Customer Reviews for

The Dragon of Trelian

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    a keeper!!

    This is one book that both my son and daughter could not put down!! The best part for me was getting to listen while they discussed the story over dinner. Tonight they were talking about what they hoped would happen if there were a sequel. Here's hoping there will be!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED - A MUST READ!!

    One of the best books I have read in a long time! I can't wait for my daughter to be old enough to read it in a few years. If you liked Harry Potter, you will LOVE this book even more. Buy it as soon as you can.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    Fun with magic and dragons!

    I really enjoyed this book! It's such an original story in, very well written and paced with a little bit of everything - adventure, drama, romance, comedy...and of course, a dragon!

    I know it is intended for younger readers, but even as an adult I found it a great read. The characters are engaging and likable, the story is interesting and takes unexpected turns, and the world Ms. Knudsen creates feels both historically familiar and yet magical. I highly recommend it to both adults and young readers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Fantasty for Kids

    This book is very thrilling and suspensoinal. It is a wonderful fantasty full of kindoms, magic, betayal, friendship, responsibility, adventure, determination, puppy love, and of course, dragons! I would recomend this book to anybody looking for an action-packed fantasty story. Knudsen made the two characters, Meg and Calen, full of rich emotion which is a terriffic quality in any book hoping to earn a place on the bookshelf.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    AWESOME!!!!!!!

    I know a good book when I see one, and frankly, this isnt even good! Its AMAZING! It keeps me on edge wanting to read it and feeding on the goodness of this book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    By far the best book i've ever read!!! :)

    You gotta read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    I ABSELUTELY LOVE THIS BOOK

    BEST BOOK EVER WRITTEN <3 FANTASY AND I THINK THIS IS THE BEST FANTASY BOO IVE EVER READ ITS A MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Meet Digger Mole and His Family

    There youll find a review called Anaymous Janurary 13 read it be ready.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    "The Dragon of Trelian" book is a fresh tale of fantas

    &quot;The Dragon of Trelian&quot; book is a fresh tale of fantasy for the genre. I would recommend this book to anyone, as it is light on violence, but still has the theme of magic installed within. The only real thing that bothered me was the fact that I did not get the cover image that is shown above, instead I got something that looks like an illustration for a children's book. But don't get me wrong. Buy this book. I can promise you that if you are a fantasy lover, that you will enjoy it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Bland and not memorable

    This was an average book, nothing to make it stand out in my mind. We have the standard plot of warring kingdoms marrying a son and a daughter to end the war. We have someone who does not want to see the war end, concoting an evil plot, and two teenagers discovering the plot and trying to solve it. There were elements that should have made it stand out, like the dragon, but they didn't succeed. Since dragon is in the title I thought he would be a large part of the story. It wasn't. That was one of the main reasons I picked up the book, but we brush over the bond Jakl and Meg have and he really is only featured as transportation and a tiny part at the end. A lot of the magic is only touched on, and a few times I would liked to have an explaination of why things happened. Calen and Meg are the only characters that are fleshed out at all, Meg's sisters and parents, and Calen's master are all just figures that are not explained. I was left wondering about Calen's master, why was he so aloof? Then right at the end another bad guy is introduced and the story itself says only the battle is won, not the war. They know the bad guys will show up again. I, however, will not be picking up the next story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    My kides love it end thout its nice one

    the kides liket this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable characters & story

    Calen, a mage's assistant, just wants to see the royal procession as it approaches, and he's not the only one. Princess Meglynne had the same idea. The two become friends, and Meg asks Calen to meet her again. She wants to share a secret with him. When they meet again, Meg shows Calen her dragon and begs him to help her learn more about the rare creatures. What calen discovers horrifies him: Meg and the dragon are linked. Should one be killed, the other will die.

    That is not the worst of Calen and Meg's troubles, however. They stumble onto a traitorous plot that threatens the peace of the kingdom and their lives. They must work together to prove what the traitor is plotting before it's too late for everyone.

    I found this book a lot of fun. It took a while to get going, but once it did, I couldn't put it own. I rather enjoyed Calen and Meg's characters. Michelle Knudsen did a wonderful job with them. Calen is smart and cautious, and Meg is passionate and headstrong. I also enjoyed the way Knudsen showed magic in her book. It was creative and fresh. I will give a caution to those who do not like to read books about mage magic, as this book was full of it, including a lesson about reading cards. What I found interesting was that there was a cost for the magic. It wasn't just endless wand waving, the characters used a great deal of physical power to cast spells, and then they were tired and useless. There are some nice themes in this book: friendship and mercy. There is no faith element, but this is still an enjoyable story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1