Customer Reviews for

Dragon Strike (Age of Fire Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    superb fantasy

    After being separated by dwarf slave traders who killed their mother and sister, the three dragon siblings (AuRon, Wistala, and Copper) suffer differing experiences on their way to adulthood. AuRon mated and has a family on the Isle of Ice, which is devoid of humanoids (see DRAGON CHAMPION). His sister Wistala has become a scholar librarian in the Hypatia Empire and believes in intermingling of the species (see DRAGON AVENGER)S. Finally Copper has become the Tyn of the Lavadome who places the needs of dragons before his own (see DRAGON OUTCAST).<BR/><BR/>While Wisteria works in her library, a demon captures her; after days of torture, the Fire Maidens rescue her and take her to Lavadome where she listens to the Tyn while realizing he is her brother just before AuRon arrives as the emissary of the Red Queen of Ghioz who seeks to conquer Hypatia. The Red Queen offers an alliance with the Lavadome that would make the dragons available to her warriors. Tyn decides for dragonkind to survive, they must live above ground instead of in the mouths of volcanoes hiding and praying they will not be found. He sends his sister to her home and his brother to his family as each prepares for the Red Queen. They all know if allied to her she would betray them.<BR/><BR/>Book four of the Age of Fire brings this glorious fantasy to a rousing finish with the three sibling stars of the previous novels finally coming together. Throughout the saga, dragons are the protagonists while the hominids (man, dwarf, elf and blighters) are their natural enemies constantly encroaching and killing. In DRAGON STRIKE, the dragons conclude that to survive they must fight even if that means going down in flames; pacifism means death for sure. E.E. Knight makes his world of dragons soar as the audience roots for them to succeed.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An excellent cohesion of the previous storylines

    I think that Dragons Strike is an excellent extension of all three plotlines started in the first three books. We are definitely moving into a broader scope of Knights world now that all three dragons have grown.
    It was a little strange reading one of the books without starting with a hatchling right out of the egg, but Knight gets you to the action quickly as always. The book, while perhaps not quite as touching and action filled as the third novel does fabulously in the latter and as always, Knight paints a marvelous world that drips with detail.
    I definitely recommend this to any fan of the series and to those new to it, go and check out Dragon Champion. That is a fantastic start to a fantastic series. Each of the characters are already deep, each with their own books and weaving them together like this is an accomplisment in literary art.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very good book

    .....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Knight creates an impossible beginning

    Knight ended the three dragons, AuRon, Wistala, and the Copper, with unusually happy, neatly tied endings for a fantasy series. Normally writers end a book in a series with a cliff-hanger or a travesty, to make it easier to write a beginning for the next book in the series. Knight, with his writing skills to which I humbly bow to, chose to take on the challenge of writing three books on three dragon siblings all ending with (relatively) happy endings. ***SPOILER FOR FIRST THREE AGE OF FIRE BOOKS*** AuRon and the Copper mated gaining control of their own kingdoms and mates. (Although AuRon seems to have gotten the slightly bitter end of the stick with a bitten off tail and the Isle of Ice compared to the Coppers clamped wing and Lavadome.)And Wistala ends up with Mossbell and avenging her brother. ***END OF SPOILER***

    However Knight manages to create an adversary that ties the three siblings together once more. Although I am a little sad about DharSii and Wistala not mating I am looking forward to Knight's next masterpiece. Once again Knight's plots, sentence structure, and originality blows any other fantasy/sci-fi writer I have read so far out of the water. And I am glad to see AuRon (my favourite of the dragons by several by far, closely followed with Wistala and DharSii) again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Icefox

    Just fine

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    This one was too political for me and I found myself losing focu

    This one was too political for me and I found myself losing focus while reading it. The next two books are a better read since they focus more on the characters and less on the politics. My least favorite of the six in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Sierra

    Remeber your mate Rocky? Well thats me.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    over all its a pretty good book,a lot of action

    i like the book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Dragon Strike

    I absolutely loved this book. The characters were very original and I was able to sympathize with the characters. What really drew me into this series was the point of view being from the the dragons who were the main characters. Knight's writing style is easy to follow which makes the entire novel flow quite easily. I definitely recommend this entire series to any reader that enjoys action, mystery, and truly memorable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    An acceptable read, but not the best of the series

    This book was unique, in Knight's ways of writing and awesome plot system, yet it seemed rather lacking without the young dragons starting out as hatchlings. Also, I thought that the characters were kind of rushed, and didn't contain that personal touch that the auther used to give. The areas in which a good turn could have been conceeded as a very exciting moment, such as when the dragons meet and AuRon is filled with anger, also, in this manner, seemed rushed, in which AuRon, and also Wistala, quickly forgive the Copper. This seemed illy formed, and more could have been done with it, and this rushed stance seemed to appear throughout the novel, as if he had forgotten what he had been writing, and decided to move on to the next event. Other than these minor flaws, the novel was entertaining, it had some slow points to it, but it wasn't an aweful read. It was worth the time, as is the series, though the beginning books seem better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Bad...

    I am grateful that Knight wrote this fourth book to tie up loose ends, but I must say that I was actually a bit disappointed in this novel. The first three had me page-turning well into the night, but this one was a struggle to get through. I think the problem was that the book jumped around too much between different characters. Also, there were a few "epic" events that occured which I thought deserved more than a few chapters. I still gave the book a four-star rating, however, because I did enjoy the first three quite a bit.

    If you enjoy dragons, I think you will really like "Joust" by Mercedes Lackey, and "Dragonriders of Pern" by McCaffrey!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    For Dragons books this one was one of the better ones I've read

    The story plot of rejoining the three dragons was very pleasing in that it took each dragon in its indiviual life and brought then together very nicly. I felt that the involovement with the other human characters was very cohesive, as each dragon had thier own race of people and creatures. The story moves well with a nice ending even though I felt Auron's ending thougths could have been better. I would read a follow up book of this series as I see it could be very intertaining with the three of them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    Love this Book

    I can't wait for this one to come out. I have been a Fan since the first one came out. I even have a tattoo for the first book. This one will be the best of them all I think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3