Customer Reviews for

Dragonflight (Dragonriders of Pern Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 264 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(191)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Something's not quite right, here...

Overview says "here are the first three books..." but this is just the first! I thought it was a bundle deal. Good series, misleading description.

posted by 9588929 on November 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

MISLEADING DESCRIPTION!!!!!!!

The description for this book says it has the fitst three books and it is only the first!!!!!! I just got suckered into buying this one book for 7.99 when you can get all three for 9.99. So angry!

posted by 16633934 on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Something's not quite right, here...

    Overview says "here are the first three books..." but this is just the first! I thought it was a bundle deal. Good series, misleading description.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great classic of fantasy

    Almost everyone knows about Pern, even those who aren't generally interested in fantasy or science fiction novels. I'm surprised that no one has tried to take this series and make it into a movie. At the very least, a Sci-Fi channel original series or an anime treatment of it is due. I've included this as part of the classics because I believe that McCaffrey's ability to create a world and tell a story with lots of layers of conflict is far above and beyond that of most fantasy and science fiction writers. She doesn't just rely on the fantasy and tension of the storyline as a crutch, but creates realistic characters who are fighting real battles, whether that be against the threads, other people, or even time itself. She's also so intricately created the politics of Pern that it seems like a real place. A quick warning, though, there are elements of sexuality and murder throughout the text, so it may skew a little higher in age. I recommend this book to readers 14+. -Lindsey Miller, lindseyslibrary.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Entertaining Read!

    Although McCaffrey's writing style is a bit difficult to pick up on, once you have the flow of the book it becomes a captivating read. She has some pretty unique ideas and settings that make this book interesting. I particularly liked the fact that dragon characters play quite a big role in this story. If you love fantasy, "Dragonflight" is a classic that I think you'll enjoy.<BR/>If you like "Dragonflight", I daresay you might enjoy "Joust" by Lackey and "Dragon Champion" by Knight even better!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wait for it to get good and it does.

    I read as a suggested book of the month. It was slow to start with. I kept getting hung up on the dragonrider's names and how they would be said aloud. The version I have has great illistrations. I wish I could get the rest of the books with Tony's drawings. Once I got past almost halfway the story really drew me in. By the end I was thoroughly entertained. I will read the next one when I find the copy I want to own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    So this book costs more than the paperbook, but I still bought i

    So this book costs more than the paperbook, but I still bought it because I don't have anymore shelving space. The book itself is wonderful! I love reading it!

    However... the formatting of this book is quite atrocious. It isn't the worst I've seen, but it is bad. There are hardly any periods, so I have to judge the beginning of new sentences based on the capital letters. There are randomly commas in spots that they obviously shouldn't be. I am getting highly agitated in buying ebooks and having the formatting being off. ALMOST EVERY TIME! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Great series

    I have been enjoying this series for some time now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    :)

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    A book that can not be put aside. Very beautifuly written.

    Anne McCaffrey is now my favorite author. I will attempt to read all of the material she has written. Dragon like creatures and man taking the same side against all problems. It is like McCaffrey was there at the time and place it all happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Great!!!

    Fans of other worlds, discovery, and dragon will love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2006

    Dragonflight

    I read this book and it was good, except it could have been alot better. I think that Anne McCaffrey's other books are better than this. This was a pretty good book I reccommend it to anyone. Read all of Anne McCaffrey's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2002

    It was an awesome book

    This (as the heading implies) is one of the best books i have ever read. the series is a must read for anyone into sci fi books. the only fault in my eyes are the endings. i have only read about 5 books in the series, but they all just cut off. it may be just me but i would like it if there was more of a falling action at the end, to tie things up. if you discount that little bit, it would definitely get 5 stars from me, but i cannot add in an ending, nor do i intend to. yeah... that was a really good book, and is a must read for anyone in to the sci fi books, and dragons. lots of dragons, as you would gather from the title (ha, that was kinda obvious wasn't it)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2001

    This is my second time round

    Several hundred years have passed since the colonists from Earth settled on the planet Pern. The dragons bred to fight the dreaded Thread along with their riders are waiting to combat the next fall. It has been four hundred years since the last fall and many believe that the danger has passed forever. So the protection so carefully built up by earlier generations has been allowed to fall into decay. Even the dragon population is severely under strength. The Weyr leader Flar and his partner Lessa have to find a way to build the defenses up in a hurry. As usual Anne McCaffrey finds an ingenious solution to the problem. This style of science fiction is easy to read and all her books are delightful page turners. The Dragons of Pern series will never date so reading it again after so many decades are a pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3