Customer Reviews for

The Dragonbone Chair

Average Rating 4.5
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    LOVE THIS SERIES!!!

    I bought this book 10 years ago, when i was 15 and read the whole series in about a month. I could not put it down. Ever since then Tad Williams had been my favorite author. I have also read this series twice more since then!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Extremely Slow Start, But Worth IT!

    Williams DRAGS on in the first 200 hundred pages. I almost put it down and said forget about it, but the series has so many great reviews I FOUGHT through it. It was worth it. The rest of the book and series is very well written with great character development and a great over all story. I recommend you skim through the first 200 hundred pages, otherwise you might get fed up and miss out on a great series.

    The rest of the books do not start out slow at all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    One of my favorite series

    I wasn't sure about The Dragonbone Chair. I picked it up after hearing that it had gotten some awards. After I got past the first 100 pages (or so), the book took off. I almost couldn't put it down. The final two books of the series were about as good. I've read it a couple times since (a couple years apart each time), and each time the books have the same effect. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    Have always loved this series...

    Though I read this years ago I still count it as my all time favorite read. Tad writes his stories in FULL HD unlike any other author I have read before or since. Each character has incredible complexity and is full of life. I zoomed through these mammoth volumes so quickly that I hardly cracked the bindings! The vivid details took me out of a strictly medieval diet into the futuristic (Otherland series)... A transition that I never thought possible before reading the Dragon Bone Chair series... But when it was over I couldn't resist reading EVERYTHING he had published. And let me assure you that I was in no way disappointed with the Otherland series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Great Epic Fantasy Series!

    This book was recommended to me when I mentioned loving Tolkien. William's writing style is a bit easier to read than Tolkien, even if you don't really have trouble following JRR. I had trouble getting into the book initially and almost gave up on it but it suddenly sucked me in! I can't really say when either. The characters have good depth and relatable character flaws. It's more than worth the slow start. Yeah it is reminiscent of LOTR with some dragonlance chronicles mixed in, but it's got some refreshing originality to it. I'm hooked and I just bought the other two books in the series. Seriously, buy all three books at once or you'll be sorry! Book one leaves you hanging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2006

    Good book

    The book is about a boy named Simon who grows up to fight some battles and he wounds up making some friends on the way in his journeys to his destinations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    This Book Blows

    This story is un-original in so many ways, dull, slow and unsatisfying. I read the three books of the series only because I was ignorant and bought all three together, and in the hope it would get better in the latter books. This series is bad, truthfully, I think it could have been good, unfortunately it wasn't. Skip it, you'll thank me.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    EXCELLENT!!!

    The VERY best set of books I have EVER read!! I highly, highly reccomend! You WONT be sorry. Read the entire 'Memory, Sorrow & Thorn' series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2005

    Unforgettable

    This is simply on of the most amazing books I have ever read, and believe me I have read tons. This probably ranks second on my all time favorites list, right behind the Lord of the Rings trillogy.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2004

    Unbelievable!

    I liked this book alot, even despite the slow start I think it was a plus for Williams' style of writing. It was very vivid and understandable. I took a long time for me to read it but I turned the pages so much that I didn't notice time flying by. It is diffinitely a must read for thus who crave fantacy, probably even the best out there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2003

    Simply Incredible

    Simply incredible is the most underrating statement available for this book. It so much greater. Although it has drawn comparisons to Lord of the Rings, and rightly so, this hefty series bolsters plot twists that Tolkien¿s does not. Williams is a master at covering every possible personality, so that the reader has someone to love, hate, and relate to. He makes use of every element, every word, and every change to enrich the story, even if the change and signifigance is revealed in another book. He uses his plot twists, character changes, and descriptiveness perfectly. You get little bits and piece of what¿s going on with other characters, and those small scenes often make a world of difference in the plot¿s progression. In Williams¿ world it is the smallest things that make the balance between life and death. This book is a must read¿ Period. The greatest trilogy I have ever had the pleasure of reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    Never Judge a Book by its Cover

    When someone first suggested this book to me, I was reluctant to read it because i saw the cover and thought it was another one of those dime-a-dozen, awfully written fantasy novels that there are so many of from no-name authors; and also, I'm really not into fantasy. I found myself interested in it, however and was reminded of the age old saying about books and their covers. The characters had depth to compare to characters in novels of present times in not-so-far away lands, and you care for them as they go out on their journey. It was very well written despite the very familiar aspects of the plot. So what if Osten Ard is Middle Earth? So what if the Sithi are elves or if the Storm King is Sauron, or even if the three Swords are the Holy Grail? It's a epic quest perhaps done before, with a new light. I gave it four stars because it kind of dragged on toward the end and then just starts to pick up at the very very end, requiring you fully to read the next one, not wrapping ANYTHING up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2003

    Best series I've ever read

    I am an avid fantasy reader. Of all of the works I've read, 'Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn' takes the prize. Williams creates a world so vivid, so realistic, and so magical that I (an adventurous person, certainly) occasionally wish that I lived in that world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2003

    A Classic Read

    The Dragonbone Chair was a classic action-adventure novel that will cleanse the pallet of even the most hardcore fantasy fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2003

    Most likely the best out there

    I have been reading the fantasy genre for about 16 years. I originally got hooked on it after reading the Hobbit and consequently The Lord of the Rings which I loved. Many believe that anything must be a clone of something that came before it and thus there are no original ideas left. Thus I have read some reviews in which the writer's believed Williams simply retread the paths they believed Tolien had made. I disagree that The Dragonbone Chair is simply new paint on an otherwise old wall. You can compare the two in that they are both books based in a fantasy world with mythical creatures, but not even Tolkien can claim to have been the first to conjur up elves and such as they have been a part various mytholgies for hundreds of years. In the end I simply cared more for the characters in Williams' trilogy far more than I did from Tolkien's. I for one, hold The Dragonbone Chair and the ensuing trilogy in the highest of regards as my favorite books to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2002

    Every fantasy lover must read this series!

    I'm currently reading the Memory, Sorrow and Thorn series for the fourth time. One of the(if not the) best fantasy series ever written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    The Best Book I have ever read

    The title says it all. It took me 4 months to finally read this book after purchasing it. The beginning is very very slow. But once you get through the first few chapters it picks up. Eventually everything comes together like a puzzle. Wonderful book. I wish I could find 10 other trilogies this good, but so far haven't found one. I rate this higher than Lord of the Rings - I think it is better. I even liked it better than the Covenant Series by Donaldson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2002

    Derivative of Tolkien, but a good read

    Tad Williams is obviously quite derivative...many shades of Tolkien in this book. However, imitation is the best flattery right? And Williams has done a good job flattering Tolkien! :-) A nice book, whets ones appetite for the sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2002

    a good read, but it doesn't come close to Tolkien

    I picked up the book thinking it was simply a Tokein wanna be. After I finished it, I realized it was very similar to Lord Of The Rings, but suprisingly good. William's created several wonderful characters. The books are suspensful, and while it isn't as good as Tolkien, I enjoyed reading it. However, while the first book was excellent, the second wasn't as good, and I probably would have stopped reading the two volumes of the third if not for all the suspense and my need to read the ending. By the third, it's way to much romance. All in all though, I would deffinetly recommend this series to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2002

    A great book

    i really enjoyed this book and can't wait to read the second one in the series. i hope it will live up to the first one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7