Customer Reviews for

The Dragon Reborn (Wheel of Time Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 762 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(568)

4 Star

(133)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

The Dragon Reborn is the third book of the Wheel of Time series by author Robert Jordan. After reading the book I was both very happy with some parts and somewhat disappointed with other parts. But overall The Dragon Reborn was a very good book. I strongly recommend rea...
The Dragon Reborn is the third book of the Wheel of Time series by author Robert Jordan. After reading the book I was both very happy with some parts and somewhat disappointed with other parts. But overall The Dragon Reborn was a very good book. I strongly recommend reading the first two books of the series as to not be confused with what is happening in this book. Even having read the first two books readers will be confused and mislead until about the middle of this book because of the way Jordan puts everything together, but the book is more exciting for that reason because you never know what will happen next. As with all of his other books Robert Jordan puts a lot of detail into his book in terms of setting and characters, and this lets the reader delve deeper into the story itself. The Dragon Reborn is a continuation of Rand trying to fulfill prophesies of the Dragon, but he tries to do it alone and leaves his companions to try and track him down so he doesn't get himself killed. As with the previous two books this one is also a cross between The Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter but it only has a few chapters that have anything to do with magic, while the rest of the book is fighting monsters and traveling. With the complexity of the book it is geared more towards a young adult to adult audience, and not recommended to a younger audience, first of all for its complexity but it also has some stronger language and scenes that are for the most part inappropriate for children. In all a great read that would make the reader want to continue on with the series until the end. The one bad part about this book is the abrupt ending.
I would definitely recommend this book to any fantasy fan.

posted by Sno_Kat on February 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Dragon Reborn but an idea recycled

I read this book with high expectations from Robert Jordan. In many ways I received what I hoped for, and in many ways I was sorely disappointed. A Dragon Reborn, in which our hero Rand has finally begun to assert his calling in Jordan's interesting clone mythology -see...
I read this book with high expectations from Robert Jordan. In many ways I received what I hoped for, and in many ways I was sorely disappointed. A Dragon Reborn, in which our hero Rand has finally begun to assert his calling in Jordan's interesting clone mythology -see references to similarities in LOTR - is truly not a disappointment, but it is not a stringent success either. In this story comes the first warning signs of an incredibly complex universe that will only become dauntingly entangled within its own complexity. Many intriguing ideas - like the House of the Black Ajah- and many traitorous surprises will baffle the reader with Jordan's skill and literary precision. However, many problematic cases remain and we soon will begin to view the Wheel of Time for what it truly is - a snake choking upon its own failure to resolve its profundities adequately. Case in point? That of the Dark One theirself, whose encounters with Rand remain perplexing, especially this recent showdown in which Rand assumes the inherited weapon, faces the Dark One, and yet again defeats them. The problem itself rests in the glaring fact that Rand has done this repeatedly and now we get a subtle editorial note within the script that suggests the Dark One wasn't really *the* Dark One, but Ishmael. Shame on you old chap for the deception. Strange intimate plotting aside - and indulgence in Jordan's rich and quite unbalanced characters - the showdown inside of the Stone is definitely commendable, but annoying actionwise- I wish he'd stop making us pantomime every fight move with his vague phrases. Mr Jordan nearly tripped while trying to tie this story together. If he keeps adding more knots and strings, he'll only mummify himself in the confusing result.

posted by Anonymous on December 9, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2007

    A Dragon Reborn but an idea recycled

    I read this book with high expectations from Robert Jordan. In many ways I received what I hoped for, and in many ways I was sorely disappointed. A Dragon Reborn, in which our hero Rand has finally begun to assert his calling in Jordan's interesting clone mythology -see references to similarities in LOTR - is truly not a disappointment, but it is not a stringent success either. In this story comes the first warning signs of an incredibly complex universe that will only become dauntingly entangled within its own complexity. Many intriguing ideas - like the House of the Black Ajah- and many traitorous surprises will baffle the reader with Jordan's skill and literary precision. However, many problematic cases remain and we soon will begin to view the Wheel of Time for what it truly is - a snake choking upon its own failure to resolve its profundities adequately. Case in point? That of the Dark One theirself, whose encounters with Rand remain perplexing, especially this recent showdown in which Rand assumes the inherited weapon, faces the Dark One, and yet again defeats them. The problem itself rests in the glaring fact that Rand has done this repeatedly and now we get a subtle editorial note within the script that suggests the Dark One wasn't really *the* Dark One, but Ishmael. Shame on you old chap for the deception. Strange intimate plotting aside - and indulgence in Jordan's rich and quite unbalanced characters - the showdown inside of the Stone is definitely commendable, but annoying actionwise- I wish he'd stop making us pantomime every fight move with his vague phrases. Mr Jordan nearly tripped while trying to tie this story together. If he keeps adding more knots and strings, he'll only mummify himself in the confusing result.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    3rd or 4th re-read. Love it

    As I said, 3rd or 4th re-read. Started reading The Wheel of Time back in the early 90s. Finally got the last one last year and having finished the series I discovered I HAD to read it again from the beginning. I also discovered that The Dragon Reborn had disappeared from my library. Wonderful character development in this book. Really gets you into the heart of who the primary characters really are. Buy it. Read it. 'Nuff said

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Adventure reborn

    Great start. Slow in the middle. Solid ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Sort of good and bad book

    I am appaalled at the poorly written format the 1st and 2nd
    were much better. Sort of boring and got tired after first 100 pages. Does anyone know if the fourth book is better. I have not read the reviews but i hope you know what it is like. Either way, this book was NOT the best read for me but the actual pplot was good. If the author had made his characrers slightly more entertaining and pulling than they were when i read it this book woukd have been well above average. Although not the best read, i would recommend this book to ages 13-adults. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2004

    just a filler

    Lots of important details that develop the plot later on, but much of the book (particularily toward the end) is written poorly. Grin and bear and move on to book #4, an excellent read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    Could've been better

    The story starts off kind of rocky, and after awhile I got kind-of boreing. But I bit hard and finished the book, and like the previous two, the ending catches you and you have to read the next book ASAP. I started the series in June and now its July. I've heard bad reviews for the next books but I'm gonna grit my teeth and finish this series. What I hope will happen, Lan and Nynaeve get married. Egwene and Galad get married(even though hes a goody two shoes) Elayne get married to Mat(?)Min and Rand hook up. Perrin hook up with that Falcon girl. And everyone live nicely and nobody die:) Kind of corny so, Elayne dies and so does Galad saving her.(just kidding) Over all, the book is great you have to finish the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    Not so great, but acceptable.

    Alas! Alas, for good fantasy. This series began with promise, borrowing - perhaps a little too much - from the Lord of the Rings. Rapidly the characters devolve into the typical sort of 'ideal' person so often found in fantasy, always making the right decision at the right time. Perhaps it requires a bit of 'suspended disbelief', but Rand is never caught, the women are always chastising the men for no reason, and characters like Perrin and Lan struggle over issues that seem relatively superficial in the eyes of the other characters. Fantasy requires an element to it that is very particular. One must not only be drawn into the story, but must believe it implicitly. When I read 'The Lord of the Rings', I had such a feeling. Here, there is nothing; though glimpses occasionally shine through. On the other hand, the description is quite exemplary, the characters have potential, and the history is involved and complex. If only it had ended sooner, and with a better bang!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2003

    Not bad not that good either

    this whole series is not that bad except all those female characters are all selfish and horney

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2002

    Amesome Book!!!!!

    This is one of the best series out there I can't wait for the next book read & enjoy! -p.s-I hope egwene and Rand get married!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2001

    plot development

    there wasn't as much action, just alot of time spent in the White tower, lots of thickening in the overall plot. However, I am sick of Rand's terrible attitude and being a whiner about being the dragon. the ending was insanely good, so many things happen at once and they all link together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3