Customer Reviews for

Dragon Rider

Average Rating 4.5
( 350 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(250)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Thrilling, Imaginative, story for many ages.

I read this to my 6 year old boy who is very sensitive. Both he and I thoroughly enjoyed the story! It was an absorbing story and enough going on to hold a 6 year olds attention. Yet it was not too scary. Nobody dies, or gets hurt. Not even the villain! Yet it is a...
I read this to my 6 year old boy who is very sensitive. Both he and I thoroughly enjoyed the story! It was an absorbing story and enough going on to hold a 6 year olds attention. Yet it was not too scary. Nobody dies, or gets hurt. Not even the villain! Yet it is an adventurous story filled with all sorts of magical creatures. The characters are well developed. In addition to very strong imagery with many creative similes and metaphors,

posted by Maurina on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

My opinion

I thought Dragon Rider was a lame book but hey thats just my opinion. I like to write my own stories and my teachers say one day i should become a fantasy or sceince fiction books but for some reason i didnt conect with this one book. It put me to sleep. Im sure lots of...
I thought Dragon Rider was a lame book but hey thats just my opinion. I like to write my own stories and my teachers say one day i should become a fantasy or sceince fiction books but for some reason i didnt conect with this one book. It put me to sleep. Im sure lots of other people liked this book but i just wouldnt prefer it over other books.

posted by Anonymous on November 5, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 350 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Thrilling, Imaginative, story for many ages.

    I read this to my 6 year old boy who is very sensitive. Both he and I thoroughly enjoyed the story! It was an absorbing story and enough going on to hold a 6 year olds attention. Yet it was not too scary. Nobody dies, or gets hurt. Not even the villain! Yet it is an adventurous story filled with all sorts of magical creatures. The characters are well developed. In addition to very strong imagery with many creative similes and metaphors,

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    A page turner

    This did start out a little slow, but by chapter 3, I found it hard to put down.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    Oustanding Book! Love Cornelia Funke's writing

    Dragon Rider by Cornelia Funke is an enthralling book that will force you to keep reading. I like the various character additions as the story proceeded. I especially enjoyed the way the author did not immediately introduce Ben, the protagonist. This made the story more intriguing. The story starts with a mouse scurrying around looking for the dragon cave. When she reaches the dragon cave, she alerts the dragons about Nettlebrand, ¿the golden one¿ who is planning to destroy the dragons. Firedrake, a young silver dragon, sets out to find the rim of heaven so he can save the other dragons from Nettlebrand. Firedrake goes to a different mouse¿s hut, to get a map and that is when he meets the protagonist, Ben. Then the book becomes a giant quest as Ben joins Firedrake in the search for the rim of heaven. Within this quest the characters must learn knew skills to dodge different obstacles thrown in their path.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Samuel McIntosh

    I looked at all of these reiviews and I got somthing like this…


    165=GOOD REIVIEWS

    14=BAD REIVIEWS

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Long ago...when we were young...

    Its a great book for young teens

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Bffjf

    My 16 year old brother adores this book

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Amazing story

    This book was one of my favorites when I was a child. It is packed with humor, excitement, and so much adventure... if you are considering this book then it would be anhuge mistake if you decided not to purchase it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2006

    My opinion

    I thought Dragon Rider was a lame book but hey thats just my opinion. I like to write my own stories and my teachers say one day i should become a fantasy or sceince fiction books but for some reason i didnt conect with this one book. It put me to sleep. Im sure lots of other people liked this book but i just wouldnt prefer it over other books.

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    LEXI

    Hi

    5 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Dargon Rider: Cornelia Funke

    I would recommed this book to most everyone who is into fanatsy. It is a little slow in some parts but it is a well written and good book. It has over 500 pages so that is sure to keep you entertained for a while! The only thing I didn't like about the book is the character Sorrel. Sorrel is a strange creature and is known as a brownie. She is to human-like and very stuck-up in my point of veiw. Overall this book was very good and liked it. I hope there will be a sequal to this book because it kind of leaves you hanging at the end. Try it!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    One of the best books i have ever read when I get older and I ha

    One of the best books i have ever read when I get older and I have kids i will make them read this book it is just absolutely fabulous; it makes me euphoric!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    Lacks Interest

    This book was boring in every possible way. The theme was rather childish, and I have seen it advertised as a 'young adult' book. In no way did it capture my attention or interest. This title is forgettable.

    4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    Poor

    This book was very poorly written. I thought it was boring in every way and put it down after the first chapter. :(

    4 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2006

    Meh

    This book was utterly boring. It was just a stupid, unexciting book about a boy and a dragon. I would never recommend it to anyone, ever.

    4 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    BOO!

    I hate this book. It does not keep you entertained at all. I was starting to read all kinds of dragon books then I read this one and I stopped reading them beacuse I didn't want to be so dissipointed agian. It is very kiddish. Eragon is much better.

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Great Story

    My 4 1/2 yr old daughter is fascinated by mythilogical creatures and just loved this story because there are so many featured in the adventure. She wants to be like Zubeida or Professor Greenbloom when she grows up. We read several chapters each night before bed and would talk about what was happening. She'd have so many great questions...I only wish we had Cornelia Funke here to answer them for her.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    I myself felt that this book lacked a firm structure accompanied by the vast majority of fantasy books I've read. It has its perks, I'll admit, but it takes place during a relatively current time- tragically, yes. It is as if swords, noble steeds, and courage are replaced by laptops, cars, and the Internet. It also consists of random gibberish, such as something called a brownie that looks like a deformed cat. I don't know about you, but it makes me want to grab an actual brownie rather than the book itself.

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    To everyone that hates.

    Awesome book, even my teacher liked this book, with it's action and storyline, without having a over dramatized romance, or being scary.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Best book ever

    It was a great book and i hope theres an second book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    This Book is Very Disappointing

    This was an extremely boring book in my point of view. I barely understood it. While the book was talking about what a certain enchanted creature did, I couldn't pay attention because I didn't know what that enchanted creature was like because they didn't tell you what their characteristics, personalities, and looks were. They didn't even give you context clues to figure things out. This book is completely and utterly disappointing, considering there are over 500 pages about a dragon flying from one place to another. This author also fails to use useful details and adjectives to describe important events. I highly DO NOT recommend this book.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 350 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18