Customer Reviews for

The Dragon Reborn (Wheel of Time Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 766 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(570)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

The Dragon Reborn is the third book of the Wheel of Time series by author Robert Jordan. After reading the book I was both very happy with some parts and somewhat disappointed with other parts. But overall The Dragon Reborn was a very good book. I strongly recommend rea...
The Dragon Reborn is the third book of the Wheel of Time series by author Robert Jordan. After reading the book I was both very happy with some parts and somewhat disappointed with other parts. But overall The Dragon Reborn was a very good book. I strongly recommend reading the first two books of the series as to not be confused with what is happening in this book. Even having read the first two books readers will be confused and mislead until about the middle of this book because of the way Jordan puts everything together, but the book is more exciting for that reason because you never know what will happen next. As with all of his other books Robert Jordan puts a lot of detail into his book in terms of setting and characters, and this lets the reader delve deeper into the story itself. The Dragon Reborn is a continuation of Rand trying to fulfill prophesies of the Dragon, but he tries to do it alone and leaves his companions to try and track him down so he doesn't get himself killed. As with the previous two books this one is also a cross between The Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter but it only has a few chapters that have anything to do with magic, while the rest of the book is fighting monsters and traveling. With the complexity of the book it is geared more towards a young adult to adult audience, and not recommended to a younger audience, first of all for its complexity but it also has some stronger language and scenes that are for the most part inappropriate for children. In all a great read that would make the reader want to continue on with the series until the end. The one bad part about this book is the abrupt ending.
I would definitely recommend this book to any fantasy fan.

posted by Sno_Kat on February 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Dragon Reborn but an idea recycled

I read this book with high expectations from Robert Jordan. In many ways I received what I hoped for, and in many ways I was sorely disappointed. A Dragon Reborn, in which our hero Rand has finally begun to assert his calling in Jordan's interesting clone mythology -see...
I read this book with high expectations from Robert Jordan. In many ways I received what I hoped for, and in many ways I was sorely disappointed. A Dragon Reborn, in which our hero Rand has finally begun to assert his calling in Jordan's interesting clone mythology -see references to similarities in LOTR - is truly not a disappointment, but it is not a stringent success either. In this story comes the first warning signs of an incredibly complex universe that will only become dauntingly entangled within its own complexity. Many intriguing ideas - like the House of the Black Ajah- and many traitorous surprises will baffle the reader with Jordan's skill and literary precision. However, many problematic cases remain and we soon will begin to view the Wheel of Time for what it truly is - a snake choking upon its own failure to resolve its profundities adequately. Case in point? That of the Dark One theirself, whose encounters with Rand remain perplexing, especially this recent showdown in which Rand assumes the inherited weapon, faces the Dark One, and yet again defeats them. The problem itself rests in the glaring fact that Rand has done this repeatedly and now we get a subtle editorial note within the script that suggests the Dark One wasn't really *the* Dark One, but Ishmael. Shame on you old chap for the deception. Strange intimate plotting aside - and indulgence in Jordan's rich and quite unbalanced characters - the showdown inside of the Stone is definitely commendable, but annoying actionwise- I wish he'd stop making us pantomime every fight move with his vague phrases. Mr Jordan nearly tripped while trying to tie this story together. If he keeps adding more knots and strings, he'll only mummify himself in the confusing result.

posted by Anonymous on December 9, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Great book, poor format

    I loved this book. It continues the sage well, but the ebook version here is frustrating. The chapter functions (pages left in the chapter counters) never worked, and since the ebooks add so many "pages" to the reading experience it made figuring out whether or not to start a new chapter before going to bed harder for me than the e-versions of other books in this series that I have bought. I realize that ebooks cost a bit more than paperbacks, but with that I expect all of the functionality of the ebooks I buy to be spot on. This particular book was a bit glitchy as well (would often get stuck in certain pages and cause headaches for even continuing onto the next page in spots. Very annoying). Not the best ebook I have ever bought, but the story is great and I am excited to read the next in the series. Hope the quality of the ebook is a bit more on par with books 1-2.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    continues to enthrall

    A little slow towards he middle but more than made up for at the end...an expertly woven piece of whats definitely shaping out to be a series for the ages

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Another Must have

    I fell in love with Jordan's characters after Rand saved his father from Trolloc's... this third book follows his struggles and adds new depth to his fellow Emond's Fielder's. You will find the money well spent to follow these brave young people on their quest to find themselves and save the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    The Dragon Reborn (Wheel of Time Series #3)

    Another GREAT book by Robert Jordan. He really gets into the characters in this book FOR SURE. Readers will be REALLY into this book absolutely for SURE.
    Another GREAT book for the librarys in the U.S. also and overseas also.
    I am getting ready to read book (2) and will read this one after it for
    sure.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Good and exciting

    I really enjoyed this book! The only thing was (SPOILER ALERT) that I hated how little we were told of Rand. It makes sense because he does isolate himself and he does pretty much do the same thing through the whole book: run. But really the main reason- the only reason at first- that I kept reading about his friends was because of the suspense with Rand. Is he insane yet? Will he be willing to reconnect with his friends once they finally all meet? Is he hurting himself and others? I hope the next book focuses more on him, but I still loved this book. And of course, there's no way I could stop now anyway! I'm hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Riptide

    DESCRIPTION. a large female dragon. A long tail. Her scales start out dark blue but they can turn lighter her wings have lighting bolts on them. SPECIES/ a storm dragon. AGE. Lost track..... POWER. Basicly anything that has to do his storms. So twisters snow hurricanes lightning thunder etc. PERSONALITY. Very jumpy and loves water. BREATH. At the moment. Nothing

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Tto

    Jjnjjjx

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Lots of words in a particular order

    Good book for falling asleep. Love the imagery and story. This book revealed a lot more about Perrin than any other character. Must read to complete the journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Another good installment into the world of the Wheel of Time. I

    Another good installment into the world of the Wheel of Time. I enjoyed how the characters lives seem to cross paths and are entwined throughout.

    I thought the ending was enough that you were somewhat satisfied but still open to the rest of the story. (You can stop with this one and take a short breather before going on)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great+read...

    ....+and+the+story+continues+to+develope+with+each+additional+book.+So+much+more+to+learn...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    The Dragon Reborn-great!

    Reads like a third book and moves right along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    For Levon Valle

    I have TRIED reading Lord Of The Rings but find it is very drawn out and I am not interested in the characters at all. Thats why I was very annoyed to read what you said about Robert Jordans tales of The Wheel Of Time. I find that it is not long winded and holds just enough spark for you to actually want to read the next book especially as I read the first LOTR, then the second then threw them in a corner, I had read the first two of Jordans tale and cannot wait for more. Honestly. Its the kind of book that make LOTR look boring, it all depends on your tastes. And mine really dont follow hobbits im affraid, maybe there are others out there that possibly agree. Please dont compare TWOT to LOTR, it makes you look foolish.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    This Book is Very AWESOME!

    The book is good for fantasy readers, because it is a tale about a young man named Rand Al'Thor, who must avoid being manipulated by the forces around him, and learn how to use his powers to fight the Dark One. His friends Mat Cauthon and Perrin Aybara will help him in his quest. Robert Jordan describes the world around the characters very well. It is very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2006

    Confusing...

    Well, when I read this book, I was confused so many times. Its not that I'm stupid, but instead I didn't really get the climax of the novel. The book is great, but the events before the actual ending were cooler and more fast-paced then the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2003

    Keeps getting better and better

    Since we found out that Rand was the Dragon Reborn in the first novel, and the picture in the cover pretty much told me what was going to happen. But boy was this book packed. It was good to see the girls advance in their Aedi Sedi education and Perrin explore more about his powers and destiny. Mat finally started doing some good and became a contributing character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    Dragon Reborn Reveiw

    This was an AWSOME book! I love all of his books, they are all so great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Tolkien-like fantasy adventure

    The legend says that the power of the individual who is THE DRAGON REBORN will save the world by destroying it. Signs point that the time for the appearance of the One is now so different wannabes and hanger on retinues journey to the Heart of the Stone locale of the sword Callandor that only the Reborn can yield. Rand, sole user of the One Power, believes he is destiny¿s darling. He leaves behind friends like Perrin and his teacher Moriaine to begin his quest for the sword. Perrin joins forces with Moiraine and others trailing after Rand. However evil abounds in the land as the hideous Black Ajah not only proves to exist in reality, but has a plan too. Allies and enemies will assemble at the Heart of the Stone where Rand will try to grab Callandor to defeat his amoral opponents while claiming the mantra of the DRAGON UNBORN. <P>Though well written and filled with incredible detail that vividly describes a world and gives depth to the key cast members so that the Jordan realm seem real, the theme of THE DRAGON REBORN is typical of many Tolkien fantasy adventure series. Still Robert Jordan is quite a talent and provides profundity to all of the ten Wheel of Time books so that the audience knows this magical domain exists outside the fertile imagination of the author. That is the charm of the series. This particular novel is a trade reprinting of the third tale and can stand alone, but is easier to understand early on if one has read the first two stories. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2002

    This legend will not fade to myth

    I just finished this book and I found it simply amazing at how well Robert Jordan can write. The detail in this book keeps up with the other two. Though in the end part I think even Robert got confused with how he was going to finish the book. You have to give him a break after the Great Hunt. Viola!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2002

    great

    I was a little disappointed that there wasn't as much of Rand in this one, but all the other characters made this book great. I especially liked Mat's journey and the three girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2001

    pretty good story

    I like the story for most of the time, and i like how everyone splits up and goes there different ways and we hear about what is happening to each character. what i don't like is the endless repetition of stuff like 'light, burn you, bloody ashes, and ta'veren' and the made up nonsense of the wheel and its pattern and how it weaves its will;he should ease up on that stuff. And I am getting sick of Robert Jordan always throwing in the extra garbage of people being naked all the time, like after Matt gets healed in the tower, when the novices go through the arch to face their fears and become Accepted, and at the end when Perrin is trying to find Faile and she is chained up and naked. I think its stupid and Robert Jordan could leave some unnecesary things out of his books and they would be great. Overall, it is a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7