Customer Reviews for

Dragon Slippers

Average Rating 5
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(167)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Sooo Great!

This book was a fantastic book that I found recommended at the end of a book in the Frog Princess series by E.D. Baker. I read it, and was not disappointed. It made me so crazy (in a good way) and I was so happy when Creel finally gave...I won't give the name... The wal...
This book was a fantastic book that I found recommended at the end of a book in the Frog Princess series by E.D. Baker. I read it, and was not disappointed. It made me so crazy (in a good way) and I was so happy when Creel finally gave...I won't give the name... The wallop to the face she deserved! The storyline was amazing, the characters realistic, and everything in between so absorbbing and funny that I didn't put it down until I was finished with it! Recommended? Absolutely!

posted by Reads_a_lot on January 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ddddfdddd

I am only on page 12.And theres like 302 pages

posted by Anonymous on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great Girl Adventure

    Loved it

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Must read for the almost tween

    Great book in a series of 3 for the adventure lover

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Good

    This book is full of fanstasy creatures and loving people . Creel neets maany dragons and makes many new friends friends and scores the prince.
    When i recamended this book to a friend she thought it was a joke because she was dating someone with the last name luka. When i told her i hadnt even read the book yet, she was surprised and told me i had to sit down and read it.
    The only thing that Jessica Day George could do better is make the action stronger and more detailed. I recamend this book to anyone with an imagination.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    To below

    You should get the on your nook and the real book i mean come on this book is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    So want to be my nook friend just put your info ka???????!??????!!?!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Touching Story for All young at Heart

    I don't read a lot of Middle Grade lit, but I have found some really great stories that kids and adults can both enjoy. Dragon Slippers is one of them. It's a great introduction to fantasy/dragon literature that your child may have not gotten into yet. The heroine is strong and proud but not in an unrealistic way. Her fears are shown and she often puts them behind her to help others. There are good lessons woven into the story that parents will like their kids to learn and it's just an entertaining story. Dragon Slippers moved with a grace and easy flow that not all fantasy novels can boast. The content is clean and the violence minimal. The Dragon Slippers story is obviously a plot with devices that will captivate and please a young adult audience while probably introducing new vocabulary and complex sentence structure. I'm excited to read the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Bassy

    Aswome book and l now it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    Recommended

    I bought this book for my 9 year old grandson. He loves everything about dragons. He enjoys the book very much. Just wish it was written from a boys point of view instead of a girl's.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2015

    A few things

    A few things: 1)This book is awesome! 2) Jessica Day George shares the writing style of Gail Carson Levine 3) Why do the authors with this writing style have three names? And 4) Who would name their kid Creel?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Good a great start for the series

    This isa wonderfull exciting book I read it several years ago and loved it! I recently reread it because I bad discovered it was a series, t reslly is a great book all on its ken and even better ij the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Sounds amazing : )

    I'm still thinking about getting the book,but from what I've heard I might as well get it. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Yearning to Read Review

    I really enjoyed this book; it flowed (mostly), it was sweet and clean, and it made me laugh. Creel's character was vibrant and spunky; the whole story she has a lot on her plate and she handles everything quite nicely. She finds herself battling a mean seamstress and falling in love with a handsome prince, all the while trying to save her friend dragon and his people. I was very happy with Dragon Slippers and the unique writing style that is Creel's voice. I thought George's use of Creel's one-of-a-kind talent with embroidery was also very one-of-a-kind; much of the story was built around a very entertaining group of seamstresses. The one downer of this story is the very beginning: while the rest of the book has depth and meaning, the beginning is a filler. While you're reading it, it doesn't really feel like there's a point to why Creel is heading up the mountain to face her doom. In fact, it feels stupid. I put this book down once before because I wasn't sure if I'd stay interested. I'm glad I picked it up again, but keep that in mind when it's your turn.

    Side note: Dragon Flight, Creel's next adventure, was a major disappointment. Dragon Slippers ends with enough closure to allow you to leave off reading the rest. If this book sounds just too interesting to not read, go ahead and give it a try. It was wonderful and I enjoyed every last word. However, book two (one reason above many) got really strange with the magic of the dragons. And I felt like it took a whole different path than where she was going in the first one. Also, the beginning of book two starts in a completely different place and state of mind than the first one ends. It was overall confusing and not worth my time; I rarely do this but I put the book down half-way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!

    I simply read this book because I had nothing to read so my friend lent it to me. I got it without the cover (hardcover) so I had no idea what it was about aside from the fact that the title had the word dragon in it. The minute I started reading it I was hooked. It was fantastic and absorbing through and through. I was afraid there wasn't a sequel but I'm very happy to find out I was wrong. I can't wait to get my hand on the next book. Its great for all ages I think from 10 to teen (I'm a teen!). Great Read I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2