Customer Reviews for

Dragon Keeper

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    Really good

    Had gotten this at a book sale. The cover caught my eye as the title. And as I love dragons, this sounded like a good read. A girl helps saves a dragon, escapes from a bad life and goes on an adventure that includes a friend in the form of a rat. Along the way she meets those she thought were friends, good and bad. All while, protecting a dragon stone, with a purpose she isn't sure of and must get to the ocean as soon as possible. A really good read. Didn't know there was more in the series. Might read the other books. Though its been a while since I last read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    wonderful dragon book featuring a strong female lead

    In Ancient China, a young slave girl suffers the abuse of her cruel master, making do with what she can scavange, her life looks rather bleak until the last remaining Imperial dragon makes an escape, taking her with him. Finding herself on a journey she never imagined and finally with a name to call her own, Ping agrees to help Danzi reach Ocean with his precious dragon stone. Faced with foes and falsely feared as a sorceress, Ping must use her creativity and cunningness to save them from enemies. Along the way, she not only learns from the ancient dragon, but finds herself and her own power as she learns that she is truly the last Dragon Keeper.

    Carole Wilkinson's Dragon Keeper is a hit with the young dragon loving audiences, but more importantly it showcases a strong female lead, something often not seen in popular children's books and rarely in such a traditional male role, as the book discusses. I enjoyed reading the book with my children almost as much as they enjoyed listening. Many discussions ensued regarding Ancient China, Chinese culture, and the role of girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This story is based in ancient China, during the Han Dynasty. A slave girl named Ping saves the life of an aging dragon and escapes her master that she abhors. chased by a ruthless dragon hunter, the girl and the dragon make an epic journey across China carrying a mysterious stone that must be protected. This is the story of a young slave girl who believes she is not worthy of a name but finds internally the strength and courage to make this journey. This outstanding book was written by award-winning author Carole Wilkinson. All the detail that is used in this book paints vivid pictures in your head of the scenery and characters. The Dragon Keeper has won these awards: 2004 Children¿s Book Council of Australia Book of the Year, 2004 Queensland Premier¿s Literary Award, 2003 Aurealis Award, and Shortlisted 2004 NSW Premier¿s Literary Award. The Dragon Keeper has two sequels, Garden of the Purple Dragon and Dragon Moon, which I will be reading in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2008

    Dragon Keeper Review

    Dragon Keeper is about a dragon and a run away servant in China. The servant is running away from a dragon hunter hunting the dragon that is with the servant. The two must reach the ocean so that the old dragon can replenish his powers and health before he is slain by the greedy dragon hunter. Although this story is fictional, it pulls you right into it making you think you're really there with the two travelers. If you like Eragon and Eldest you will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2007

    Dragon Keeper 1

    It didn't tell me what the book was about from the back or inside on the left but then as I started to read it I slowly started to figure out what this book was all about. Slave girl no name later found name saves a dragon, escapes suffering life and goes on an adventure with her dear rat friend thus meeting friends and some who she thought were her friends all the while protecting a dragon stone with an unknown purpose including having to get to the Ocean all at the same time. What I liked about this was how the author adds in Chinese folklore and the dragon Danzi's wisdom that helps out the confused former slave Ping on her adventurious journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2006

    Awesome Book!

    This book is great for boys and girls, because it has many different intrest types and isn't really centered on either gender. It's also really, really intresting. READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    FANTASTIC!

    I love this book! The characters, the plot, everything is wondeful! But I knew what the dragon stone was from the moment Ping first saw it. Was it just me or was it kinda obvious?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1