Customer Reviews for

Dragon Keeper (Rain Wilds Chronicles #1)

Average Rating 4
( 636 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(248)

4 Star

(174)

3 Star

(118)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Clearly just the first in a trilogy, but a great start

As with the other Robin Hobb books I've read, this first volume of the trilogy gets a fascinating story off to a good start. She introduces the characters, the settings, the world she's created, and clearly has a story to tell.

I had great fun reading the earlier bo...
As with the other Robin Hobb books I've read, this first volume of the trilogy gets a fascinating story off to a good start. She introduces the characters, the settings, the world she's created, and clearly has a story to tell.

I had great fun reading the earlier books set in this world (Farseer, LiveShip and Tawny Man trilogies), and enjoyed the beginning of this tale quite a lot, but it's clearly just a beginning, with as yet, no middle and no end.

Here's hoping the next volumes in this trilogy arrive quickly on the scene.

As I read more of her work, I find that certain themes keep reappearing. A character's role in life is proscribed by their gender and family, but somehow they find the strength of character to fumble on, finding their destined place in the world. Charming sociopaths sometimes get their comeuppance, sometimes they get their comeuppance and fulfill their destiny despite themselves. So far in this first volume, there are only hints of the struggles to come.

This story starts out in Bingtown, then moves up the Rain Wild river. A few characters from earlier volumes make an appearance, but so far, all the main characters in the story are new to this volume.

I've recommended the first volumes in each of her earlier trilogies, since in my view, the trilogies really read like gigantic novels.

If you'd like to find a prolific author who can write a novel that stands alone even as it functions well as part of a larger series, seek out the many volumes of the Vorkosigan Saga by Lois McMaster Bujold. Many of her works are combined in omnibus editions, so it's possible to read the entire series without seeking out the earlier (hard to find) single novels.Space opera isn't usually my thing, but I found that series quite entertaining.

posted by Scraggles on February 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Offensive content: Contains Homosexual Rape of a Minor.

This book may be offensive to some readers. The author builds a creative environment and good characters, but then ruins it with portrayal of homosexual rape of one of the characters as a minor. The book would have been fine without that portion.

posted by Big_Okie on July 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Clearly just the first in a trilogy, but a great start

    As with the other Robin Hobb books I've read, this first volume of the trilogy gets a fascinating story off to a good start. She introduces the characters, the settings, the world she's created, and clearly has a story to tell.

    I had great fun reading the earlier books set in this world (Farseer, LiveShip and Tawny Man trilogies), and enjoyed the beginning of this tale quite a lot, but it's clearly just a beginning, with as yet, no middle and no end.

    Here's hoping the next volumes in this trilogy arrive quickly on the scene.

    As I read more of her work, I find that certain themes keep reappearing. A character's role in life is proscribed by their gender and family, but somehow they find the strength of character to fumble on, finding their destined place in the world. Charming sociopaths sometimes get their comeuppance, sometimes they get their comeuppance and fulfill their destiny despite themselves. So far in this first volume, there are only hints of the struggles to come.

    This story starts out in Bingtown, then moves up the Rain Wild river. A few characters from earlier volumes make an appearance, but so far, all the main characters in the story are new to this volume.

    I've recommended the first volumes in each of her earlier trilogies, since in my view, the trilogies really read like gigantic novels.

    If you'd like to find a prolific author who can write a novel that stands alone even as it functions well as part of a larger series, seek out the many volumes of the Vorkosigan Saga by Lois McMaster Bujold. Many of her works are combined in omnibus editions, so it's possible to read the entire series without seeking out the earlier (hard to find) single novels.Space opera isn't usually my thing, but I found that series quite entertaining.

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    superb fantasy

    Years have passed since the last fatal hatching and the residents of Bingtown and Cassarik have become somewhat complacent as if those who died during the previous infestation never occurred. However, the townsfolk are stunned when the cocoons left behind by the nomadic sea serpents rupture open releasing a new generation of dragons that must be controlled rapidly before they devastate the town towns. These hatchlings seem substandard with many expected to die; those who live must be controlled before their hunger drives them to Cassarik.

    The Traders Council quickly reacts choosing special humans who contain mutations on their bodies to escort the young dragons to a different locale, the lost city of Kelsingra where they can be controlled easier away from the cities. Among the selected are uneducated teenage Rain Wilds Thymara and overly-educated unhappy dragon guru Alise, wife of a Bingtown Trader. The journey along the deadly Rain Wild River will prove arduous with only the strong surviving.

    Returning to the Tawny Man world with the first entry of a duology, Robin Hobb provides a superb fantasy. The story line is mostly seen through the eyes of the two women as they face danger and treachery on the quest. In some ways, the opening of Act Three (see the Liveship Traders and the Tawny Man sagas), is a coming of age duet. However, what makes Dragon Keeper a keeper is the cast as the travelers human and dragon seems real while the menaces come from the land, the river and within. Fans will look forward to the finish wondering whether Kelsingra will prove to be a Dragon Haven or hell.

    Harriet Klausner

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Good Read!

    I loved this book, it kept me interested and made me feel for the characters. Not your normal book about Dragons, and that made it interesting. I am looking forward to the next in the series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    work of art

    what can i say other then out of every book ive ever read(which is a ton) i adore this book. Robin Hobb is a fantastic writer and her ideas for books continue to stun me.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Fantasy for the Mature Reader

    This was an excellent book for its character development and twist on the typical "dragon book." I found the plot to be so unique that it makes the book hard to put down. In fact, I purchased the second book in the series halfway through the first. The authors should be applauded for moving out of the typical fantasy fiction theme without mocking the original dragon themes of the epics. Parents of minor readers should be aware that this book does contain undertones of homosexual and heterosexual interactions between the characters. In no way is this an "adult" book but it is for more mature readers. It contains no more mature content than the wildly popular Wicked - which I also love.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Really great read, great building of characters,draws you into another world

    The world created is as much the story as any character. I enjoyed that the secondary characters are given as much life as the main characters. But the way of life,living in the trees and adapting to nature not changing it is really a wonderful point of view. Also how the enviroment effect every part of life.The dragons make you wonder what is next?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Read

    I love Robin Hobb books. I have read 12 so far. My only complaint is the expense of reading that many books. This series follows the Liveship Traders series, introducing new characters that you will love, as well as some favorites from Liveship Traders. Yes, there is a rape scene, but not quite what was described by some in other reviews. In fact, I put off reading this series because of those reviews. I am so happy I became desperate for something to read and gave it a chance. I am anxiously awaiting the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    I thought it was slow going at the beginning but once the main c

    I thought it was slow going at the beginning but once the main character, Alise, started on her journey, I was hooked. This is no Dragon Riders of Pern. Robin Hobb writes about a harsh world with even harsher characters. I like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Read this book!!!

    I consumed this book with single minded determination. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    Monumental

    Monumental

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    excellent story line

    the charactes were great and the plot kept you from putting the book down wish it was longer.looking foward to Dragon Heaven.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This author has become one of my favorite. A better book cannot be found.

    This author writes in a way that gives you the full feeling that you do not want this book to end. All of his books are this way and I do not even think of it before picking it out. the only reason I would check a sample is to be sure I had not already read his book.

    It is a very original story and has a great plot. I feel like it is a book that can be read by any age and enjoyed. If you try it you will like it. I believe I have read every one of his books out at this time and I'm looking forward to the new one in May.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2015

    Highly recommended. You 'have' to read this book.

    I just couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    Excellent Read

    I am a big fan of Robin Hobb to begin with and especially where dragons are concerned. This is a wonderful continuation of the Rain Wild series with expansive scenery, tight drama, and an excellent look into what living with dragons could be about. I have read these series several times and always anxiously await any sequels as they never let me down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Great Read!

    Bought this book for my husband who loves to read this genre of books. He enjoyed this book and is looking forward to more from Robin Hobb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Outpaw

    Ran to fourteen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Nightpaw

    Ran after her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    AWESOMEAWESOMEAWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Dakota

    She whinned a greeting to the other horse.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13