. I was reading until, like 1:00 AM!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I have enjoyed the trilogy immensely and would recommend it to anyone who loves magic and is young at heart.

    The masterful conclusion to Cinda Williams Chima heir Trilogy.

    In the second installment in Ms. Chima's "Heir Chronicles: The Warior Heir:"

    Joseph (Seth) McCauley has spent the last three years getting kicked out of one exclusive private school or another.

    He lands at The Heavens, a private school for the "difficult" children. The Heavens is run by Dr. Gregory Leicester--a wizard himself--who has controlled of fourteen "alumni"--all of the wizards who have had their wizard stones fused with Dr. Leicester to augment their power.

    Dr. Gregory Leicester tries in vain to get Seth to join his stone with him. Seth is tortured and made miserable until he finds help from another wizard, Jason Haley. Since Seth is very powerful, but has not been trained, Jason helps him survive the torments by Leicester until Linda Downey, an enchanter gets Seth to Trinity, Ohio, which was made a sanctuary by the last tournament.

    Linda, she discloses to Seth that he is a Weirlind, part part of a society of magical people that comprises sorcerers, wizards, enchanters and warriors. At their helm sits the feuding houses of the Red Rose--lead by Geoffrey Wylie--and The White Rose, lead by Dr. Jessamine Longbeach. Everyone has a Weirbook with their ancestry on it but since Seth is an orphan he borrows Jack's to train as a wizard (Jack is part wizard but with a warrior stone).

    Last year--the first Heir book--the control of the Hoards and their guilds have been in disarray. There was a tournament at Raven's Ghyll and an army of ghosts showed up, the players, Jack Swift and Ellen Stephenson, revolted and the rules were changed in favor of the lesser members of the guild, thus making wizards less powerful.

    Leander Hastings, who was involved with Linda and trained Jack to fight at the Raven's Ghyll, has called a council. Hastings wants to preserve the new order, but Claude d'Orsey, the prior head of the guild is plotting with Leicester and his alumni to restore the old order. A second council is called to approve a new constitution and all the players are called. It is meant to be a trap to the Hastings group, but Seth, his friends Jason and Madison Moss join forces to save the day.

    This book sets the third installment since the constitution was stolen from the council and could be enforced unless someone stops the thief.

    The Dragon Heir

    Warren Barber has stolen the constitution signed at Two Sisters, where Jack and Ellen fought to destroy the ancient guild. Barbers recruits Claude d'Orsey to place it in force and uses Leesha Middleton as a trader.

    Jason had escaped to Raven's Ghyll and after an earthquake finds a cave where treasures are hidden. He takes home with him many amulets, as much as he can fit in his backpack, including an opal that turns out to be the Dragon's Heart Stone.

    Since the covenant is no longer, wizard wars resume and Trinity is the sanctuary for everyone that is magical or all the Weirs. Word gets out that the dragon heart stone is in trinity because most wizards are losing power. The Roses start filtering into Trinity and trying to find and steal the stone, so Seph asks Madison to build a wall that will keep all the wizards out of Trinity.

    Moral compasses spin out of control and a final battle storms through what was once a sanctuary for the gifted. The Anaweir are evacuated to a salt mine under the town under the false pretenses that a nuclear acc

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Love Cinda Chima

    I have truly enjoyed this series and hope she will write more. I have always enjoyed fantasy series mixed with reality. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    best book

    this got me into reading unlike the harry potter searies this goes all the way

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I hope its not over!

    I hope this was not the end of a really good series because it kinda leaves you up in the air. But is a must read if you read the first two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    best of the three

    i loved all of the books warrior heir, wizard heir and now the dragon heir. but i have to say this was my favorite it was just intrigging!! its a mix of a romance story, tons of turning points, great fighting scenes i loved this book!! best book!! you needa read this whole series!! its awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Brilliant Ending of a Great Series

    The book was my favorite in the series, because it had all the characters. I especially like how it showed us Jason's vulnerability. In Wizard Heir, he seemed so mysterious and secretive but he seems so sad in Dragon Heir. All around awesome book and I can't wait to read more from Cinda Chima's other series to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 261 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14