Customer Reviews for

Dragon Keeper

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    this is a story showing bravery and friendship. AMAZING BOOK!

    A young slave girl living in China with her evil master is supposed to feed the dragons. But one day she forgets and a dragon dies. The young girl sets out with the dragon to save his egg. During their journey to bring the egg to a safe hatching place, they are followed by dragon hunters and spies.
    This is a story about friendship and bravery.

    I highly recommend this book to all ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    This book is great!

    Dragon Keeper is about a girl named Ping, a draon named Danzi, and a rat named Hua. They are on a quest to get to the ocean. The three are also being chased by a dragon hunter and Imperial Guards. Throughout their journey throughout Ancient China they also must keep track of a dragon stone which is important to the dragon's legacy. While this book had a slow beginning the rest of the bbook kept you wanting more. This book is very exciting. I recommend this book to anyone who likes adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    MUST READ

    this book is a must read one of a kind adventure. It is about a girl Named Ping Her Dragon,Danzi And her mouse Hua They Want to Get To the ocean For its magical Powers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    Dragon Keeper

    Give a Boy a Gun<BR/>Todd Strasser <BR/>Simon Pulse<BR/>Realistic fiction <BR/><BR/> Imagine being picked on every day by the same people, all throughout middle school and high school. Well that is what happens to two dynamic protagonists, Gary Searle and Brendan Harris, in the book Give a Boy a Gun by Todd Strasser. 7th grade sounds pretty fun if you're on the right end of the ¿popular stick¿. Gary and Brendan are two best friends who get picked on by bullies. This includes getting beat up, being called names, getting swirleys. Where they get their heads dunked in the toilet. This goes on throughout middle school and the beginning of high school. Then guns get involved. Will Gary and Brendan's high school life get better or end in a tragic disaster? <BR/><BR/> There are many protagonists as well as antagonists in Give a Boy a Gun. Dynamic antagonists like Gary and Brendan are the main characters and they change a lot in the story. There are also static antagonists like Dustin, Ryan, Mrs. Bender, Allison, Jack, and Emily. Static antagonists like the football team including Paul Burns and Sam Flach who have made Gary and Brendan's life miserable since 7th grade.<BR/><BR/> Give a Boy a Gun is a great story that will keep you hooked from page 1. It is filled with events that can really happen in a middle/high school enviroment. Todd Strasser did a great job with this book. This book is an easy read but this book may change your life. It may change your way of thinking. It is loaded with real life data and events. Even though Give a Boy a Gun is realistic fiction it will make you take it in like it was a real news artical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2007

    Great read,

    I have always had trouble getting my son to read.Picked up this book for my son's AR requirements for school hoping I would not have to pull his teeth to read this book.He really connected with the book and looks forward to reading the other books by this writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2007

    One Fantastic Book!

    I just finished a fantastic book! It is called Dragon Keeper. The book is about a girl that is a hard-working slave in the town of Haungling. The young girl has a chore where she has to feed the dragons in the den. Later on in the book, the girl's owner has her go to the Haungling's mountain where the King's machine is. The problem is, she isn't supposed to be there. Later in the book, the dragon takes her on a ride 'I should say, they run away together'. On the trip she learns that she is the only one that can talk to the dragon. She also learns what her true name is which you will have to find out on your own. She also gives the dragon a name. Later on in the book, the dragon tells her many secret truths such as 'the ocean water is magic'. I really enjoyed this book and so will you. I would also recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy and adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2006

    Great Book....Only One Dissapointment

    Ok, personally I believe this book should get much more credit than it has now. I thought that this was a wonderful example of,what I call, A Plot But Not Really A Huge One But Still Really Good, haha.......joke......yah I was kidding. The only problem I had was that it was too short!!! I am hoping that there will be a second to follow and I thought that the dragon was portrayed beautifully here. I really enjoyed this book, though a rather slow start.. still very good. This should be an up and coming book.........if only it were longer...(hehe)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2006

    FANTASTIC

    This books is FANTASTIC! It was well written and very good if you into fantasy books. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2006

    GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!

    WOW!!!!! What a great book!!!!!!!!! I started reading on a plane to Hawaii, and it was so hard to stop!!!! I loved this book so, so, so, so, so much!!!!! This is a MUST READ!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2005

    more like 100 stars!!! This book is GREAT!!!

    This book mostly takes place in I guess China, b/c there is names like that in here. THis book is REALLY awesome and if you're looking for an easily read book, this is it!! (the page just seem to 'fly' past!!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2005

    Hope there is a Book 2

    This book is a must for people who are interested in dragons and mythology! The author's writing was so detailed that you are able to picture the scenes so good that it seemed as if you were watching a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    Fantastic

    This is an extremely well written book that captured my interest -- I just couldn't put it down. The characters are interesting and the story is imaginative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    a wonderful, satisfying read: Tamora Pierce

    As a writer of fantasy myself, I read a lot of other writers' work. Every now and then I find the rare book that just catches me up, one I can't put down until I know how everything comes out. That's what happened to me two years ago, when I bought Carole Wilkinson's DRAGON KEEPER when I was in Australia, and I was absolutely delighted to see it was coming out here. (Otherwise I was have pestered the editors I know until one of them bought and published it!) It takes a little while to get rolling, but once the girl slave escapes her brutal household with the dragon and the egg, there is no looking away from the story. I was gnawing fingernails and ignoring my own writing as I read, eager to find out if the companions would succeed in their quest, if the dragon's keeper would realize she was the only one who could look after him, and if she would give in to the many temptations that are offered to her. There are plenty of interesting secondary characters, and the dragon is fascinating. I recommend this book to any serious fantasy reader! Tamora Pierce author of the Song of the Lioness, The Immortals, the Protector of the Small, the Circle of Magic, and the Circle Opens quartets, and the Trickster duet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2