Customer Reviews for

Dragon Rider

Average Rating 4.5
( 348 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(248)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Thrilling, Imaginative, story for many ages.

I read this to my 6 year old boy who is very sensitive. Both he and I thoroughly enjoyed the story! It was an absorbing story and enough going on to hold a 6 year olds attention. Yet it was not too scary. Nobody dies, or gets hurt. Not even the villain! Yet it is a...
I read this to my 6 year old boy who is very sensitive. Both he and I thoroughly enjoyed the story! It was an absorbing story and enough going on to hold a 6 year olds attention. Yet it was not too scary. Nobody dies, or gets hurt. Not even the villain! Yet it is an adventurous story filled with all sorts of magical creatures. The characters are well developed. In addition to very strong imagery with many creative similes and metaphors,

posted by Maurina on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

My opinion

I thought Dragon Rider was a lame book but hey thats just my opinion. I like to write my own stories and my teachers say one day i should become a fantasy or sceince fiction books but for some reason i didnt conect with this one book. It put me to sleep. Im sure lots of...
I thought Dragon Rider was a lame book but hey thats just my opinion. I like to write my own stories and my teachers say one day i should become a fantasy or sceince fiction books but for some reason i didnt conect with this one book. It put me to sleep. Im sure lots of other people liked this book but i just wouldnt prefer it over other books.

posted by Anonymous on November 5, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Dargon Rider: Cornelia Funke

    I would recommed this book to most everyone who is into fanatsy. It is a little slow in some parts but it is a well written and good book. It has over 500 pages so that is sure to keep you entertained for a while! The only thing I didn't like about the book is the character Sorrel. Sorrel is a strange creature and is known as a brownie. She is to human-like and very stuck-up in my point of veiw. Overall this book was very good and liked it. I hope there will be a sequal to this book because it kind of leaves you hanging at the end. Try it!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Plague

    *sings* YOUR CLOTHES MAY BE BOW-BROMELY, THEY STAND OUT A MILE BUT BROTHER YOUR NEVER FULLY DRESSED WITHOUT A SMIIILE!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Drgon Rider

    I haven't finished this book yet but it's good ao far.It's my favorite after the Unwanteds series by Lisa McMann.Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins and Pendragon by D.J. MacHale.If it wa possible to give half stars I'd give it 3 1/2 since you can't I just gave it 4.Gret book I think it will end by Sorrel throwing a rock warmed by Dragon fire at Nettlebrand.Nettlebrand drowning.or Nettlebrand being killed by humans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Dragon Rider is awsome

    I'm only 9 years old,and I love Dragon Rider.I'm all about dragons

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Amazing!!!!

    I read it to myself and loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    Jjmartian

    Very good starts out slow but gets super awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2007

    An Awesome Book

    This was a great book! I love dragons so it was perfect for me! I did think the boy, Ben was it?, was too goody goody, too perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I liked the book because it was very descriptive. Like when they described Nettlebrand the dragon they had a lot of detail and descriptive words. Every second had detail and it had nonstop action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I liked this book a lot! The animals communicated together. The animals were a dragon, rat,and boy. This book is very adventurous because this book takes place where the mountains are and just very adventurous. I like adventurous books !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    Good!

    This is a good book to lie down and read, and a good one to read over again. I find its characters enchanting, and love to pick this book up whenever I get the chance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2006

    A wild ride between the covers of a book!

    Brendan Fraser is an absolutely remarkable reader. I've just about fallen in love with his voice and how he reads aloud. He, like Mo from 'Inkheart' (whom is modeled after Brendan), breathes life into each and every word. Frau Funke, also, is one of the masters of storytelling, with her imaginative characters and writing style. This is one of her best stories. Indeed, with Funke's words and Fraser's voice, it is like taking a wild ride on the back of Firedrake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2006

    An awesome book

    Dragon Rider was one of my favorite books. It is exciting, you get addicted to the charcters, and it is usually very fast paced. Although at sometimes it can be very predictable, and at others it goes really slow. But for the most part Cornelia Funke did a totally awesome book. It's mostly for kids, but adults will enjoy it too. I am positive that whoever picks up Dragon Rider will not be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    read this extraordanary book

    I¿d recommend this book Dragon Rider to readers who really like fantasy fiction. This extraordinary book is about a boy named Ben who lived in an abandoned building and likes to fly, another character is he¿s a furry friend Sorrel. My favorite character Firedrake a silver glistening dragon. Their quest is to find the Rim of Heaven before the humans destroy their habitat and find out they live there. They are also trying to find the Rim of Heaven before the evil golden dragon whose name I cannot mention because you have to read to find out. Their setting takes around the world like the Bahamas. There is some amazing animals like giant birds also small creatures like Twigleg who is a spy and is shocking what they do to him, two mice who talk onelikes to fly in her plane the other one Gilbert Graytail is an expert in maps. There are other characters that are funny. Will they get to the Rim of Heaven before the humans find they live in the plains or if the golden dragon gets there before them who knows read to find out? When you get to the middle section you won¿t put the book down it will hook you onto the book. Dragon Rider has awesome details, good descriptions and great characterization. I liked the book because it fantasy fiction and has creatures that aren¿t real but you get a picture in your head. You¿ll be shocked to find what happens at the end. Once you finish reading the book there are other books of Cornelia Funke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2005

    The Dragon Rider

    The name of this book is The Dragon Rider. The author is Cornelia Funke. I think this book was great! It was about a dragon named Firedrake who lived in the caves far from humans. His species were winged dragons that were gigantic. They were afraid of humans they would always hide from them. One day, a rat came to Firedrake¿s cave. The rat came to warn them about humans coming to flood the caves and make the dragons home an ocean. There was a rumor about the Rim Of Heavens were there are lots of dragons that fly there. Nobody believed this, so it was up to Firedrake to save his friends. This one dragon is an adventurous dragon that gets the help of his two friends who come on the trip. He sets out to find the Rim of Heaven. With one goal and an ambition to succeed. He makes it to the destination to find many dragons. He finds his soul mate and gets the knowledge that he saved dragons from dying. He couldn¿t have done it without his friends. The world in the book has many bad people and many good people. In the book there are huge obstacles that are impossible to succeed in. Somehow Firedrake uses all in his powers to do what he has to do. This book was exciting because it had a lot of rising action and climax. It was mostly how imaginary creatures spark my interest. I didn¿t feel like I was in the book because I don¿t imagine that I was a dragon or a small boy. Even though it showed how books are a place where anything can happen. The main conflict interested me because there were many obstacles that took a long time to destroy. Through the book he had to fight another dragon and get to the other dragons before it was too late. The main conflict always kept me guessing and attached to the book. Some of the characters were realistic. The dragons were not because there is no in existence. The humans like the boy, professor, and the monks were realistic because there are people like the characters. The ending was satisfying it was just how I pictured it. Firedrake had someone to play with and it was safe to fly around the world. I think the voice of the author was 3rd person or omnicent. Her writing was great that way. The author uses vocabulary and effective words when it is necessary. There was a lot of vocabulary that the author had used to describe the mood. Cornelia Funke writes in great detail. She never leaves out any parts. When she describes a setting I can picture many small details. The author uses many dialogues which helps me understand what is going on and what the characters are feeling and saying. The author also described the characters with every perspective of the person. I can even relate to characters in many different ways. The tone of the author is great because it suits the mood while a passage is read. I think the author took a lot of time to write this. She did an awesome job and had many other experiences with other books. I would rate this book a nine out of ten because it had mostly everything I was looking for. It had action and good things that kept me reading this book. Cornelia Funke is a good writer who takes time making books for us. I have read most of her books and am still fascinated about her writing. She has a wide image of imagination that I like. I would also recommend this book to anyone. It has all the qualities that I would think everyone would like. I promise you that you won¿t put this book down because it has a good amount of pages and easy to read. I specially recommend this book to seventh and eighth graders because it is fun and the story keeps surprising you. In conclusion, this book would be one of my favorites. I hope they come with another book of dragon rider. I would honestly read all her books because I feel a connection in every book. I am currently reading Thief Lord, a great book about orphans. You should pick the book up today and start reading it. I also think that the e

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    dash64neo, Ilove dragons! and Kali is the best

    Anyone who keeps dissing this book is wierd. Sure, some parts were kiddish, but it is a great book. I liked the characters, and Firedrake was cool, not a scaredy cat. It had plenty of action, adventure, and humor. Also, I got an early copy,so beat that peole who disslike this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2005

    Great book

    It was good, My friends got me hooked on books like this but this one is one of my favorites. Funke is a great author. I love inkheart and will read thief lord soon. My friend got inkspell so i will borrow. Buy now!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2005

    fantastic book!

    This was an excellent book even though the characters were a little odd. It was also a very funny book. I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    -=Dragon Rider=-

    Would you believe dragons are alive today? Firedrake, a sliver dragon and his tribe are constantly hiding from the humans. Firedrake and Sorrel, a brownie, head out to look for the Rim of Heaven, a place where dragons can live in peace and harmony. Along their journey, they pick up an unexpected ally, Ben, and a brutal enemy, Nettlebrand, the Golden One. Join Firedrake and Friends as they try to journey to the Rim of Heaven in this magical and adventetourus story by Cornelia Funke, the author of the Thief Lord and Inkheart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    Just saying

    Now, Dragon Rider was good. However, I must admit that it was not THE best book I have ever written, mainly because it was a little below my 7th grade level. I mean, I totally loved Twigleg and I can read it at least three times without getting bored, but still... However, I do recommend this book to my dear elementary friends out there. It fits thier level perfectly. I do love Cornelia Funke, and my fave book of hers is either The Thief Lord or Inkheart. I know this is not a review for Inkheart, otherwise I would blab on about how I loved that book. Back to Dragon Rider...adorable characters, twisting plot, and good personification. Actually, I did quite enjoy Funke's wonderful presentation of the personality of each and every character. Mushroom eating Sorrel, squeaky Twigleg, abdominable Golden One, astonishing and brave Firedrake, ect. Four Stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2005

    It is okay, but it's not the best book I have read.

    I am reading this book and have to say, it is pretty good. I've read better books, but this is still a good book for kids and adults of all ages. See my reveiw for Dragonolgy: The Complete Book of Dragons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3