Customer Reviews for

Dragon Slippers

Average Rating 4.5
( 200 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jocelyn Pearce for TeensReadToo.com

DRAGON SLIPPERS is one of the best fantasy books I've read in ages! I always feel like good fantasy is hard to find, but this book certainly succeeded in being that and much more.

When Creel's parents die, her rather silly aunt is going to be hard-pressed to c...
DRAGON SLIPPERS is one of the best fantasy books I've read in ages! I always feel like good fantasy is hard to find, but this book certainly succeeded in being that and much more.

When Creel's parents die, her rather silly aunt is going to be hard-pressed to come up with the money to feed Creel and her brother, so she comes up with a plan. She's going to give Creel to the dragon rumored to live in the hills near their town and convince a local nobleman's son to rescue and marry the "fair maiden."

Anyone with sense knows this is ridiculous. The dragon is only a myth...Right?

Wrong. Creel, however, is clever enough to talk her way out of the hands of the dragon (who doesn't really want to eat her, and, by the way, collects shoes, not gold), and out of the bargain she gets a comfortable pair of blue slippers, which she wears on the long walk to the capitol, where she wants to find work putting the sewing and embroidering skills taught to her by her mother to use. It seems like a simple enough plan; however, life is never as simple as we think it is going to be.

DRAGON SLIPPERS is an un-put-downable read, set in a vividly created fantasy world. The characters are wonderful, too (although I feel the storytelling, rather than the characters, is Jessica Day George's strength in this story). DRAGON SLIPPERS is an excellent novel, one sure to appeal to fantasy fans of all ages.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This book is SO amazing! It has a little bit of everything! Suspense,mystery,friendship, 'a tiny bit of' romance and loads of magic. Everyone will love this. I think its great that the tables have turned and know instead of the damsel in distress saved by the prince...
This book is SO amazing! It has a little bit of everything! Suspense,mystery,friendship, 'a tiny bit of' romance and loads of magic. Everyone will love this. I think its great that the tables have turned and know instead of the damsel in distress saved by the prince its The not so distressed damsel saving the prince, AND THE REST OF THE KINGDOM!! I loved this book!! Wow, I am not AS obsessed as I sound!! LOL

posted by Anonymous on July 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jocelyn Pearce for TeensReadToo.com

    DRAGON SLIPPERS is one of the best fantasy books I've read in ages! I always feel like good fantasy is hard to find, but this book certainly succeeded in being that and much more. <BR/><BR/>When Creel's parents die, her rather silly aunt is going to be hard-pressed to come up with the money to feed Creel and her brother, so she comes up with a plan. She's going to give Creel to the dragon rumored to live in the hills near their town and convince a local nobleman's son to rescue and marry the "fair maiden." <BR/><BR/>Anyone with sense knows this is ridiculous. The dragon is only a myth...Right? <BR/><BR/>Wrong. Creel, however, is clever enough to talk her way out of the hands of the dragon (who doesn't really want to eat her, and, by the way, collects shoes, not gold), and out of the bargain she gets a comfortable pair of blue slippers, which she wears on the long walk to the capitol, where she wants to find work putting the sewing and embroidering skills taught to her by her mother to use. It seems like a simple enough plan; however, life is never as simple as we think it is going to be. <BR/><BR/>DRAGON SLIPPERS is an un-put-downable read, set in a vividly created fantasy world. The characters are wonderful, too (although I feel the storytelling, rather than the characters, is Jessica Day George's strength in this story). DRAGON SLIPPERS is an excellent novel, one sure to appeal to fantasy fans of all ages.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sooo Great!

    This book was a fantastic book that I found recommended at the end of a book in the Frog Princess series by E.D. Baker. I read it, and was not disappointed. It made me so crazy (in a good way) and I was so happy when Creel finally gave...I won't give the name... The wallop to the face she deserved! The storyline was amazing, the characters realistic, and everything in between so absorbbing and funny that I didn't put it down until I was finished with it! Recommended? Absolutely!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is SO amazing! It has a little bit of everything! Suspense,mystery,friendship, 'a tiny bit of' romance and loads of magic. Everyone will love this. I think its great that the tables have turned and know instead of the damsel in distress saved by the prince its The not so distressed damsel saving the prince, AND THE REST OF THE KINGDOM!! I loved this book!! Wow, I am not AS obsessed as I sound!! LOL

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Quick Read

    A wonderful story that wove itself into a great adventure, with many twists and turns. <BR/><BR/>The characters held so much life and soul to them, it was as if they were actually flesh and blood at one point in time. <BR/><BR/>Dragon Slippers was mixed with friendship, trust, betrayal, romance and sometimes even humor. <BR/><BR/>After reading Dragon Slippers and finding out there was a sequel, I went to the bookstore and bought the next book Dragon Flight. <BR/>Both books were well written and I would recommend them to anybody, especially dragon lovers.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Someone

    Ive read the entire series in less than a week! I LOVE them all!!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Hi I'm Amelia

    This book was original and amazing and a bit romance-y and loyal friend-y and I'm-gonna-be-independent-y and fairy tale-y but not to mutch so. The only books that top this are the Bible and A Drowned Maiden's Hair.

    P.S I wish the villian's name isn't as close to my name as it is.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Wow

    Im only on page 14 ad i love it! :)

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great Girl Adventure

    Loved it

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    This book is awesome! But the summary is all wrong!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Beautiful.

    This book is the best book ever. Dragon Slippers triology is awesome. I

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Must read for the almost tween

    Great book in a series of 3 for the adventure lover

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Fgdggh

    Best book EVER

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Love

    Love

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Hi

    "Hi. My name is Scarlett."


    Scarlett the dragon.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    One of the most amazing books and an introduction to an amazing

    One of the most amazing books and an introduction to an amazing series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Dragon slippers

    It is one of the best books i have ever read. I couldnt put the book down. I would rate this 5 stars. Worth buying

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    AMAZING Book!

    This book was so good that I gave it five stars!!!! (which, by the way, I do not often.......sort of) ANYWAY, I just finished reading it for the gazillionth time and no, I do not have it on the nook, I have the paperback book which is sitting nicely on my dresser. It's like, eight o'clock right now, and believe me when I say I DO NOT wake up this early during the sumker AAAAAAAAAAAHHH TYPO!!!!!!!! Anyway, it was so good that I decided to leave another reviee (gosh these typos are SO ANNOYING but I'm too lazy to fix them) and I gave it five stars. Uggggghhhh....... I am sick and tired of having to put up with typing on this annoying nook. But millions of people haven't even SEEN a tablet before, so in a way I should be grateful. Thanks for making the time for reading my review, and make sure you read Dragon Slippers!
    -Korra and Avatar fan

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Omg

    The best read ever!!!" Everybody should read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    LOVE IT!!!

    Such a fun book! Very magical and I love the characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This is my most favorite book of all time. I swear I have read i

    This is my most favorite book of all time. I swear I have read it six times, all three. George brings the characters to life. One of my favorite things is that Creel is a dressmaker whos best friend is a dragon. It turns her from a damsel into a heroine.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11