Customer Reviews for

The Dragon Reborn (Wheel of Time Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 762 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(568)

4 Star

(133)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

The Dragon Reborn is the third book of the Wheel of Time series by author Robert Jordan. After reading the book I was both very happy with some parts and somewhat disappointed with other parts. But overall The Dragon Reborn was a very good book. I strongly recommend rea...
The Dragon Reborn is the third book of the Wheel of Time series by author Robert Jordan. After reading the book I was both very happy with some parts and somewhat disappointed with other parts. But overall The Dragon Reborn was a very good book. I strongly recommend reading the first two books of the series as to not be confused with what is happening in this book. Even having read the first two books readers will be confused and mislead until about the middle of this book because of the way Jordan puts everything together, but the book is more exciting for that reason because you never know what will happen next. As with all of his other books Robert Jordan puts a lot of detail into his book in terms of setting and characters, and this lets the reader delve deeper into the story itself. The Dragon Reborn is a continuation of Rand trying to fulfill prophesies of the Dragon, but he tries to do it alone and leaves his companions to try and track him down so he doesn't get himself killed. As with the previous two books this one is also a cross between The Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter but it only has a few chapters that have anything to do with magic, while the rest of the book is fighting monsters and traveling. With the complexity of the book it is geared more towards a young adult to adult audience, and not recommended to a younger audience, first of all for its complexity but it also has some stronger language and scenes that are for the most part inappropriate for children. In all a great read that would make the reader want to continue on with the series until the end. The one bad part about this book is the abrupt ending.
I would definitely recommend this book to any fantasy fan.

posted by Sno_Kat on February 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Dragon Reborn but an idea recycled

I read this book with high expectations from Robert Jordan. In many ways I received what I hoped for, and in many ways I was sorely disappointed. A Dragon Reborn, in which our hero Rand has finally begun to assert his calling in Jordan's interesting clone mythology -see...
I read this book with high expectations from Robert Jordan. In many ways I received what I hoped for, and in many ways I was sorely disappointed. A Dragon Reborn, in which our hero Rand has finally begun to assert his calling in Jordan's interesting clone mythology -see references to similarities in LOTR - is truly not a disappointment, but it is not a stringent success either. In this story comes the first warning signs of an incredibly complex universe that will only become dauntingly entangled within its own complexity. Many intriguing ideas - like the House of the Black Ajah- and many traitorous surprises will baffle the reader with Jordan's skill and literary precision. However, many problematic cases remain and we soon will begin to view the Wheel of Time for what it truly is - a snake choking upon its own failure to resolve its profundities adequately. Case in point? That of the Dark One theirself, whose encounters with Rand remain perplexing, especially this recent showdown in which Rand assumes the inherited weapon, faces the Dark One, and yet again defeats them. The problem itself rests in the glaring fact that Rand has done this repeatedly and now we get a subtle editorial note within the script that suggests the Dark One wasn't really *the* Dark One, but Ishmael. Shame on you old chap for the deception. Strange intimate plotting aside - and indulgence in Jordan's rich and quite unbalanced characters - the showdown inside of the Stone is definitely commendable, but annoying actionwise- I wish he'd stop making us pantomime every fight move with his vague phrases. Mr Jordan nearly tripped while trying to tie this story together. If he keeps adding more knots and strings, he'll only mummify himself in the confusing result.

posted by Anonymous on December 9, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 773 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    The Dragon Reborn is the third book of the Wheel of Time series by author Robert Jordan. After reading the book I was both very happy with some parts and somewhat disappointed with other parts. But overall The Dragon Reborn was a very good book. I strongly recommend reading the first two books of the series as to not be confused with what is happening in this book. Even having read the first two books readers will be confused and mislead until about the middle of this book because of the way Jordan puts everything together, but the book is more exciting for that reason because you never know what will happen next. As with all of his other books Robert Jordan puts a lot of detail into his book in terms of setting and characters, and this lets the reader delve deeper into the story itself. The Dragon Reborn is a continuation of Rand trying to fulfill prophesies of the Dragon, but he tries to do it alone and leaves his companions to try and track him down so he doesn't get himself killed. As with the previous two books this one is also a cross between The Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter but it only has a few chapters that have anything to do with magic, while the rest of the book is fighting monsters and traveling. With the complexity of the book it is geared more towards a young adult to adult audience, and not recommended to a younger audience, first of all for its complexity but it also has some stronger language and scenes that are for the most part inappropriate for children. In all a great read that would make the reader want to continue on with the series until the end. The one bad part about this book is the abrupt ending.
    I would definitely recommend this book to any fantasy fan.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Great book, poor format

    I loved this book. It continues the sage well, but the ebook version here is frustrating. The chapter functions (pages left in the chapter counters) never worked, and since the ebooks add so many "pages" to the reading experience it made figuring out whether or not to start a new chapter before going to bed harder for me than the e-versions of other books in this series that I have bought. I realize that ebooks cost a bit more than paperbacks, but with that I expect all of the functionality of the ebooks I buy to be spot on. This particular book was a bit glitchy as well (would often get stuck in certain pages and cause headaches for even continuing onto the next page in spots. Very annoying). Not the best ebook I have ever bought, but the story is great and I am excited to read the next in the series. Hope the quality of the ebook is a bit more on par with books 1-2.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    !!!!!!!!!!!!

    I JUST LOVE WHEEOF TIME! THE MOST AMAZING BOOKS EVER! I LOVE RAND, BUT IT WAS GOOD TO SEE MORE MAT AND PERRIN! LOVE LOVE LOVE!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Excellent

    This book is astounding. It grabs you quickly and never lets go. It's also nice to see more of the characters other than Rand. Mat especially becomes far more interesting than in the previous books. The characters are excellent, the story unpredictable,and the world massive and detailed. Go out and buy this now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    Another solid entry in the Wheel of Time saga!

    I am late to the whole Wheel of Time show. I read The Eye of the World several years ago, and was highly impressed with it. I read The Great Hunt shortly after and found it to be almost as good as the first, which says a lot, but somehow I stopped reading this series after that. I was sidetracked by other books and series such as the Song of Ice and Fire. But as I am a bit burnt out of that series at the moment, I decided to go ahead and pick up book 3, The Dragon Reborn. Wow, was I missing out!

    The Dragon Reborn is an incredible book. I was happy with the way it brings the reader in, and brings up little reminders of what has happened so far so that I was actually not lost at all in the thick plot, and trust me it is thick!

    Jordan has some excellent characters here! From the mysterious Aes Sedei, Moraine, to the quiet and mentally troubled Rand, this book is filled with interesting characters, all with their own motives and vices. Trust me when I tell you that you will be thinking about these characters almost as if they are real people by the end of the book.

    It is a fairly large book, coming in at around 700 pages, but it goes very quickly. The pacing of this book is the perfect blend of action and drama. I finished the book in just 4 days, and I don't have a whole lot of time to read during the day, so most of my reading was down in the wee hours of the night, but it was well worth it because this book is just that good.

    I honestly could not find any flaws with the book, besides a few typos here and there. I don't like to go into plot in my reviews, but I will say that if you are a fan of the series thus far, The Dragon Reborn does not dissapoint. In fact, I enjoyed it as much as book 1. If you are new to this series than you need to start with book 1, otherwise you will be lost, but read quickly because this book only makes the saga better and much, much deeper.

    I highly recommend this book. It is incredible. I have started book 4 and it is incredible thus far. This entire saga is worth your time. It is massive, and Mr. Sanderson is still working on the final installment, after the unfortunate passing of Robert Jordan, but it is well worth your time. Buy it. Read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    continues to enthrall

    A little slow towards he middle but more than made up for at the end...an expertly woven piece of whats definitely shaping out to be a series for the ages

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2007

    A Dragon Reborn but an idea recycled

    I read this book with high expectations from Robert Jordan. In many ways I received what I hoped for, and in many ways I was sorely disappointed. A Dragon Reborn, in which our hero Rand has finally begun to assert his calling in Jordan's interesting clone mythology -see references to similarities in LOTR - is truly not a disappointment, but it is not a stringent success either. In this story comes the first warning signs of an incredibly complex universe that will only become dauntingly entangled within its own complexity. Many intriguing ideas - like the House of the Black Ajah- and many traitorous surprises will baffle the reader with Jordan's skill and literary precision. However, many problematic cases remain and we soon will begin to view the Wheel of Time for what it truly is - a snake choking upon its own failure to resolve its profundities adequately. Case in point? That of the Dark One theirself, whose encounters with Rand remain perplexing, especially this recent showdown in which Rand assumes the inherited weapon, faces the Dark One, and yet again defeats them. The problem itself rests in the glaring fact that Rand has done this repeatedly and now we get a subtle editorial note within the script that suggests the Dark One wasn't really *the* Dark One, but Ishmael. Shame on you old chap for the deception. Strange intimate plotting aside - and indulgence in Jordan's rich and quite unbalanced characters - the showdown inside of the Stone is definitely commendable, but annoying actionwise- I wish he'd stop making us pantomime every fight move with his vague phrases. Mr Jordan nearly tripped while trying to tie this story together. If he keeps adding more knots and strings, he'll only mummify himself in the confusing result.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Dont judge

    Dont judge the book by random peoples reviews.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Another Must have

    I fell in love with Jordan's characters after Rand saved his father from Trolloc's... this third book follows his struggles and adds new depth to his fellow Emond's Fielder's. You will find the money well spent to follow these brave young people on their quest to find themselves and save the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Beast

    Beast

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    best books ever

    I love this series and have read rhe first 10 more than once..I can't wait until ALL the books are available on nook!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    The Dragon Reborn (Wheel of Time Series #3)

    Another GREAT book by Robert Jordan. He really gets into the characters in this book FOR SURE. Readers will be REALLY into this book absolutely for SURE.
    Another GREAT book for the librarys in the U.S. also and overseas also.
    I am getting ready to read book (2) and will read this one after it for
    sure.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2002

    An Ultimate BORE

    I have been struggling through his third book and I am on page 500 and this book has gone nowhere. I only wish I could get a refund on the time I spent reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2002

    boring ! boring ! boring !!!

    First 2 books were OK. This one nothing happens and is one of the most boring books I have ever read. Even the ending or so called climax is boring and so predictable. Everything in this book is just repetitive of everything that happened in the first two. I refuse to be suckered in by reading the fourth book. Goodbye and good riddance to the Wheel of Time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    When one sees the title, The Dragon Reborn, one instantly thinks

    When one sees the title, The Dragon Reborn, one instantly thinks that Rand al'Thor will once again provide the majority of perspective of how the story is viewed by the characters. However, Robert Jordan throws the readers a curve by hardly allowing us to see through Rand's eyes until the climax of the book. As a result The Dragon Reborn gives us a grander sense of the story that Jordan is writing as Egwene, Perrin, and Mat dominate the book to show that as the whole epic progresses they will have a majority impact on events.

    While some that have reviewed this book dislike the turn from Rand, I think it was a masterful move because we learn that the Dark One's forces are growing in numbers and dangers from Black Ajah to more Foresaken on the loose. Focusing the majority of the book on Rand would have made these revelations come out of the blue without much explanation or forced into exposition. Instead we're treated with Egwene navigating the World of Dreams, Perrin's internal battle with his wolf-self along externally with Faile, and to finally see things through Mat's eyes and get his perspective of everything that has happened. None of these dominating new points-of-view undermine the story

    Given how fast I raced through this book and how fun it was to read, I recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Dragon reborn

    Such a giod book, they need to make this a mini series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    3rd or 4th re-read. Love it

    As I said, 3rd or 4th re-read. Started reading The Wheel of Time back in the early 90s. Finally got the last one last year and having finished the series I discovered I HAD to read it again from the beginning. I also discovered that The Dragon Reborn had disappeared from my library. Wonderful character development in this book. Really gets you into the heart of who the primary characters really are. Buy it. Read it. 'Nuff said

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Good series read

    I have enjoyed following the characters and always cannot wait until I start the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Best fantacy Best of the best

    Best series of the genra period

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Good and exciting

    I really enjoyed this book! The only thing was (SPOILER ALERT) that I hated how little we were told of Rand. It makes sense because he does isolate himself and he does pretty much do the same thing through the whole book: run. But really the main reason- the only reason at first- that I kept reading about his friends was because of the suspense with Rand. Is he insane yet? Will he be willing to reconnect with his friends once they finally all meet? Is he hurting himself and others? I hope the next book focuses more on him, but I still loved this book. And of course, there's no way I could stop now anyway! I'm hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 773 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39